Team-BHP > Technical Stuff
Register New Topics New Posts Top Thanked Team-BHP FAQ

Search this Thread
Old 15th February 2008, 07:24   #1
BHPian

why are japanese/German engines better

Just curious.
I hear a lot of people say Japanese/German engines are better.
Even i myself take that japanese engines are better than the Koreans or Americans better.

I just would like to know why.
What is it that makes them better than the others.
FE -- Check
Long Lasting -- Check

But what is it that makes them better!!

Note : I am not an expert here, this is just out of curiosity and something that i would like to know.
Old 15th February 2008, 11:19   #2
Senior - BHPian

It's not just the engines but the rest of the car as well.

About a decade or so back, I had read an interview of Mr Ratan Tata in which Mr Tata cited a meeting that he had had with the head of a European car company (German I think). Mr Tata told the European that at the quality control checks, Tata Motors kept the error margin at 0.3 microns. The European responded by saying, "That's good." When Mr Tata asked him what was the error margin they maintained, the European said "0.03 microns."

In a much more recent interview, Mr Tata mentioned that while Indian car manufacturers still subject their new cars to the "shower test" to check for roof and glass/window leakages, the japanese manufacturers have given up the practice long back since their quality control is so strong that there is zero possibility of leakage and hence no need for the shower test.

So I think it's all about your ability to maintain quality which requires strong discipline, something in which the Germans and Japanese excel.
Old 15th February 2008, 11:39   #3
Senior - BHPian