Old 13th September 2013, 19:01   #1

Ford recalls 1.66 lakh units of Figo & (Fiesta) Classic

Ford India, on Friday, said it would recall `the remaining batches’ of Ford Figo and Ford Classic’ models to inspect them for ``potential issues related to the rear twist beam (RTB) and the power-assisted steering (PAS) hose’’.

Ford India is recalling 1,66,021 units of the compact Figo and Classic sedans; the biggest vehicle recall in the country since industry body SIAM had introduced a voluntary recall in July 2012.
http://www.thehindu.com/business/Ind...cle5124662.ece
darklord is offline   (5) Thanks
Old 13th September 2013, 19:12   #2

re: Ford recalls 1.66 lakh units of Figo & (Fiesta) Classic

That's bad, probably the biggest recall in India, if I recall correctly. With the sales if Figo down & Fiesta (new & old) in 3 figures, I do not think it will help Ford's cause.
Old 13th September 2013, 19:17   #3

I don't understand? Are they recalling every Figo now and not just from that batch or are they recalling the already recalled cars also?
Vid6639 is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 13th September 2013, 20:08   #4

Why are they calling all Figos now, when earlier they called only specific batches? Dont understand if this RTB issue has all of a sudden appeared in later batches or Ford were aware of it right from the time they called in select batches and chose not to do anything abt the rest till they could hold.
Old 13th September 2013, 20:25   #5

Looks like the MNCs have developed cold feet after the Tavera and SAIL fiasco, so each one is issuing recalls to fix the "discovered" problems.

Toyota recalls the LIva, Ford the ecosport, the Figo, then the Fiesta / Claissic. The Classic was supposed to be an old model, due to be phased out soon. What could Ford have found wrong at the twilight of this product's life cycle ?

Is that the reason for the hike in the Ecosport's price ? The cost of fixes, included.
Old 13th September 2013, 20:42   #6

The same website indicates more about the actual snag as under.

The recall had impacted different batches of cars made between January 2008 and December 2010, and from September 2010 till February 2011.

Then, Ford India had said a potential crack in the RTB first manifests itself in the form of an abnormal noise from the rear. If the vehicle continues to be driven and the noise symptoms are ignored, it could lead to the RTB unit breaking, resulting in diminished ride and handling and brake performance — potentially rendering the vehicle inoperable.

In the case of the PAS Hose issue, the company had said there was a potential for development of an oil leak, which could result in potential fumes being emitted from the area causing the leak.

It may also be possible for power steering fluid to come into contact with the vehicle’s exhaust components creating a potential for smoke and, in extreme cases, fire.
My Figo, manufactured February 2013, developed a squeak from rear within the first 1K kms, which was attended to during first free service. I don't know if it crops up again. Got to take it up now.
Old 13th September 2013, 22:04   #7

When the earlier recall was announced, my Figo manufactured in March 2012 was not covered. However when I checked out the website again on reading this thread, my car has been covered as well. Really sad that I have to undergo the pain of visiting the most dreaded place ever a.k.a Ford ASC.

Ford recalls 1.66 lakh units of Figo & (Fiesta) Classic-capture.png

Click here to check your VIN
Warwithwheels is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 13th September 2013, 22:28   #8

Well if we take both GM recalls into account - 1.14 Lacs for the Tavera and then another 1.3 for the Sails , then that's 2.44 units for GM as a single company

More recalls than launches making the headlines these days , but the potential damages that Ford has outlined are very serious.
Old 13th September 2013, 22:41   #9

I checked the VIN of my Oct 2012 Figo and my Mar 2007 Fiesta, and both do not figure in the list.

I wonder on what basis some cars were chosen.
Old 13th September 2013, 22:53   #10

Although the numbers are huge, it doesn't appear to be serious issue. They are probably looking for a bolt that is not tight or a hose thats touching something.

Originally Posted by lifebuoy View Post
Looks like the MNCs have developed cold feet after the Tavera and SAIL fiasco, so each one is issuing recalls to fix the "discovered" problems.
Tavera's case was unique. It failed to meet the law.

Recalls for defects are not mandated

Last edited by Mpower : 13th September 2013 at 22:54.
Old 14th September 2013, 07:35   #11

My Figo which is a Aug 2010 model is listed for PAS recall. Weird that they did not mention this when I had gone for the RTB recall.
If I remember, the PAS recall was on for few batches back then as well.

From the looks of it, it seems Ford found that there are other batches affected as well and not just the ones that were re-called last year.

Last edited by tharian : 14th September 2013 at 07:44.
Old 14th September 2013, 08:00   #12

Originally Posted by vnabhi View Post
I checked the VIN of my Oct 2012 Figo and my Mar 2007 Fiesta, and both do not figure in the list.

I wonder on what basis some cars were chosen.
http://www.india.ford.com/ford-servi...service-action

I checked with my October 2011 made Fiesta 1.4 tdci and it says

There is 1 Field Service Action
1 FSA Number: S1204
FIGO & FIESTA/IKON REAR TWIST BEAM

Curiously, only yesterday i visited Ford ASC for 30k service and there was no mention of this.
ramzsys is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 14th September 2013, 08:14   #13

Well well well ... Here it goes! I think I won the long fight with Ford I had the Power Steering issue as well as Rear Sqeaks right from 5000kms and was in conversation with Ford President's office for long.

Anyways, I was screwed up already (due to other factors) with my 2012 Fiesta Classic TDCi and sold it yesterday
sam_sant2005 is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 14th September 2013, 08:32   #14

My 2012 March manufactured Figo had squeaks from the rear which were rectified in the first service itself but have now resurfaced after 10k kms. Will take it to Bhavna Ford soon.
Old 14th September 2013, 09:35   #15

are they recalling the already recalled cars also?
No. They aren't recalling the already recalled Cars. Confirmed from the VIN. Mine isn't in the batch. So, I can rest easy.

^ Mine was earlier recalled & RTB was changed.
Sheel is offline   (1) Thanks