Old 8th October 2016, 05:52   #106

Re: Fiat Palio S10 - Now, Restoration Complete!

Hey mate, I just went through the entire thread in one sitting. Awesome effort to get your S10 back to its former glory. I've got a S10 that I am considering getting freshened up. I know its been a while but would it possible to share details of garages and parts stores that you've used to get the job done? PM is fine too.
Old 14th October 2016, 02:58   #107

Originally Posted by Slick! View Post
Hey mate, I just went through the entire thread in one sitting. Awesome effort to get your S10 back to its former glory. I've got a S10 that I am considering getting freshened up. I know its been a while but would it possible to share details of garages and parts stores that you've used to get the job done? PM is fine too.
Hi There,
The S10 was worked on in Bangalore at BugStop. Its a garage in Jakkur, managed and run by Pavan Kadam. All parts replaced on the car are OEM and ordered through 99rpm.com.
Hope this helps.
Kiran.
Old 29th October 2016, 17:26   #108

Quick update on the car:
Have done 20k kms now with the restoration complete. Car also completed 2 years post finishing. Got the clutch changed as the release bearing was on its way out. On getting the clutch out, found that the plates themselves were almost worn out. Good thing I bought the whole kit. so now the car has new clutch plate, pressure plate and release bearing. Have replaced engine oil, oil and fuel filters and gearbox oil as well.
Clutch is much lighter than before. Happy about this by-product

The alternator bearings started making a racket and were whining for the past 10k kms or so. got new bearings from SKF and replaced them, with no change in noise. Got OEM bearings and replaced but the whine continues. the noise is quite irritating. Got an alternator off a scrapped car and that one whines too. fml! The noise is much lower than my alternator though. so currently running with it till the mech is able to fix mine.

Overall, car is running just fine. no breakdowns or complaints, except the alternator.
lucifer919 is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 29th October 2016, 20:45   #109

Are you sure the whine is coming from the alternator? It could be a different source such as the water pump or the power steering pump. Alternatively, if the alternator is definitely the culprit, try to have it bench tested and dynamically balanced. It's possible that in the process of replacing the bearings, the shaft and or the bearing housing was bent slightly.

Congratulations on your beautifully restored Palio! It makes me very happy to see so much hard work and passion going into a restoration.
Motard_Blr is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 31st October 2016, 14:08   #110

Originally Posted by Motard_Blr View Post
Are you sure the whine is coming from the alternator? It could be a different source such as the water pump or the power steering pump. Alternatively, if the alternator is definitely the culprit, try to have it bench tested and dynamically balanced. It's possible that in the process of replacing the bearings, the shaft and or the bearing housing was bent slightly.

Congratulations on your beautifully restored Palio! It makes me very happy to see so much hard work and passion going into a restoration.
We know its the alternator because when we disconnect the aux belts, which go to the water pump and power steering pump, the noise still exists. This would eliminate the other pumps on the car.

I do agree and did suspect myself, that the rotor seems to be the culprit here and not the bearings itself. Do you know where in Blr we can get the rotor balanced?
Old 31st October 2016, 15:14   #111

Originally Posted by lucifer919 View Post

Do you know where in Blr we can get the rotor balanced?
I know that there are a few companies in Peenya industrial area that are specialised in rotor dynamic balancing. I will find out and let you know once I'm able to get touch with a friend who has some knowledge in quality inspections.
Old 1st November 2016, 08:37   #112

Hi Lucifer 919.

Try this place below. They do rotor balancing.

Giliyal Industries

Plot No-3, 5th Cross, 1st Stage, Peenya Industrial Estate, Peenya Industrial Estate, Bengaluru, Karnataka 560058
080 2837 2001

https://g.co/kgs/xUrPNl
Old 12th September 2017, 00:59   #113

Hey All, for anyone following this thread, the car is now for sale. Ad posted in the classified section if you would like to take a look.
Old 20th September 2018, 03:15   #114

Hi there Lucifer your ride is smashing. I hope you are still driving it.

I have a S10 as well , though it is in very bad condition. I am inspired to get it restored.

Where do u suggest I get all the parts from.what parts would be difficult to source and what alternatives do I have for those

I would appreciate if anyone can guide me to a specialist for this vehicle in Hyderabad
Old 20th September 2018, 11:38   #115

Originally Posted by gt_mustang View Post
I have a S10 as well , though it is in very bad condition. I am inspired to get it restored.

Where do u suggest I get all the parts from.what parts would be difficult to source and what alternatives do I have for those

I would appreciate if anyone can guide me to a specialist for this vehicle in Hyderabad
A bhpian in Hyderabad who owns a Fiat and that too S10 and doesn't know hillram? I hope you are joking! Please repent for committing a cardinal sin

Take his help - I am sure he will give correct guidance.

Also, if I remember right, there are atleast two threads of Palio restorations by Hyderabadians - one of them should be a 1.6 GTX of Ravveendrra

Please do take some time and search for the threads on Fiat restoration - you'll definitely get good inputs.

For genuine parts, try 99rpm - most of the requirements are available with them.

Originally Posted by lucifer919 View Post
Hey All, for anyone following this thread, the car is now for sale
Is the car sold?
Old 20th September 2018, 12:42   #116

Originally Posted by vrprabhu View Post
A bhpian in Hyderabad who owns a Fiat and that too S10 and doesn't know hillram? I hope you are joking! Please repent for committing a cardinal sin

Take his help - I am sure he will give correct guidance.

Also, if I remember right, there are atleast two threads of Palio restorations by Hyderabadians - one of them should be a 1.6 GTX of Ravveendrra

Please do take some time and search for the threads on Fiat restoration - you'll definitely get good inputs.

For genuine parts, try 99rpm - most of the requirements are available with them.

Is the car sold?
My humble apologies
now that you mention it i do remember Hillrams name

its just that i have been out of india for a very long time now and not in touch with the forum. i just restored my 2004 karizma and caught the restoration bug. everytime i come to india i have to rent a car. i must have spent a lakh till now in rentals.

so i think i will restore this beauty.
thank you for your suggestions. time to contact the experts
gt_mustang is offline   (1) Thanks