Team-BHP - How do ABS work?!!

-   Technical Stuff (https://www.team-bhp.com/forum/technical-stuff/)
-   -   How do ABS work?!! (https://www.team-bhp.com/forum/technical-stuff/18542-how-do-abs-work.html)

Guys, I came across an article which says that the ABS will get disturbed when we upsize or downsize tyres. It says that the tyre size is one of the main parameter in designing ABS of car. It clearly says that the ultimate performance of ABS will get tampered when upsized. Now the concern is that many of us have upsized the tyres of cars with ABS!! Is this a foolishness which everyone should be aware of?!!

Well to the best of my knowledge ABS has nothing to do with tire size.

ABS is discussed in detail on numerous threads. If you came across such an article please quote the source, else discussing this is pretty futile.

Originally Posted by manveet
Well to the best of my knowledge ABS has nothing to do with tire size.

ABS is discussed in detail on numerous threads. If you came across such an article please quote the source, else discussing this is pretty futile.

OK! The article I reffered here appeared in Overdrive's Oct 2006 issue. See the last one in "HELP DESK - Your problems solved". The 'titled' query is answered by one of the top and renowned automobile expert Mr. Tutu Dhawan!!! This is what made me start a thread to clear the doubt.
What say?!!:confused:

Originally Posted by nikkibike
Guys, I came across an article which says that the ABS will get disturbed when we upsize or downsize tyres. It says that the tyre size is one of the main parameter in designing ABS of car. It clearly says that the ultimate performance of ABS will get tampered when upsized. Now the concern is that many of us have upsized the tyres of cars with ABS!! Is this a foolishness which everyone should be aware of?!!

The European Association of Automotive Suppliers and the International Organization of Motorvehicle Manufacturers mandate that a given ABS work for tyre sizes varying upto +- 25% from normal size, without recaliberation.

http://209.85.129.104/search?q=cache...n&ct=clnk&cd=1

Originally Posted by theMAG
The European Association of Automotive Suppliers and the International Organization of Motorvehicle Manufacturers mandate that a given ABS work for tyre sizes varying upto +- 25% from normal size, without recaliberation.

http://209.85.129.104/search?q=cache...n&ct=clnk&cd=1

g8888 info!! Thanks theMAG!

The 'titled' query is answered by one of the top and renowned automobile expert Mr. Tutu Dhawan!!!

:OT
Tutu Dhawan!!! Expert!!! :Shockked:??????????????
Man this guy is all hype and no substance... I know he has done something worthwhile with the vintages, but this guy doesnt even know what he is advising people... Anyone who has ever seen the "chalti ka naam gaadi" program on hindi CNBC will surely agree...
Just one of his advices... "Any and i mean ANNNYYY new car/bike is better than any other existing model (same or different make) COZ it has new TECHNOLOGY... Now what he means by this " new technology" is never explained.. As for mileage figures he says "Company ka dawa ki yeh 50 se 55 tak ki average nikalti hai".. Arrey bhaiya if have not tested them, then why go on saying something you arent even sure of... Company to kuch bhi "dawa" karti hai!!!
As for helping out people with selecting cars/bikes, he gives them the entire ex-showroom price range of the respective models, the "dawa" figures and says drive them and select!! Now one may ask that what new knowledge has he added?? All this info is on the car manufacturer's website...
For more gyaan tune into CNBC hindi on sunday 9.30 pm!!!!

My sentiments exactly!

Originally Posted by ess_a

Originally Posted by Pankaj401
My sentiments exactly!

I would like to second that about Tutu. He sure as hell is no Expert.

OK! The article I reffered here appeared in Overdrive's Oct 2006 issue. See the last one in "HELP DESK - Your problems solved". The 'titled' query is answered by one of the top and renowned automobile expert Mr. Tutu Dhawan!!! This is what made me start a thread to clear the doubt.
What say?!!:confused:

You actually believe what the magazine says.:Shockked: and that too that Tutu Dhawan is an expert on ABS rl:

Viper

I believe that there Overall diameter(OD) difference should not be very different from the OE for the ABS to work efficiently. :)

thanks guys atleast il stop watchin that show now....:)