Team-BHP > Technical Stuff

Search this Thread
Old 27th December 2006, 09:12   #1
BHPian

Indica V2 DLS - Coolant loss

Hi Auto Gurus,

I am a newbie to TBHP and am already in love with it. I'm just back from my overseas assignment. I've been following various forums and threads regularly now. I've searched all the forums/threads before posting this one. Pardon me if i have missed something.

I need your help on this one...

My Indica (V2 DLS 2003 model) has started showing signs of aging! 3 months back we faced a peculiar problem. After few long trips (Mumbai-Pune couple of times), the coolant level went down. To the extent that i had to top it up with 1-1.5 lit. of water. I could also see the engine heating a little bit with the temp. gauge going beyond 75%, just short of danger mark. We checked everything from the Fan to any leakages in cooling system, but nothing. There were no "visible" signs of leakages (like no leakages seen under the car, after accelerating).

I stay in Chembur, so i went to Wasan. As per me Wasan is worst when it comes to servicing, with their "I dont care" attitude (atleast for the Tata section..no idea about Ford). Wasan gave me appointment which was like 1 year later! Since the problem was acute, i went to Fortune, Nerul. Fortune guys are nice and they really care. They checked everything and found that the coolant pump (or some pump in the cooling system) was leaking slightly. So they replaced it with a new one and checked the pressure in the cooling system. There was no pressure loss. After that there was not much of a problem (may be because we did not do any long trips). My dad again went for a long trip last month....and the problem re-appeared.

I have absolutely no idea what is causing this problem! Is it engine overheating or something? Or the coolant is happy to just disappear in thin air! I am going to Fortune again today...