Old 8th July 2007, 16:00   #16

ECU is the way forward mate....it's a boon! There's only one problem that i see in a ECU vehicle. DIY types with low resources and uneducated garage mechs cant fiddle around with the ECU to make it go faster like they can do in a carb car. And i've heard that turbocharging an injected car is easier and more reliable than carb car.

Disadvantage... well maybe in future the cops can disable your car with an EMP gun like you see in F&F2
Old 8th July 2007, 17:45   #17

Originally Posted by abhibh View Post
Carb Esteem - 65 PS and 14 kMPL = lot of vibrations on cold start in winters
ECU / MPFi Esteem - 87 PS and 14 KMPL = remains the same all round the year

What say ???
ECU is a really a good thing

its helps in cold start and i think makes the FE figures go up

but bro a esteem carb gives no more than 11 -12 and the mpfi gives morethan 18 at times on highway

and the mpfi esteem gives around 85bhp and not 87

87 bhp is produced by the same engine under the hood of a swift after some modification
Old 8th July 2007, 21:19   #18

Originally Posted by manikjeet View Post
and the mpfi esteem gives around 85bhp and not 87
87 bhp is produced by the same engine under the hood of a swift after some modification
Manik Beta!!! maine PS likha hai.. BHP nahin...
Old 8th July 2007, 21:51   #19

I dont know whether this is a right place to ask this question. Can ECU be tuned to not allow a car to go faster than say 3500 rpm? Today when I was driving throught Express way (Mum Pune) full throttle was not going beyond 3500 rpm. My Swift has done 2600 km. Only 1st service done. Is it possible that they will raise the limit in 2nd service?
Old 9th July 2007, 16:29   #20

ECUs can be used to limit the rev. But not sure how exactly the amount is set in specific cars.
I feel that ECU is a good thing, but they still have someway to go to become 100% reliable.
I'd like to see following features in future ECUs (some expensive cars have them already)
Showing actual messages instead of just a warning light.
USB compatible plug and play
Allowing user to modify some parameters on their computers - but limiting them to go completely bonkers.
In a nutshell I want to ECU to be in that level what you get when you buy a PDA/mobile phones/Digicam - a standard software for tweking inside computer.
Old 9th July 2007, 17:34   #21

How does ECU monitor fuel quality in run-time?

Can anyone please explain?
Old 9th July 2007, 17:43   #22

Originally Posted by bill1182 View Post
I dont know whether this is a right place to ask this question. Can ECU be tuned to not allow a car to go faster than say 3500 rpm? Today when I was driving throught Express way (Mum Pune) full throttle was not going beyond 3500 rpm. My Swift has done 2600 km. Only 1st service done. Is it possible that they will raise the limit in 2nd service?
Bill, if your car is not going over 3500 then I am sure your ECU has gone into LIMP MODE. Kindly do get it checked immediately. There is some problem with your car for sure.
Old 9th July 2007, 18:07   #23

Originally Posted by bill1182 View Post

Do you mean to say it was not going beyond 3500rpm even in 2nd gear? In that case, there's something wrong with your car. Have it checked! If you were trying it in 5th gear, then all you need to do is rev it up a bit more in 4th and then shift to 5th.
Old 9th July 2007, 18:28   #24

limp mode will give ecu light also right? i think this is case of trying to accelerate in 5th gear.

@ bill: find a open space/road, slot the car to 1st and slowly release clutch and then slowly accelerate and see if the revs climb, no harm if you do it slowly and revs should climb to 6000 rpm without any issues.

To check if revs go above 3.5k this is enough, again be careful so that you dont loose control of the vehicle.
Old 13th July 2007, 13:53   #25

Thanks for the infor Jaggu. I tried doing that and "Yes" the rev climbs above 3.5k i could do it till 4.5k.