Old 30th August 2006, 09:11   #1

Hi autotechgurus,

Am looking for help on this urgently...

The driver side power window of my OHC VTEC was not working for a week. I'm in Navi Mumbai and had taken the car to Hallmark Honda.

What they did to mess up my day will be another thread

Meanwhile, someone please guide me to replace the winder motor of the power window...

1) I have to find what is stock OEM - found now..... Denso from Korea,... I have ready (but limited) access to this part and can get it delivered at my door step.

2) Have to find if it is the channel mounted spline version or the cable driven power window - someone pls help - (I will have to wait until weekend to get freetime for the work)

3) I find opening the door panel a bit tricky. I have worked on the Premier NE door panel, but this is totally different, neither do I want any broken click locks or the leather panel spoiled. - Pls help

Any guidance will be appreciated.

Anto

P.S.: I'm a DIY guy, and know a metric from the SIs. No worries.

Last edited by gbpscars : 30th August 2006 at 09:14.
Old 31st August 2006, 17:48   #2

I have the complete service manual of Honda Civic. Both City and Civic are quite similar as to how to remove the door panel. Let me get my hands on it and will post the section.
Old 1st September 2006, 10:44   #3

I tried inserting the attachment here but may be forum does not have this option. Anyways following is the link to the file. Download, unzip and enjoy. In case you need anyother help, do let me know

http://rapidshare.de/files/31512200/PowerWindow.rar
Old 1st September 2006, 13:08   #4

bkahive, thanks a lot.

i cant download that through my office line.
will get home and check it out.
got some greasy hands this weekend.

thanks for your response, mate.
Old 4th September 2006, 15:53   #5

This was not done yet. Change in plans, office work on a Saturday, whole day gone, Sunday was too short in time to start this work. It is hard to maintain a family and car together in equal fervour :( Probably next week.

Until then, I pay at the toll gate through my rear window, just to amuse those guys
Old 5th October 2006, 19:38   #6

a very late update on this thread,... I did find some free-day to work on this,... and, my power window is working fine now.

thanks to bkahive and few other manuals and pictures on the net.

In case any of the DIY guys are interested,...most of the OHC's door panel decor is fixed up using the typical click-on locks and have to be pried open after the 2-3 screws on the control panel are removed.

be very careful with the soft skin like weather cover, the one with a gooey adhesive on it. it lives to its name.

once this is peeled off, you will see the bolts/nuts holding the spline or sector arm, the motor and the control panel switch.

i removed all of them and the glass too. i could see that i had two problems
- the motor was stuck
- a small white fibre-glass bracket that held the glass to the spline and lifter was broken

the motor had to be seperated from the lifter assembly. done.

as i had played around with motors enough (thanks to my dad), i started off with setting that right. stripped the motor to the armature and commutator, cleaned it with soft emery sheet (taking care not to crack a winding)

after a careful and good clean-up, re-assembled the motor, and tested with a 12V high amp car battery eliminator,... lo!!! it was alive.

good riddance to the 9k quote of Honda or a half-price quote of my street corner mechanic,.."Honda gaadi ka,... mehenga padega..." said he when I went to him with this issue.

some good lubrication. it was back to its work on the lifter as it was born.

then for the fibre-glass bracket,.. I measured and designed the same and had a metal fabricator chap near my place get it done for me.

all fit in place, there i move in luxury again,.. paying toll through my window
Old 6th October 2006, 09:53   #7

@gbpscars vbmenu_register("postmenu_305101", true);

You are welcome. Great to know it's working now. A 9K job costing you nothing, great going man. Could you kindly elaborate this DIY more such as with help of any pics that you may have.

I am more interested to know the opening and cleaning of motor. Left window of OHC is also a bit slow, may be it also needs similar treatment
Old 6th October 2006, 16:02   #8

i would love to try this sometime. how much did the motor cost you ?
Old 6th October 2006, 18:10   #9

Actually the rates of labour in US/UK, etc. being sky high, there are lots of DIY guides on the 'net for all who are interested in actually saving money. In Indian context, I would rather stand and see it done by my local mechanic than doing it myself (yup, do not trust self). I am quite sure gbpscars would have been able to get the motor re-wound, if necessary.
Old 6th October 2006, 21:57   #10

Originally Posted by sandeep108
In Indian context, I would rather stand and see it done by my local mechanic than doing it myself (yup, do not trust self).
True sometimes , especially if it is something that one does not know about, as my stitched up left hand says.
I'm grounded for a week now due to a misadventure with opening a glass door at home.
Typing with one hand...

