Team-BHP - gear and rpm's
Team-BHP

Team-BHP (https://www.team-bhp.com/forum/)
-   Technical Stuff (https://www.team-bhp.com/forum/technical-stuff/)
-   -   gear and rpm's (https://www.team-bhp.com/forum/technical-stuff/14279-gear-rpms.html)

Hi, I have been driving a manual for only 4 months (the Fiat 1.6Petra). I was told that driving in 5th gear will give me the best FE. I have observed that when i drive in the 4th gear my tacho reads 25rpms at speeds of 80-100. If I put it into the 5th gear, the rpm's go up to 30 and their is more noise. Am I not getting into the 5th gear or what i don';t understand, I thought at the 5th gear I should get lower rpms at higher speeds. Can anyone explain htis to me. Also, I mostly avoid driving in the 5th gear, beacuse I still not comfortable shifting down gears due to traffic conditions.

Do you notice a sudden jerk which slows down the car for a brief moment while shifting from 4th to 5th?

You must be going into third instead of 5th.

quite likely,
In petra, the throw to the left while shifting to 5th is pretty large

Quote:

Originally Posted by 1100D
Do you notice a sudden jerk which slows down the car for a brief moment while shifting from 4th to 5th?

You must be going into third instead of 5th.

No I don't notice a sudden jerk, yes I thought I might be getting into the 3rd, but usually from the 4th to the 3rd is pretty staright, whereas, I try and shift the gear to the right and then upward for the 5th. Anyway maybe I will try it a couple more times, as it si I am happy that with AC the petra is still giving me 10KMS/L driving mostly in the 4th on the highway and in the 3rd on the streets.

NO offense but do you know how to shift into 5th gear in the petra.cos you need to lift the ring around the gear to shift into 5th.if you dont lift it and still move it to slot into 5th,it might seem that its gone into 5th but actually it slots into the third gear.

Quote:

Originally Posted by hellspawn