Team-BHP - Questions on General Driving Styles
Team-BHP

Team-BHP (https://www.team-bhp.com/forum/)
-   Technical Stuff (https://www.team-bhp.com/forum/technical-stuff/)
-   -   Questions on General Driving Styles (https://www.team-bhp.com/forum/technical-stuff/34267-questions-general-driving-styles.html)

I recently bought a Corolla HE. I am not a pro and dont know much about cars. Sorry if am being stupid but just trying to learn...

Here are some questions on whats right and whats wrong and would love to get inputs from the pros here

1) I do not like to wait and warm up the engine. i.e idle the engine in the morning for few minutes. Is this good or bad for my car? If bad, what can be the consequence?

2) My friends tell me that my geat shifts are wrong or in their opinion a touch aggressive as compared to optimal driving conditions. In my Corolla I usually touch 2-2.5 rpm in every gear before ascending to the next. Is this good or bad for my car? If bad, what can be the consequence?

3) Sometime am too lazy to shift to 1st gear in heavy traffic and I stick to 2nd gear even while starting from zero.Is this good or bad for my car? If bad, what can be the consequence?

4) I press the clutch and change gears quickly (friends say i am not taking care of my new car and might damage the gear box) But i dont see a reason why do i have to hold the clutch for a second longer than it is necessary. Is this good or bad for my car? If bad, what can be the consequence?

5) On highways - I keep the cooling fans in constant speed always running but will turn on and off the air conditioner often. Like if it gets slightly chilly i turn of the a/c and turn it back on in say 15/20 mins. Say in a 100 km drive I might have turned on and off the a/c switch about 5 times. Is this good or bad for my car? If bad, what can be the consequence?