Team-BHP > Shifting gears > The Team-BHP Meet Section

View Poll Results: Which date would you prefer to have the drive on?
18th May? 46 55.42%
25th May? 51 61.45%
Multiple Choice Poll. Voters: 83. You may not vote on this poll

Old 23rd May 2008, 11:23   #211

That is the final plan. I will be running a little late and will join you guys there directly.

Last edited by vikram_d : 23rd May 2008 at 11:26.
Old 23rd May 2008, 11:31   #212

Hi Everyone,

I'm in for this meet ... just wondering which car to come in !!

Will come with my better half and a friend(s) who soon will be TBHPian(s)

6:30AM - Dakshin Honda - Hosur Road - Confirmed!
Old 23rd May 2008, 11:35   #213

Rahul, Unfortunately due to some unavoidable circumstances I am not able to attend the Yelagiri meet. Already conveyed through SMS.

You guys have fun and click lots of pics so that I can atleast enjoy the trip through the pics this time.

Apologies
Abhi
Old 23rd May 2008, 12:35   #214

Just thought I'd post a write up on Yelagiri trip by someone on Mouthshut (YELAGIRI Review) :here;

"MOST DANGEROUS, PATHETIC PLACE IN YELAGIRI. READ THROUGH THE REVIEW, YOU WOULD JUST GET FRIGHTENED.

I took my team for an outing to Yelagiri, where i did a grave mistake by booking

rooms in rainbow resort. initially the owner of the resort Brenard was so kind and friendly and was talking all sorts of customer satisfaction things which later turned up as a threatening one.

The rooms were of not good quality neither was the food. This place is so far from the village that we had to order food from him. During the order, when we asked for the menu card, the manager Babu did not find one and said that he will give us the best price. Menu card was asked repeatedly for several times and every time they had a reason not to show it.

Later at the end of 36 hours of tour while checking out we just go a surprise bill of Rs.10000/-. I have given the bill charges at the end of this review. This is very close to a 5 star hotel menu. Moreover he also charged us Rs.500/- for the petrol he used to go down and bring all the food and drinks which should have been taken over by him.

We refused to pay this money as the bill was very high and Brenard just turned as a road class rowdy. He just happened to call few rowdies in yelagiri and also locked the gate of the resort and said that it is his gate and can do anything now. He literraly arrested us for 2 hours and as we had girls with us, we had no other go than paying the amount and getting off the place.

He charged us the following (rates are for per quantity ):
Chicken 65 -
;Rs.240/-
Chicken gravy - Rs.480/-
Chappathi &nb
sp; - Rs.10

Veg Kurma - Rs
Dal fry
; - Rs.60/-
Maggi noodles - Rs.60
Tea &nbs
p; &
nbsp; - Rs.10/-
Egg &nbs
p; - Rs.10/
- (just egg, we cooked it)
Lemon juice - Rs.7/-
Pongal &
nbsp; - Rs.
20/-
Poori
- Rs.20/-
Beer&nb
sp;
- Rs.125/- (We just had 4 but he billed us for 6)
Lunch per head charge again on top all this - Rs.80/ head.

Type of Travel: No Comment Duration of Stay: No Comment Average Expenditure: Moderate (less than Rs.2000/day) Group Size: No Comment Best Suited For: No Comment Best Time to Travel: Never "

Let me know what you guys think...

Last edited by The Wolf : 23rd May 2008 at 12:38.
Old 23rd May 2008, 12:53   #215

Holy Schamoly is this the same place thats been arranged?
Old 23rd May 2008, 12:57   #216

If this the same place, I doubt he will try to get rowdy with us. Just talking about worst case scenario.
Old 23rd May 2008, 13:00   #217

Originally Posted by amitoj View Post
Holy Schamoly is this the same place thats been arranged?
Nope we have booked in Hotel Landmark. This guy's had food in Rainbow resort. Both are different. But....
Old 23rd May 2008, 17:14   #218

well at least with us we are :
a. not staying overnight
b. a rew rowdies against TBHpians...think about it they are in trouble not us.
c. Different resort
Old 23rd May 2008, 17:45   #219

Ritesh, I am sure every city in this country will have tales like this to tell. From my prior experiences and those of others on TBHP who were a part of the earlier drive to Yelagiri have nothing but pleasant things about the place.

The meet schedule is as follows:
1. Meet up at Dakshin Honda showroom at 6:30 am.

2. Breakfast at A2B at around 8 am.

3. Reach Yelagiri around 11:30-12ish.

4. Lunch at 1:30 pm.

5. Meet up with bhpians and start heading back around 3-4ish.

A reminder SMS will be sent to all those who have confirmed by Saturday night. Hope to see you lot at Dakshin Honda and not find out that most of you lot are still in bed .

Those who dont have the knack of waking up early in the morning, we have a solution for them. Some of us will be driving to a far off place on Saturday night and will head to Dakshin Honda from there. You are most welcome to join us and break the early morning wake up blues.

PS: I see 51 votes on the poll, yet only about 25 confirmations in total .

Last edited by mclaren1885 : 23rd May 2008 at 17:47.
Old 23rd May 2008, 20:22   #220

Originally Posted by snaronikar View Post
Nope we have booked in Hotel Landmark. This guy's had food in Rainbow resort. Both are different.
Oh ok.
So... whats that post about a different resort doing here???

Anyway, hope to see you all on Sunday.

Ciao

PS: rahul, nearly 50% turnout aint that bad yaar.

PPS: If anyone needs a ride from Meenakshi Temple, Bannerghatta road side, let me know.

Last edited by amitoj : 23rd May 2008 at 20:28.
Old 24th May 2008, 09:04   #221

Folks.. eager for this drive/meet.. For various reasons have missed the previous t-bhp meets/drives.. but will not miss this one for anything.. This will be my first t-bhp drive/meet..

Both me & wifey are looking forward for this drive/meet..

See you all @ 6.30 am -- Dakshin Honda..
Old 24th May 2008, 09:46   #222

Mclaren...
Can I have some driving direction please. I have been till Krishnagiri...All I need to know is what are key places between K'giri and Yellagiri that passer-by's will know and help me.
Ofcourse, I will join you all @ Dakshin at 6:30AM. But would still like to know the directions..as a backup plan.
Old 24th May 2008, 10:25   #223

By the way where is Dakshin honda, on hosur road located?
Any popular landmark near it?

Old 24th May 2008, 10:51   #224

Originally Posted by amohit View Post

Are you new to Bangalore and Hosur Road?

It is land mark itself. It comes to the left hand side while driving to Hosur. Reach Hosur road and keep on driving till you see the big Honda Show room and stop when you see the showroom.
Old 24th May 2008, 10:51   #225

Originally Posted by amohit View Post

yeah..look for a Honda showroom
just kidding.

Its after the flyover/silk board junction. Keep heading towards electronic city and appers on the left after 3-4 kms