(
https://www.team-bhp.com/forum/)
My Tata Altroz DCA got flooded in the recent chennai floods. The water level was around 30 inches (2.5 feet), the next day I could see water inside the glove compartment and center gear console.
Insurance surveryor initial survey asked the vehicle to be repaired (was suprising since this was level C and should have been a total loss)
After a lot of hassle got a private tow and spending 5k to drop at Tata workshop,
the front wheel seems to be locked due to gear (not due to brake), trying to move the vehicle the front wheel was moving like a couple of inches and was stopping causing slight shake the engine, is related to gear / transmission ?
What are the parts that might have been damaged (Transmission ? + electronics module like ABS, Airbag etc) which I need to insist on replacing to ensure reliability.
I would be extremely grateful if someone can guide in this.
Thank you.
Originally Posted by nemodotme
(Post 5680925)
What are the parts that might have been damaged (Transmission ? + electronics module like ABS, Airbag etc) which I need to insist on replacing to ensure reliability.
I would be extremely grateful if someone can guide in this. |
Looking at the level of the water, it would be safe to say that the water level was sufficient to flood the transmission and a good portion of the engine bay.
Ask the ASC to include in their estimate:
- A new engine and transmission assembly (the surveyor will ask for the oil to be drained in front of him to confirm entry of water).
- All the electronic modules (ECU, ABS, interiors, entertainment, etc.)
- Brake calipers
- Wire harnesses
- Starter / Alternator
- Fuel pump / actuators
- Entertainment system - Speakers, things like that
- Air Conditioning
- Air bags (if the water level was that high)
- All the switches and other things that may have been affected
- Seats (the insurance company won't agree to this - they will ask the ASC to clean them)
Basically get everything possible added onto the estimate. Anything that the insurance company asks you to repair instead of replace ask the ASC to give a written guarantee that it can be repaired and will be in warranty. If they can't do that for any part ask them to tell the surveyor that the brand cannot repair that part.
Depending on the surveyor there may be a few rounds of these discussions before the vehicle is declared a total loss.
(Post 5680925)
the front wheel seems to be locked due to gear (not due to brake), trying to move the vehicle the front wheel was moving like a couple of inches and was stopping causing slight shake the engine, is related to gear / transmission ?
I would be extremely grateful if someone can guide in this.
Thank you. |
Please do not attempt to move the car or crank or push start any flood damaged cars as it will get hydrolocked which seems to be your case.
This would cause severe damage to the engine especially the connecting rod.
Based on your report, the car seems to have suffered extensive water damage and would be better to scrap it.
Please negotiate with the insurance company and the service center for this.
(Post 5680925)
My Tata Altroz DCA got flooded in the recent chennai floods. The water level was around 30 inches (2.5 feet), the next day I could see water inside the glove compartment and center gear console.
the front wheel seems to be locked due to gear (not due to brake), trying to move the vehicle the front wheel was moving like a couple of inches and was stopping causing slight shake the engine, is related to gear / transmission ? |
It seems so that you did not release the shift lock for the transmission. I am surprised that even the RSA person did not notice or know about this. Next time onwards, for any AT car that needs to be towed, do always follow this process so as to not risk damaging the transmission. I feel you should send a strong feedback to the people at Tata motors to better train their technicians about this. Anyways, attaching the instruction page from the Altroz' owners manual for manually releasing the shift lock.
|
To be honest, with a flood damaged vehicle it is tough to accurately assess the extent and intensity of damage. You will only truly get an idea once the car is opened up. Nasty surprises should be expected. That said, a basic idea of the works required can be found on many threads on this forum such as
this one.
What a nightmare dealing with Tata workshop (TATA PPS Chrompet) is, no one in the workshop knows where my car is, or when can I get a repair estimate. It is shocking that there is ONLY one person, the bodyshop manager who can give the repair estimate and neither I or the workshop can reach him.
It has been almost a week, and no resolution yet. What are my options ? Move up the escalation ladder? Tagging Tata Motors in twitter is as good as useless. I can't believe a company like Tata has no tracking ticket number or management system. Until then my car is just sitting in some yard, rotting in flood water. The workshop can't even confirm if they removed the seats and carpet.
Ordering groceries has better tracking system. Sigh!
Finally got the estimate from the Workshop, it took calling the TATA customer care number and selecting the complaint option. The good thing was that they did a conference call with the GM of the workshop and after that things moved quickly.
Once I get the repair estimate which was almost 11 lakhs, I sent it to insurance, they inturn only approved part of the repair estimate which comes 6.46L to ~ 71% of the IDV (9 Lakhs) hence not a total loss, to reply to the insurance survey report I will highly appreciate if I can get some technical help.
The flood water level was :-
The surveryor didn't aprove replacement the following :-
1) EMS Wiring Harness (Rs. 68,590)
2) Telematics ECU (Rs. 44,600)
3) Catalytic converter (Rs. 68,321)
4) Engine wiring Harness (Rs. 18,360)
In TATA (altroz) would the above parts be affected in a flood (till bottom part of dashboard) and require replacement ? All EMS Sensors + EMS ECU & DCU were approved to be replaced but EMS Wiring Harness and Engine wiring Harness was rejected. I am curious where Telematics ECU is located, is it above the dashboard ?
Frankly I would prefer a total constructive loss since a flooded vehicle will never be the same and it would a pain to sell 3-5 years down the line.
(Post 5686900)
Once I get the repair estimate which was almost 11 lakhs, I sent it to insurance, they inturn only approved part of the repair estimate which comes 6.46L to ~ 71% of the IDV (9 Lakhs) hence not a total loss, to reply to the insurance survey report I will highly appreciate if I can get some technical help. |
Get the 6.46Lacs cheque first.
Then ask the showroom/insurance surveyor to find a Pudupet accident cum scrap dealer. The Body shop manager will know a source 100%. Meet the scrap buyer, show him the car and talk in front of the GM and body shop manager, try to get 2.5-3 lacs for the car in as-is condition from the scrap dealer.
It is the best outcome for your car and your situation. You will face some losses, but write it off, and move on. Do not touch a flood-damage car, that too covered till bonnet level. You will face hell in future.
Finally got the insurance to declare it as total loss. Will get the full IDV of 9L. But feel so bad for my car, only 5K on the odometer.