Old 3rd October 2017, 21:39   #16

Re: ECU Remaps : About Tools, Software & Tuners!

I've always wanted to remap my car, but my biggest worry has always been insurance ! Do they check for mods in case of a serious claim or is it possible to doge the bullet?
giri1.8 is online now   (1) Thanks
Old 3rd October 2017, 22:09   #17

Originally Posted by giri1.8 View Post
I've always wanted to remap my car, but my biggest worry has always been insurance ! Do they check for mods in case of a serious claim or is it possible to doge the bullet?
I have seen many owners in Europe who inform their insurance company post remap. There is no such thing in India yet. We have to worry only about warranty and nowadays service centre guys are also getting aware of remaps. It is very easy to detect remap if they are looking for it in particular.
Dr.Naren is online now   (4) Thanks
Old 4th October 2017, 08:22   #18

Informative thread there, Naren.

I will most probably be going this route post 10k kms on my Aspire Sports.
I will be getting the EGR blanking plate this month and will probably do it all together.
On a recent drive I was surprised that the top end never went above a certain speed since the revs at 5th gear was just above 4k rpms. Not that I am driving at those speeds all the time, but I did expect a higher top end.

Now that I am used to the feel and power of the car, I would want a bit more to keep it enjoyable.
tharian is online now   (1) Thanks
Old 4th October 2017, 09:18   #19

Originally Posted by tharian View Post
On a recent drive I was surprised that the top end never went above a certain speed since the revs at 5th gear was just above 4k rpms.
The top speed of the car could be increased post remap if there is a single value speed limiter. Anyways 4000 RPM at 5 th gear is normal for diesel cars.

Now that I am used to the feel and power of the car, I would want a bit more to keep it enjoyable.
There was some slight changes in the ECU of Figo / Aspire compared to Ecosport. CMD has cracked the protocol few months back and it's fully OBD flash now. Only few tuners have multiple tools in India to support many cars. GT Tunerz Delhi (Quantum remap), Code 6, Wolf and Kiirus have CMD tool too.

Last edited by Dr.Naren : 4th October 2017 at 09:24.
Dr.Naren is online now   (2) Thanks
Old 4th October 2017, 21:53   #20

Thanks for sharing the insights on tuning tools.

I have a question. I have a Hyundai Elite i20, petrol. That engine is sluggish on highways, period. Now I have seen so many threads on tuning and mostly they are on diesel engines or already powerful petrol engines. Never come across any experiment made on NA 1.2 petrol liter engines.
Is it not fruitful to tune/remap an NA engine and a turbo is a must? I have no technical background, so many may find this question quite noob.
If it is fruitful, how much of a gain can be realistically expected?
Old 4th October 2017, 22:00   #21

Originally Posted by vinit.merchant View Post
Is it not fruitful to tune/remap an NA engine and a turbo is a must? I have no technical background, so many may find this question quite noob.
If it is fruitful, how much of a gain can be realistically expected?
NA cars are hardly remapped because of very less gains. The gains in turbo cars with remap would be around 20-25 percent most of the times while in NA cars it would be less than 10 percent. Due to very minimal gains, most of the drivers won't feel any difference and remaps for NA cars are not popular.
Dr.Naren is online now   (3) Thanks
Old 4th October 2017, 23:34   #22

Dr Naren, how are these maps say from wolf, implemented into the car? I presume that this is a hardware that piggybacks on the ECU.

How easy or difficult is it for the authorised service centre to detect that a car has been remapped?
Old 4th October 2017, 23:41   #23

Thank you for the information doc. But I'm still of the opinion that if you want it fast, get it from the factory. Or get a Volvo/Fiat and Polestar/Abarth it. For the higher level, you can get the AMGs. But factory spec is the best - it's an optimum compromise between performance and reliability. Agree that most of the factory-spec cars might be conservatively tuned and may even have more potential to unlock. But unless you are running a car to win races/drag events, or it is a project car, it makes a very tough case for remaps. Further, the more I hear about remaps, and user's experiences, the more I run away from any thoughts of a remap.