Originally Posted by esteem_lover
i would love to try this sometime. how much did the motor cost you ?
esteem_lover, I did not buy the motor at all. the OEM was alive but had got stuck due to weathering. the quotation from Honda says Rs. 9314/- inclusive of labour.
but said, they will replace the whole unit,... the motor (from Denso, Korea), the spline arm, and the lifter assembly

Originally Posted by bkahive
I am more interested to know the opening and cleaning of motor. Left window of OHC is also a bit slow, may be it also needs similar treatment
will try to get some snaps after my hand gets fine. i just had a freak accident at home.
meanwhile,...a motor being slow can be
- low current at that point, possible due to corrosion or improper earthing
- plain friction, again due to corrosion, set this right by appropriate application of grease to all mobile parts in the assembly.
- the glass slider frame (top part of the door) has a bend or constriction due to an accident, crash (small or big)
- lastly,... the motor winding may have got weak. this is a stupid explanation in electrical parlance, as it rarely happens, but possible.

Last edited by gbpscars : 6th October 2006 at 22:00.
Old 10th January 2007, 00:15   #11

Originally Posted by gbpscars View Post
a very late update on this thread,... I did find some free-day to work on this,... and, my power window is working fine now.
all fit in place, there i move in luxury again,.. paying toll through my window

I am facing the same problem, I had taken my OHC 1.3 T1 to Ichibaan in Chembur and they told me it will cost me 13K!! I am a little stumped and would like to know how I can set this right myself. I will appreciate any help you can provide.

Banny
Old 10th January 2007, 10:21   #12

Originally Posted by banny View Post

I am facing the same problem, I had taken my OHC 1.3 T1 to Ichibaan in Chembur and they told me it will cost me 13K!! I am a little stumped and would like to know how I can set this right myself. I will appreciate any help you can provide.

Banny
If you had read through the thread, the details are posted. I suggest you find a decent local mechanic, specialised in electrical repair (alternator, etc.) and tell him to try and fix it on the lines suggested by other posters. If he can, it will be a fraction of the cost. If not, entire replacement option is always there.
Old 10th July 2008, 22:17   #13

Lovely thread gbpscars.

my NHC left rear power window stopped working (after @58,000KM of running).
Deccan Honda did some trial and error and figured out that the mater power window switch panel (on the driver side, which has all the 4 switches) was the culprit. They replaced it and showed that it solved the problem.

The cost was @Rs.4600!

I persistantly asked them why they can not repair it as only one of the 4 switches (for the left rear window) had problem (according to them, there was some short in the switch that was consistently blowing the fuse!)...

The answer was - this part can not be repaired.

I have retained the old part just with the hope that with the help of some expert on TBHP or some mechanic/electronic engineer, I will be able to confirm what's wrong...

Can someone help?

BTW, the NHC master power window switch is directly imported from Thailand...I wonder why no localization!
Old 10th July 2008, 23:09   #14

Originally Posted by anandpadhye View Post
I persistantly asked them why they can not repair it as only one of the 4 switches (for the left rear window) had problem (according to them, there was some short in the switch that was consistently blowing the fuse!)...

BTW, the NHC master power window switch is directly imported from Thailand...I wonder why no localization!
If they localize the manufacture of that switch, can they justify the price. Same goes for repairing. They're out to fleece you, which is why the high import content and the refusal to repair.

Man, with all the horror stories about honda, one really has to wonder abt buying their products....
Old 11th July 2008, 16:36   #15

Originally Posted by anandpadhye View Post

The cost was @Rs.4600!

The answer was - this part can not be repaired.
Honda, Toyota, Mercedes etc. have a strict policy of replacing parts. They hardly ever repair. This does make them extra $$$....Yes. But it also ensures longer reliability and lesser time / hassle on repairing parts.

You could surely get it repaired outside though.