Old 10th June 2011, 17:38   #1

How to wire a car clock?

I've purchased a car clock for use with my Alto. It had initially been connected to the cigarette lighter terminal & used to turn on on key on. However, the problem is, it loses the time every time the car is switched off. I suspect it doesn't have a backup battery to keep time.

Can anyone guide me as to where I can find an always on +(Positive) terminal inside the Alto's cabin to wire up the clock.

(Mods: Please move if in wrong section)

Last edited by JustCause : 10th June 2011 at 18:05.
Old 11th June 2011, 21:54   #2

Re: How to wire a car clock?

if you are new to DIY please get professional help. As these clocks uses one direct battery +ive line. If you don't know what you are doing you may end up blowing the wiring or your clock.
Old 11th June 2011, 23:31   #3

You can get the direct +ve terminal either in Combination Switch (for Head Lamp) or from the Ignition Switch.
You can give yourself a try in finding them, subject to availability of some extra fuse (may blow fuses if shorted)

Best of luck.
Old 11th June 2011, 23:55   #4

Try hooking it up with the constant +ve and switched +ve from the car stereo wiring.
Old 11th June 2011, 23:59   #5

Originally Posted by blackasta View Post
Try hooking it up with the constant +ve and switched +ve from the car stereo wiring.
Oh yes, I forgot to mention about the stereo wiring.
Old 12th June 2011, 09:31   #6

Originally Posted by Mr.Boss View Post
You can get the direct +ve terminal either in Combination Switch (for Head Lamp) .....

Best of luck.
I had the same idea but, an auto electrician told me that wire needs to be cut for this. I did not want a jugaad so put this off. I was also thinking of making connections directly to the Fuse box under dash.

The problem is that I don't have a stereo installed & therefore no wiring harness for it.

Originally Posted by YaeJay View Post
Hmm forgive the OT, don't you think its about time the rabbit got that carrot?
Yes, and now it has. I'll let it enjoy the juicy veggie.

Meanwhile, I decided to do a DIY on the clock itself. I opened it up and measured the voltage across the Zener diode inside(when operating from car battery). Found it to be 0.34V for time circuit & 1.38V for backlighting. I bypassed the 750ohm resistor in the time circuit & added an AG13 button cell (1.5 Volts) with a holder.

Now, I connected the backlighting circuit with an additional wire to the lighter socket. Now, the clock always stays on & the backlight comes on on IGN.

Thanks everyone for the responses.

Last edited by JustCause : 12th June 2011 at 09:35.
Old 12th June 2011, 21:41   #7

don't fiddle with the fusebox.
Old 12th June 2011, 21:46   #8

@justcause - Of all the people I know/interact with, I believe you are only the second person (after my dad) who does not have a stereo in the car! Any particular reason - if I may ask?
Old 12th June 2011, 23:08   #9

Any particular reason - if I may ask?
Primarily, I'm concerned about the security of the system since I usually have to park in bylanes & secluded spots. Even the apartment parking is vulnerable to HU thefts.

Yes, it seems against the grain nowadays with the advent of affordable solutions. I think I just got used to not having a stereo from day one.