Old 5th July 2009, 22:01   #31

Ive missed 2 meets and my name's out of the regular's list !....Sigh

Time to get my priorities right i say.
Old 6th July 2009, 09:38   #32

Originally Posted by hillram View Post
3. Golf Meet:Quite a few enthusiasts have come forward for this meet.If any one can get us into Bolarum Army Golf course..nothing like it...orelse Golconda Golf Course.

Lets decide all these meets on 10th July meet at Hampshire Plaza.
Just in case I am not able to make it to Hampshire Plaza meet, here is the info about Bolarum Army Golf course - you can just walk in and pay up the fee applicable to non-members (Rs. 150 per outing). Golf kits are available for hire (Rs. 50 per outing), but I guess there are only 7-8 kits for hire. The golf course is somewhat crowded on weekends. All regulars start at 6 AM and finish 10.30 AM or so. Hence we can start at 10.00/10.30 AM on a Saturday or Sunday to avoid the rush. We can play up to 1 PM (and finish 6-8 holes) and can then head for the watering hole
Old 6th July 2009, 13:13   #33

@Nag, that's awesome info. So anybody can walk in and play this sport?. If yes, then we should plan a golf meet on a saturday this very month.

Btw, adding your name for the July 10th dinner meet.

Dinner Meet Date: July 10, 2009
Venue : Hampshire Plaza or something similar
Time: 7:00pm
What's in it? : Lots of fun, unlimited beverages and unlimited snacks and food for a fixed price

Venue depends on who can accomodate us for the longest time with a great deal on offer. I am inclined towards Hamshire as i got an SMS recently from their cute hostess with her new mobile number

Confirmed List:
1. Hillram
2. B.Ravveendrra
3. Mobike008
4. Downsouth
5. Discobiscuit
6. Straightdrive
7. Pulsar56
8. Rajesh Rawal
9. Himanshugoswami
10. Suren181+1
11. Anurag_p80
12. Abysnthguzzler
13. Nagvasireddy
Old 6th July 2009, 13:38   #34

Originally Posted by mobike008 View Post
@Nag, that's awesome info. So anybody can walk in and play this sport?.
Yes, one is allowed to walk in, pay up and play. But, a beginer gets no where by stepping on the course straight away. At the most you end up damaging the putting greens or you will be holding up the group waiting to take position after you finish with that hole. Either way it will be very embarassing.

So, as far as taking to golf is concerned, one should hone his skills in the practice area and the driving range before stepping on the course. As far as TBHP golf meet is concerned, we can start off with a meet at the driving range. It will still be a lot of fun.
Old 6th July 2009, 14:23   #35

Another place where non-golfers can enjoy golfing could be "Songs of Earth" resort (:: Songs Of Earth Resorts : Nature Resort in Hyderabad, Group Leisure in Hyderabad, Group Holiday in Hyderabad, Marriage accommodation in Hyderabad, Training facilities in Hyderabad, resort in hyderabad, adventure sports in hyderabad, golf training i). They have 6 holes to play and there would be no disturbance to golfers.

The Golfing meet can be turned into a full day meet with family as there are other things to do at this particular resort.
Old 6th July 2009, 17:57   #36

@hyderabad gang,

what happened to you guys?

its raining everywhere and no drive in this month????

"goa nahi to at least somewhere near hyd."

"drive ki saare murade puri ho gayi kya?"

Last edited by ASHISHPALLOD : 6th July 2009 at 17:59.
Old 6th July 2009, 22:49   #37

Originally Posted by ASHISHPALLOD View Post
@hyderabad gang,

what happened to you guys?

its raining everywhere and no drive in this month????

"goa nahi to at least somewhere near hyd."

"drive ki saare murade puri ho gayi kya?"
Arrey Ashish bhai, it is raining everywhere except Hyderabad

I dont think there is a drive planned for this month except for the vikarabad one.
Old 6th July 2009, 23:50   #38

Originally Posted by absynthguzzler View Post
Ive missed 2 meets and my name's out of the regular's list !....Sigh

Time to get my priorities right i say.
Dude, you are THE CUG! Yes we did miss you at one or two meets, but kya karein we understand that these are recession times and after all it is paapi pet ka sawaal! CYA back soon.

