Team-BHP > Technical Stuff
Register New Topics New Posts Top Thanked Team-BHP FAQ

Search this Thread
Old 7th November 2007, 15:32   #1

Palio ELX 1.2 - Need your help

Hello,

I am a newbie to the forum and also happens to owns a pre-owned Palio ELX 1.2.

Initially my palio 1.2 Elx did not start. The fuel injector icon used to glow continuously. On cranking the car further, the fuel injector icon would come on and then go off (behaves normally) but the car would not start.
It has clocked 59000 odd KMs.

One of the local mechs I called to have a look at my car said the coil needs to be changed, but later told me the problem lies elsewhere ie The mechanic found some of the wires gnawed by rats, which he taped up and then replaced a relay (that is what he told me), still the fuel injector icon was glowing after the car was cranked and running.

I then took the car to Balaji Motors and they told me initially that it was a problem with the wires but later on they have told me it is a problem with one of the sensors, which needs to be replaced.

The car is running fine but the injector icon lights up intermittently (when driven over potholed stretch of roads).

I again took it to a local mechanic to check up the car,

He checked the following;

1) for problem with the couplers
2) ECM
3) electrical wiring
4) fuel injectors

still the red light was not going off, then i asked him whether he can test an ECM of another car and see.

He tested the ECM of another car(Siena 1.2)and told me its the problem with the ECM, and the ECM should be changed.

On further tests with the ECM he found the ECM to be OK.

The problem was isolated and found to be in the electrical wiring near the front fender. The concerned wire was patched and the red injector light went OFF, what a relief, but the moment of joy was temporary.