Team-BHP - How accurate is the distance to empty
Team-BHP

Team-BHP (https://www.team-bhp.com/forum/)
-   Technical Stuff (https://www.team-bhp.com/forum/technical-stuff/)
-   -   How accurate is the distance to empty (https://www.team-bhp.com/forum/technical-stuff/110940-how-accurate-distance-empty.html)

Hi all,

For quite some time now I have this question in my mind.

The modern day technology has got us a new calculation meter that shows the distance to zero or empty in the car. I have noticed this in Tata Manza and now the new Fabia.
My question is how accurate and how dependable is the distance to zero. Last week I filled in 15 litres of petrol in the new Fabia and as soon as the tank was filled it showed me 220 Kms to zero. I drove around 70 kms in the city and suddenly this meter shows 100 kms to zero.
I do not know how dependable is this ?

Experts advise please.

I am no expert but i am quiet sure in the few cars that family/friends own this has give them massive surprise occasionally. The distance to empty is only indicative and folks have a few times got stranded midway blindly depending on this information.

Also this has been an experience across multiple cars across different manufacturers. So on the safer side its better to believe that when the fuel indicator needle hits the red mark (assume approximately there is 10L or fuel left, although in reality its a little bit more).

I have found the DTE too optimistic at the time of tanking up, but it settles down to more estimate once on the move for some time. The DTE in my Elantra had more variation than any other cars i have owned. The display goes blank when 50kms range is left for most cars i have seen, this is mentioned the car's manual for all cars.