Originally Posted by mobike008 View Post
Arrey Ashish bhai, it is raining everywhere except Hyderabad

I dont think there is a drive planned for this month except for the vikarabad one.
Which Sunday is the drive on? I think 12th is too early, 19 is the HI Auto show, that leaves out 26th. So Hydeez - is that date OK? Also any alternate venues to Vikarabad?

Old 6th July 2009, 23:53   #39

How bout this Sunday ? A drive of a different kind - Tour of Hyderabad City and its unseen Treasures.

Slightly last minute , but blame Nazim for that lol( there's an auto strike this Sunday and the roads in old city would be accessible like never before).
Old 7th July 2009, 00:04   #40

Originally Posted by absynthguzzler View Post
How bout this Sunday ? A drive of a different kind - Tour of Hyderabad City and its unseen Treasures.

Slightly last minute , but blame Nazim for that lol( there's an auto strike this Sunday and the roads in old city would be accessible like never before).
Count me in (only if the Auto strike is on). A tour of the heritage sites and sights in Old city would be amazing. We could top it off with visits to Madina and Shehran for some great food or we could hunt out that place for amazing biryani mentioned by Fazal saab.

Old 7th July 2009, 00:42   #41

Im joining this Hyd Discovery tour.My wish list:
- California Hangers
- Monsieur Raymond's Tomb
- Falak Numa Palace ( if all are keen I will try to get permission from Taj for a inside tour)
- Chowmohalla Palace
please add some more.
Old 7th July 2009, 08:09   #42

Originally Posted by hillram View Post
Im joining this Hyd Discovery tour.My wish list:
- California Hangers
- Monsieur Raymond's Tomb
- Falak Numa Palace ( if all are keen I will try to get permission from Taj for a inside tour)
- Chowmohalla Palace
please add some more.
Brilliant , Ive never heard of the 1st 2 and that makes this drive more interesting.
  1. California Hangers
  2. Monsieur Raymond's Tomb
  3. Falak Numa Palace
  4. Chowmohalla Palace
  5. Chouk - for the birds and antiques
  6. Someone once mentioned about a street lined with bike shops and all you see is scores of old/new bikes all along ......... some beautiful and some needing attention.
I'll leave it to Avi aka our very own Wikipedia to plan the route around hyderabad so that we refill ourselves at a typical Hyderabadi den for lunch, and move on to the sights that are wonderful at dawn.
Old 7th July 2009, 08:27   #43

LOL, who would have thought that an auto strike would throw up such interesting possibilities. I am most definitely in - even if it is just 2 or 3 of us.

This tour should be an eye-opener letting us know a little more about the city we live in. The charminar, Salar Jung museum, tank bund and Birla Mandir are so passe. Some of the Hyderabadi buildings are truly impressive and the grandeur is something to be seen to be believed and will rival all but the most opulent of palaces in the world.

Will someone please tell me a little about the California Hangers/Hangars. I have never heard about them.

Confirmed list:

1. Pulsar56
2. Absynthguzzler
3. Ravveendrra
4. Hillram
5. Rajesh Rawal
6. Mobike008
7. Kkr2kr

I hope Fazal saab is reading this and is joining us - he is the best guide I can think of. It would truly be an education to have you with us to guide us through a Hyderabad that remains largely unseen and unknown.

Old 7th July 2009, 08:40   #44

I posted about the strike and slept early thinking that I'd go for walking/jogging in the morning (which did not happen by the way!) and we already have a meet planned!

That's the spirit and this is how the thread was supposed to be! LOL.

But, isn't 9th on Thursday? Or am I missing something here?
Old 7th July 2009, 08:51   #45

Originally Posted by pulsar56 View Post
I posted about the strike and slept early thinking that I'd go for walking/jogging in the morning (which did not happen by the way!) and we already have a meet planned!

That's the spirit and this is how the thread was supposed to be! LOL.

But, isn't 9th on Thursday? Or am I missing something here?
That sir, is but a minor detail.

Now that we are on a roll, let the auto guys run for cover on Sunday!