Team-BHP > Shifting gears > The Team-BHP Meet Section

View Poll Results: Would you be attending Gurgaon meet?
Yes, attending on 28th Aug 4 20.00%
Yes, attending on 4th Sep 5 25.00%
Couldn't care less about the date, would be attending anyway 10 50.00%
Would not be attending 4 20.00%
Multiple Choice Poll. Voters: 20. You may not vote on this poll

Old 6th August 2010, 13:38   #16

Aah, a friend in need is a friend..........

Does 4th Sept suit you? I shall cast my vote then accordingly..

Originally Posted by suman View Post
You left out THE stalwart of Gurgaon - Gd1418

Alas, I'm out of the country that weekend, returning on the 30th
Old 6th August 2010, 13:42   #17

Originally Posted by gd1418 View Post
Aah, a friend in need is a friend..........

Does 4th Sept suit you? I shall cast my vote then accordingly..
Heh heh

Yup, 4th is good but this time, the "meat" must take place in Gurgaon - enuf of South Delhi, I'm definitely not driving towards my workplace on a weekend
Old 6th August 2010, 14:03   #18

Originally Posted by khoj View Post
AlokSriva,
I am leaving for Bombay over this weekend and will be driving back up from Bombay starting on the 15th. As for the meet's proposed dates please don't move them beyond the weekend of 4/5th September as I have to drive back to Bombay on the 8th Sept. to participate in the Kaas trip planned for the third weekend of that month.

I would also take the opportunity to suggest the venue as Barbecue Nation, Gurgaon.

@anupmathur
Mathur Saheb, hope you will read this and it would be great if you could join us.

@sabylamba
Newbie's are always welcome to attend the meets after all they have to bring pastries for the junta in attendance. Sort of an initiation ritual if you would like to call it that. See ya there, BTW my favourite is Bitter Chocolate
Originally Posted by lsp View Post
Yayy!! First time that I am catching an NCR meet thread before the meet has happened. It usually happens that I see a meet thread 2-3 days later.

I am a newbie. Well, sort of, since I haven't met anyone of you. It would be a good opportunity to finally see in person some of the stalwarts of the community. I will refrain from casting my vote on the poll until I am 100% sure about my attendance.
@isp as and when you do confirm remember the pasteries. See above ^^

Originally Posted by suman View Post
Heh heh

Yup, 4th is good but this time, the "meat" must take place in Gurgaon - enuf of South Delhi, I'm definitely not driving towards my workplace on a weekend
@Suman See the above suggested venue in bold trust that is 'meaty' enough for you and gd1418.
Old 6th August 2010, 14:07   #19

BBQ Nation is absolutely cool with me. Still not casted my vote.. But it seems to be veering towards 4th Sept..
Old 6th August 2010, 14:15   #20

Is there an option to meet on a Sunday afternoon-evening? 5th September rather than 4th?
Old 6th August 2010, 14:16   #21

Barbeque Nation is a good choice for venue.
They have good parking space available.

Khoj Sir, seems like this time a lot of pastries would come.
This will be my first meet too.
Old 6th August 2010, 14:53   #22

Hmm.. so BBQ Nation has come out as a favorite (and the only venue) so far!

Since I am not familiar with 'meaty' meets, though I think I have a clue, what ought to be the preferred time? Late afternoon/early evening till late? Or start around noon and end only when staff shows us the door?

I am assuming that Saturday would be an off (5 days week for most of the folks).

@SS-Traveller - Doc, I am not sure if a 'meaty' meet would be possible on a Sunday. However, as they say - jaisee panchon kee rai
Old 6th August 2010, 15:40   #23

Originally Posted by AlokSriva View Post
@SS-Traveller - Doc, I am not sure if a 'meaty' meet would be possible on a Sunday. However, as they say - jaisee panchon kee rai
Panchon kee rai kehta hai finish the meat by 8 PM Saturday, as is traditional - which is the time I get to be free. I'm sure meaty meats can also happen starting 7:30 / 8 PM on Saturdays, or starting 2PM on Sundays and carrying on till 7 PM.