And then there's the question of legality. Forget warranty, but incase of an unfortunate incident, the insurance guys could turn down the claim causing a lot of financial burden on the owner. I know that this is a very far fetched scenario, but the remap frankly is not worth the trouble. These days, you can hire a powerful car in India for sometime. Best to hire such a self-drive car occasionally than remapping your own car.
blackwasp is offline   (9) Thanks
Old 5th October 2017, 00:06   #24

Originally Posted by govigov View Post
Dr Naren, how are these maps say from wolf, implemented into the car? I presume that this is a hardware that piggybacks on the ECU.
There is no additional hardware installed in your car. The tuner basically gets access to the ECU through OBD port or bench (opening ECU) using the tools which I have listed in the first post. Wolf Moto is equipped with both Alientech and CMD master tools. He uses WinOls software to edit the stock map. The tuner will make changes in the stock file and flash it back to the ECU. So there is no additional hardware running in your car post remap.

How easy or difficult is it for the authorised service centre to detect that a car has been remapped?
It is very easy for them to detect remaps. Most of the tuners do claim that it's not detectable and all.. That's just marketing!!

But most of the service guys are not aware of this and they don't know how to look for it. Their routine diagnostic scans won't show any error codes. But if they log IQ, boost, rail pressure etc or send the ECU log snapshot to factory.. Remap would be detected for sure.

Originally Posted by blackwasp View Post
But factory spec is the best - it's an optimum compromise between performance and reliability.
No doubt about it. Manufacturers invest in crores and test the cars for lakhs of kms. No tuner in this world can invest so much, not even 1 percent of what a manufacturer does.

But unless you are running a car to win races/drag events, or it is a project car, it makes a very tough case for remaps
Not really. It depends on the car. I know at least 15 S-Cross owners who have got their cars remapped by Wolf Moto just for better low end and drivability.

Last edited by Dr.Naren : 5th October 2017 at 00:14.
Dr.Naren is online now   (5) Thanks
Old 5th October 2017, 09:57   #25

Originally Posted by Dr.Naren View Post
I have seen many owners in Europe who inform their insurance company post remap. There is no such thing in India yet. We have to worry only about warranty and nowadays service centre guys are also getting aware of remaps. It is very easy to detect remap if they are looking for it in particular.
Not sure why you would have to inform in insurance company?

If you take your car with an ECR rempa to a mainstream dealer in Europe, you might have a bigger problem: They simply won’t touch the car. And they will spot it immediately as the first thing they do these days is to plug a car onto their analyser. Companies like Volvo, Mercedes, Audi, BMW, VW will offer you to reset the ECU to original spec, at a substantial cost, before they will service your car.

Even if the job at hand has nothing to do with the ECU, they still won’t touch it until you have paid them to restore the ECU first.

Jeroen

Jeroen
Jeroen is online now   (3) Thanks
Old 5th October 2017, 11:05   #26

Originally Posted by Jeroen View Post
Not sure why you would have to inform in insurance company?
This is what one of the famous tuning firm in UK mentioned in their website :
At Superchips we tell everyone who is interested in an ECU Remap that they must inform their car insurance company. This is because ECU remapping affects your car’s performance. Which is why you buy one, of course!

You should inform your insurer of modifications to your car’s performance. Premiums may remain unchanged by using our specialist partners, Adrian Flux, 0800 587 2943 – www.adrianflux.co.uk, who understand the benefits a Superchip brings.
http://www.superchips.co.uk/s/insurance
Dr.Naren is online now   (2) Thanks
Old 8th October 2017, 12:36   #27

Originally Posted by Dr.Naren View Post
This is what one of the famous tuning firm in UK mentioned in their website :

http://www.superchips.co.uk/s/insurance
This is hilarious, marketing insurance too, along the way.

Great thread naren
headers is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 8th October 2017, 12:59   #28

I’ve a VW Ameo Diesel DSG and was in talks with a few remappers but no one was confident on remapping a DSG gearbox. Can some light be thrown on this specific topic?
Old 8th October 2017, 13:33   #29

Originally Posted by hikersoul View Post
I’ve a VW Ameo Diesel DSG and was in talks with a few remappers but no one was confident on remapping a DSG gearbox. Can some light be thrown on this specific topic?
A new car with a GB that boasts of unreliability. Add VW support to that and no tuner wants to experiment.

Infact, I think the Ameo is a product exclusive for india having an amalgam from the VW parts bin that makes the job of our tuners difficult to explain to their priniciples and get an effective remap!!
headers is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 9th October 2017, 14:19   #30

Any suggestions for mapping the ECU of Crete 1.6 diesel and where it can be done in Mumbai and is it worth it.