Old 28th July 2016, 02:32   #106

Anybody has a IAC valve handy for a Santro Xing? I dont want to go for a new one as of now as it costs about 4.3k. Even a Zip Drive+ part will do. It should not be cracked is the only criteria.

Mods please post this to a relevant thread if it doesnt belong here. I couldn't find one. Thanx.
Old 8th January 2017, 17:41   #107

Re: Best Practices : Maintain your Car in Top Shape

So i have a small confusion running in my mind. Let me brief the issue first. The issue is as follows - I took delivery of a black figo from cauvery ford mangalore a few weeks back. Now being very cautious and paranoid about not inducing scratches and other unwanted marks i gave my car for two washes (one because i found few oily white spots the next day of delivery another after a 300km long drive, both were provided complimentary) in the ford service center itself and i haven't washed the car at home or anywhere else. Now the issue is that after few days when my car was standing under the sun i was greeted with a huge bundle of visible swirl marks and minute scratches that occur from a bad wash cloth in the bonet area and it is a pain to see them in a brand new car So far my experience with cauvery ford has been great and nothing to complain and they have promptly accepted to resolve the issue and keep the car in their service center on Monday, that would be tomorrow.

Now the confusion- Considering the competency of service center people in this matter Should i accept the solution offered and leave it to them to solve the issue or should i consider some specialized detailing outlet to do the needful ?

Any other suggestions are also welcomed and would be helpful

Thanks in advance

Mods please excuse if this is posted in the wrong section or thread
Old 8th January 2017, 18:37   #108

Originally Posted by blackbandit View Post

Now the confusion- Considering the competency of service center people in this matter Should i accept the solution offered and leave it to them to solve the issue or should i consider some specialized detailing outlet to do the needful ?
I'd suggest you to take your car to a detailing specialist like 3M Car Care. Get paint protection done or you could also get their costly PPF installed for peace of mind. Don't expect service center folks to "detail" your car, the chaps at the cleaning bay are least bothered about proper technique to clean a car, so you should be expecting swirls and marks if you get it washed at SVC or any similar washing outlets outside. Look through Team-BHP's Directory to find suitable Car Detailing center in your city.
By the way, congratulations on your new car.

~Drive Safe

Last edited by SDP : 8th January 2017 at 19:54. Reason: Trimming the quoted post
Funny is online now   (1) Thanks
Old 11th July 2017, 10:58   #109

Dear all, I own a Punto 1.2 2012 model which till April this year, was clocking around 800-1000kms a month. It is in excellent shape, meticulously maintained and has been mostly reliable. No surprises, except sheared engine mount bolts once, due to under torquing. I am very finicky about my rides, and it is always in top mechanical shape and I am a DIY guy too. But, my worry now, maybe unfounded, for the last three months, it runs about 40kms a week, that too, because I take it out over weekends for the runs. You know, just to keep her "fit".

There are no problems as such, but, sudden drop from 1000kms a month to 40/50kms a week, will this cause funny things to happen? Brakes, suspensions, cooling system etc etc are all in top shape, touch-wood, and is there a reason to be worried, that they could degrade with this lesser use? Earlier oil changes used to be at 8000-9000kms , do I need to increase the frequency at say every 5000? Anything else? Or am I just being needlessly worried? Thanks!

Last edited by lapis_lazuli : 11th July 2017 at 11:20.
Old 11th July 2017, 11:14   #110

Originally Posted by lapis_lazuli View Post
There are no problems as such, but, sudden drop from 1000kms a month to 40/50kms a week, will this cause funny things to happen?
I do not think there is anything to worry about the car except
1. The car gets dusty due to less usage and hence more cleaning is required. 2. The fuel consumption may reduce slightly.

Other than this, there is nothing major to worry about.

On a lighter side, I am worried about the owner of the car. Being car lover(This is proved since you are in Team BHP)Without driving the car, how can the owner be in good healthy condition?
gkveda is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 3rd October 2017, 16:10   #111

Hi folks, ran into a tough situation today!
The oil from a 'pickle/aachar' spilled from the box onto my rear seat with fabric seat covers.
While I tried to soak up the oil using tissue papers and pressing them on the seat, but any further ideas for a more thorough cleanup?
Old 11th October 2017, 15:34   #112

Indica Rear RH panel damaged by football hit (my guess based on ball marks).