You guys seriously don't want me to join in, or what?
Old 6th August 2010, 15:59   #24

Originally Posted by SS-Traveller View Post
Arre doc! You have got into serious EB business now

Roz toh kaam karte he ho, ek din 3 ghante kee chhuttee le kar weekend jaldee shuroo kar lo (you anyway work everyday, let your weekend start a few hours early that week)

As it is, there are good 3 weeks at the minimum to plan accordingly
Old 6th August 2010, 16:11   #25

Panchon kee rai kehta hai finish the meat by 8 PM Saturday, as is traditional -
Come come Doc, no need to exaggerate! The last "meat" I attended at GK II M Block in April carried on well past 10-10.30 IIRC. But you'd ducked out giving the same excuse.

Normally, a "meat" starts around 7.30 & carries on till as long there is a "quorum" of 3 (much like Corporate Board meetings )

I think the ones you're referring to which wind up early are the "Meets", not the "Meats". Besides, give the practice a break one Saturday evening........if you could leave your patients in limbo for the All India Road Trip, this is but a few hours on a Saturday evening

Yes, so please plan for a Sunday afternoon, folks!
Doc, as explained on many an occasion, for guys like us who do an 8 am to 8 pm every day, Sunday is PURE FAMILY DAY (not the Team Bhp family but the actual one). Heck, even Saturday is family day but if its in Gurgaon, no issues........

Last edited by suman : 6th August 2010 at 16:16.
Old 6th August 2010, 16:13   #26

Arre doc! You have got into serious EB business now
EB??
Roz toh kaam karte he ho, ek din 3 ghante kee chhuttee le kar weekend jaldee shuroo kar lo (you anyway work everyday, let your weekend start a few hours early that week)
I wish! My only weekends are on Sunday afternoon onwards, or if I've disappeared from town. I could take an evening off on a weekday, but not working Saturday evenings (and Sunday mornings)...

As it is, there are good 3 weeks at the minimum to plan accordingly
Yes, so please plan for a Sunday afternoon, folks!
Old 6th August 2010, 17:33   #27

Sunday is almost everytime a family day and totally devoted to the Family. So it is a no-no for me. Have never ever attended any meet, either of TBHP or of the Scorpio on Sunday and will not.

Meets generally start by 7:30 as mentioned earlier and goes on till 11 pm. While for most a Saturday is a holiday, I work 6 days a week.

I'm inclined for the 4th as it suits me. If you guys are planning for the 5th, then wish you all the best for the meet.

And lest another couple of posts spring up explaining family, I also would like to clarify, the meet as I understand is totally a stag party. Anything other than this, then I might have to reconsider attending..

Panchon kee rai kehta hai finish the meat by 8 PM Saturday, as is traditional - which is the time I get to be free. I'm sure meaty meats can also happen starting 7:30 / 8 PM on Saturdays, or starting 2PM on Sundays and carrying on till 7 PM.

I've yet to see a traditional meet or meat that finishes by 8pm. And btw, Doc who said that the meat or meet is going to begin at 5 and end by 8? A scan of previous posts, didn't reveal that.

And you suggesting a Sunday meet starting at 2 and ending 7 pm? Main to nahi jhel paoonga..

Aur kaun panch hain yahan aur kinhone kaha ki meat or meet ko 8 baje khatam karo. Meet or meat to tab khatam hoga jab hum chahenge..

Last edited by gd1418 : 6th August 2010 at 17:39.
Old 6th August 2010, 21:51   #28

Meat ho ya meet, I'm leaving for my Deccan trip on the 2nd. I'm game for a 28th Aug meat !
Old 6th August 2010, 22:38   #29

Gurgaon meet= Anyday Anytime Anyplace.
South Delhi meet= Need to think, well, hmmmm.
Old 6th August 2010, 23:03   #30

Originally Posted by rideon View Post
I'm leaving for my Deccan trip on the 2nd
Safe travels
Originally Posted by .anshuman View Post
Gurgaon meet= Anyday Anytime Anyplace.
LOL! Anshuman, Machan theek hain na? If you say its OK, I'm OK............

Else, City Club to start off with & then a different dinner venue for those who want to - what say guys?

BCG??

Hmmm. I am out of the country those days. How about 5th evening?
Country Roads, take me home....

Last edited by suman : 6th August 2010 at 23:05.