Team-BHP > Technical Stuff
Register New Topics New Posts Top Thanked Team-BHP FAQ

Search this Thread
Old 16th March 2008, 19:56   #1
BHPian

Is this ECU learning affecting my FE ?

Gurus,

I have been driving a Petra for 3+ Yrs and have an interesting observation. For a good part of the 3 years I used to do early shift in city driving like shifting to 3rd at 28 KMPH, 4th around 40 KMPH 5th around 50 KMPH. Most of the time I used to get around 9.5+ to 11.5+ KMPL (more of it around 10 to 10.5 KMPL) in this driving style. Over the last couple of months I started shifting a bit late like: 35 KMPH to 3rd, 45-50 KMPH to 4th and around 60 KMPH to 5th. With this new style what I have observed is until half tank empty I am covering over 250 KMs which is like 11 KMPL. As I continue without refilling I see the final KMPL coming to around 9.5+, I am tightening vigil because of suspected pilferage. Do you think there can be a technical reason for this ?
Old 16th March 2008, 20:26   #2
Team-BHP Support

I think that the top half of the fuel meter is calibrated differently from the second half. In other words, from "F" to halfway the needle moves slowly compared from halfway to "E".
Old 16th March 2008, 23:03   #3
BANNED

Unlike the speedo- and odo- meters, the fuel indicator is just that - an indicator. It is NOT a meter. Never count mileage by position of the needle. If you want to check FE, use the topup-to-topup fuel consumption divided by distance as per the trip meter.
Old 16th March 2008, 23:46   #4
BHPian

Quote:
I think that the top half of the fuel meter is calibrated differently from the second half. In other words, from "F" to halfway the needle moves slowly compared from halfway to "E".
Eddy is correct. In Aveo also, I have noticed that the movement of the needle is not in linear correspondence with the petrol level. Beyond H(alf), it moves down slowly, then after some descend, it starts sinking real fast.
Old 17th March 2008, 00:14   #5
Team-BHP Support