Team-BHP > Technical Stuff

Search this Thread
Old 5th June 2009, 01:08   #1
BHPian

Spark accelerator pedal acting odd

I am new to driving and have had a Chevy Spark for a month now. Initially when I pressed the accelerator pedal the car lunged forward in fits and starts. Now even after coming to terms with it and managing it better, it still tends to act that way.
What's more worrying is that from time to time while driving the pedal comes up a bit as if it was stuck somewhere.
Also if I release the pedal the car immediately slows down.
Is this normal? Please suggest what I should do?
Old 5th June 2009, 12:24   #2
BHPian

This surely is not normal. Maybe the accelerator mechanism is sticking somewhere. Get it checked at the service station soon. It might cause you to bump accidentally into something or someone.
Old 5th June 2009, 12:41   #3
BHPian

In lower gears, the car will slow down quickly once you release the pedal. Engine braking, it is called. Are you riding the clutch? Are you driving in too low a gear? Try this once, shift up to second as soon as you start moving, and then up again at 2000 rpm. Use clutch only to change gears. Is it still jerky?
Old 8th June 2009, 23:32   #4
BHPian

Quote:
Originally Posted by anurag_p80 View Post
In lower gears, the car will slow down quickly once you release the pedal. Engine braking, it is called. Are you riding the clutch? Are you driving in too low a gear? Try this once, shift up to second as soon as you start moving, and then up again at 2000 rpm. Use clutch only to change gears. Is it still jerky?
Thanks Anurag.
I have tried to not 'ride the clutch'. And i am trying to shift to 2nd gear by revving up from 1st gear quickly and touching 20kmph.

Another basic question, even if it appears naive:
Whenever i approach stalled traffic at a red signal or prepare to stop, I press the clutch to prepare for braking, and the car actually gathers speed slightly and moves faster than it was so far. What's happening here?