Please suggest if this can be repaired from outside by pulling etc. No paint damage at all.

Insurance can also be claimed if needed.
Best Practices : Maintain your Car in Top Shape-img_20171011_092735.jpg  

Last edited by GTO : 12th October 2017 at 09:49. Reason: STRICTLY no SMS language on Team-BHP please
Old 11th October 2017, 15:56   #113

Originally Posted by Amazing View Post
Pls suggest easiest ways to repair with minimum work in garage.
Please get in touch with Sudhir Gaikwad, details in this thread.
Old 13th October 2017, 14:29   #114

Thanks Sukiwa. Got quotes from Sudhir ji, will get it done next week.
Old 14th October 2017, 20:23   #115

This is in regards to a 2005 Swift 1.3 petrol.

It has run around 53 k kms and runs very less, but used daily. The last service was done around 3 months back and ever since there has been oil on the parking lot floor. I thought it was from the oil sump drain plug and today tried tightening it. It was already tightened and I got a chance to have look at the bottom and it looks like there is quite a bit of oil leak from the head.
Attaching a video.

Do let me know if it is a from head gasket from whatever can be seen.
Best Practices : Maintain your Car in Top Shape-63bb7f871b2c421eae8486ef37a6e701.jpeg  

Last edited by tharian : 14th October 2017 at 20:38.
Old 23rd March 2018, 18:03   #116

Originally Posted by tharian View Post
This is in regards to a 2005 Swift 1.3 petrol. Do let me know if it is a from head gasket from whatever can be seen.
A bit late about 5 months after your post, but get the oil sump gasket and head gasket checked. Either one or both seem to be leaking from what I could see in the video. Have you got it repaired?
R2D2 is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 23rd March 2018, 20:07   #117

Originally Posted by R2D2 View Post
A bit late about 5 months after your post, but get the oil sump gasket and head gasket checked. Either one or both seem to be leaking from what I could see in the video. Have you got it repaired?
Yes, it has stopped. I took it to M.A.S.S and the technician tightened few bolts around the exhaust manifold. I am not sure what it was exactly since I wasn't around when he did it.
Old 23rd March 2018, 21:38   #118

Originally Posted by tharian View Post
Yes, it has stopped. I took it to M.A.S.S and the technician tightened few bolts around the exhaust manifold. I am not sure what it was exactly since I wasn't around when he did it.
He probably tightened all accessible nuts/bolts to preclude a leak from any of those parts. Hopefully he torqued them to specs. Aluminium is sensitive to over torquing.
R2D2 is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 25th March 2018, 09:26   #119

My Octavia tsi is giving low coolant warning just 15 days after the service. I called the service advisor and gave him an earful. However, he is claiming that its not that they have forgotten to put the coolant but because of some part malfunctioning in the car. He also mentioned that I cannot put / mix any generic branded coolant in the car and it has to be the Skoda coolant from the service center. Is that true? The service center is far from my place and i was hoping to put a castrol or any other coolant for the time being till i can visit the service center. Please advise.
Old 25th March 2018, 14:13   #120

Originally Posted by reddevilgautam View Post
My Octavia tsi is giving low coolant warning just 15 days after the service. I called the service advisor and gave him an earful. However, he is claiming that its not that they have forgotten to put the coolant but because of some part malfunctioning in the car. He also mentioned that I cannot put / mix any generic branded coolant in the car and it has to be the Skoda coolant from the service center. Is that true? The service center is far from my place and i was hoping to put a castrol or any other coolant for the time being till i can visit the service center. Please advise.
Different makes of coolants can be chemically incompatible with each other so stick to Skoda coolant.

Only other way is to fully drain the system and refill with 50% aftermarket coolant concentrate and 50% distilled water. However, do not do this if your car is under warranty.
R2D2 is offline   (1) Thanks