Team-BHP > Technical Stuff
Register New Topics New Posts Top Thanked Team-BHP FAQ

Search this Thread
Old 16th July 2012, 11:48   #1
BHPian

Restoration of my Premier Padmini

Hi everybody,

I need help from all possible corners, as you can see from the title of this thread, I am going for restoration of our 'Premier Padmini Deluxe BE' (lets just say, fiat) that we bought about 25 years ago. This is my first thread on team-bhp or should I say in my life! I have always been a mute spectator here, but after a few meets with fellow bhpians I have decided to open up and share my thoughts and feelings with you guys and seek your expertise.

At the outset itself, I would like to state that I am a complete noob when it comes to the technical aspects of cars and bikes and this is going to be a long story. Kindly ignore my ignorance (ha ha) and bear with me. My dad bought our fiat in December, 1987 (I was 7 years old) when he didn’t even know how to drive. Below are a couple of snaps which we took when we bought it home.

Til date it has done a little over 1 lac kms of which about 90% was logged by my dad. It was regularly serviced and cared for by my dad, so much that even I was not allowed to drive it (even after I turned 18). I applied the story of jackal & sour grapes to me and stayed away from our fiat. I knew that driving is in my blood, but couldn’t convince my family to let me learn & drive our fiat. It’s a shame that I learned to drive at a driving school (didn’t stall even once in those 15 days of training) and worse still I have not logged a single km in my fiat till date.