Old 21st January 2008, 13:04   #61

Damn! My swift dosnt go into reverse gear eaisly. Usaually takes 4-5 tries to engage properly. REst all gears are smmoth. I guess this problem may be related to swift clutch issues discussed enourmously elsewhere.

Might be that the pressure plate is not disengageing the clutch fully making the gear shifts harder!

Old 21st January 2008, 13:20   #62

Reverse gear issue is a known thing with cars from Maruti stable. So nothing to worry about, Just reclutch until it falls in the slot. !!

Btw is BUSA's Swift a petrol or diesel one ?
Old 21st January 2008, 13:36   #63

Originally Posted by emkay456 View Post
Reverse gear issue is a known thing with cars from Maruti stable. So nothing to worry about, Just reclutch until it falls in the slot. !!

Btw is BUSA's Swift a petrol or diesel one ?
His is a VDI with ABS with Pete's with Greens.
Old 21st January 2008, 13:40   #64

Originally Posted by Eddy View Post
Any updates on this BUSA ? Has it been solved ?
Not yet, the car will be going for the change in first gear synchro this week, will update once i get it back.

His is a VDI with ABS with Pete's with Greens.
Soon your car will be similar, yours is a VDi ABS, hmmm cheers:
Old 21st January 2008, 13:41   #65

Why are ur synchros being eaten up and spit out by the engine?
Heavy downshifting,kya?
Old 21st January 2008, 13:58   #66

Originally Posted by nitrous View Post
Why are ur synchros being eaten up and spit out by the engine?
Heavy downshifting,kya?
Nahi, Nitrous Anna : The Boss, defective parts from Maruti, many cars manufactured in same time frame having the same problem
Old 27th January 2008, 05:11   #67

I am not facing this problem though I am facing a slight harshness in changing gears, it is smooth at some angles other times it gives a rought feel.
Old 27th January 2008, 13:32   #68

Originally Posted by BUSA View Post
Nahi, Nitrous Anna : The Boss, defective parts from Maruti, many cars manufactured in same time frame having the same problem
Is this confirmed news ? And what time period ?
Old 27th January 2008, 13:48   #69

Originally Posted by Eddy View Post
Is this confirmed news ? And what time period ?
Yup, confirmed by the dealer. Cars from the May batch are facing the issues.
Old 28th January 2008, 16:36   #70

[quote=emkay456;695598]Reverse gear issue is a known thing with cars from Maruti stable. So nothing to worry about, Just reclutch until it falls in the slot. !!

quote]

My Swift VDI also gives issues while putting reverse gear. Have to release the clutch and then put again. But what you say is a news for me! The mechanic told me the same during first service but i dismissed him thinking he is just avoiding the problem. But this is weird that such a problem can come up in a new car, and the fact that we have to live with it...even weirder!!!

Is it for sure nothing can be done about this, or someone has found a solution?
Old 28th January 2008, 20:51   #71

I have noticed that early morning when car is driven cold, gears are hard especially reverse and first.
Old 29th January 2008, 02:49   #72

Originally Posted by horsepower View Post
I have noticed that early morning when car is driven cold, gears are hard especially reverse and first.
That's because in our relatively cold temperature these days the gearbox oil temperature drops & the oil thickens which makes changing gears a little difficult. Once the oil is warmed up the problems should disappear though.
Old 4th February 2008, 21:29   #73

The car is in the workshop since ~ 5 days, the work is in progress. The engine is out, front bumper out. Work going on. Another Swift was there getting 3rd gear synchros replaced Now if i get a third gear problem, then the time it will be to book the Getz CRDi

Some pics of the WIP

Old 4th February 2008, 21:40   #74

Sorry to see this BUSA. Hope they can fix it properly this time.
Old 4th February 2008, 21:42   #75

BUSA > Are you looking for some excuse to book the Getz-D , brother?