Team-BHP > Technical Stuff

Search this Thread
Old 9th September 2012, 22:29   #6196
BHPian

Quote:
Originally Posted by torquecurve

I am no detailing expert (there are my Gurus on this thread) but taking a shot at it. Since you want to spend no more than 30 mins per week you can do a couple of things. First you need a kit of stuff. I recommend ONR for its multiple uses, A bottle of Collinite 845, a tin of turtle wax or Klasse AIO or Eagle Nano Wax gel, 4-5 MF Cloths, a Chamois (Synthetic is also ok). A couple of clean Cotton cloths.

Wash the car with ONR. Dry it well with a chamois first (remember to store the chamois wet - esp if synthetic). Then use a MF cloth to dry it completely. Wouldnt take more than 20 mins. Then apply a layer of Collinite 845 (spreads really thin) Apply thin layer as possible as it is easy to remove. 10 min or so and you are done. Then go home do some nice stuff for 30 mins. After you are back down your car should have a white layer, wipe your car with a Mf cloth (Wipe dont rub) you will see a nice very basic shine on your car.
Next weekend, just wash your car with ONR and now top up the c845 with some other wax for the deep shine, I like Eagle Nano wax others like other stuff. After this a quick dust down with your Jopasu duster should be enough to keep your car looking nice. Also you can top it up maybe once in two months with c845/wax based on how it looks. If you have some hard to remove stain (like bird droppings) just keep a bottle filled with a solution on ONR and a MF Cloth handy to wipe it off.
Hey thanks for the quick response. Although there is no real shortcut to good detailing, it's good to see some basic level stuff can be done effectively.

Couple of questions: i guess collinite 845 is a wax. How is it any different from eagle nano or others. Why do I need both? I saw one on eBay for some 1500 bucks. Is it a fair price

Also, since I will be doing this for the first time, is there a chance of messing up and ruining it all?