Team-BHP > Technical Stuff
Register New Topics New Posts Top Thanked Team-BHP FAQ

Search this Thread
Old 27th September 2013, 20:35   #1
BHPian

Fiat Palio S10 - Now, Restoration Complete!

Disclaimer 1: This is going to be a long drawn write-up without many pictures to begin with. Those with short attention spans may want to ignore.
Disclaimer 2: This is my first attempt at trying to write a prologue to a story and from the proof reading, I'm no good at it. But still, here goes.....

Mine is the story of another FIAT fanatic. The story starts around the year 2002 when i was just finishing school and dad was in the market for a new car.
We toured many showrooms, and what was bought is a story for a different time, but during one such visit, i laid eyes on the car that i wanted to own, come what may.
The Italian had spun the magic wand and entranced me!

Circa 2008, college was done and dusted, for better or for worse, not sure yet. Started working and when i knew i had found a stable position in the corporate food chain, decided to buy my first car.
Toured the then Tata-Fiat showrooms and was disappointed by the news that the old look Palios are no longer available and they only have the Stile version.
Test drove one and fell in love all over again. Irrespective of what the exteriors were like, not too different from the original design philosophy (in my opinion), the interiors brought back memories. The surge of power when you step on the throttle was addictive.
Made a booking right then and there and had the car delivered in less than 2 weeks. This was the beginning of a new relationship - a lifelong one i presume.

After i bought the 1.6 Stile, friends wanted rides/ drives and all sorts of chances to get their mitts on my 'ride'. 4 others ended up buying a Palio in one form or another. One was a Stile Diesel (1.3MJD), 2 of them were the famed 'S10' and another 1.6 Stile.