Old 3rd June 2008, 15:41   #1

Door Lock Malfunction in Swift VXI

Today, My wifey had a first hand experience on swifts operation. She manually forced open the door when I was, at the same time, unlocking it from drivers side door panel. Purely a co-incidence. Touch luck. The door got stuck and I am not able to open it . What could you think might be the issue ? When I lock/unlock from drivers side option, I can see that the lever appears to be moving, but not in total !

Any idea where to get it rectified in BLR/Marathalli ? Thanks for your inputs.

Mods: Hope its in the relevant section, if not kindly move it to the relevant section please !
Old 3rd June 2008, 15:51   #2

Why dont you take it to the M.A.S.S. ?

Last edited by Technocrat : 3rd June 2008 at 15:53.
Old 3rd June 2008, 15:53   #3

Originally Posted by Technocrat View Post
Why do you take it to the M.A.S.S. ?
Thats a tough one.
lambuhere1 can you please tell us why do you take it to the M.A.S.S. ?

sorry, control nahi hua.
Old 3rd June 2008, 16:10   #4

Hehe I edited my post once I realized the mistake
Old 3rd June 2008, 16:14   #5

If this is the rear door could it somehow have triggered the child lock mechanism.
Why don't you try to toggle it a couple of times and see if it helps.

anyways, I guess a try to MASS will help you out.

Last edited by bblost : 3rd June 2008 at 16:15.
Old 3rd June 2008, 16:48   #6

I don't trust MASS somehow. I already heard some horror stories about them. Anyway thats a last option.

Child lock is never enabled in my vehicle. It appears to be a case of mistiming or right timing of opening the door at both ends
Old 3rd June 2008, 17:08   #7

Which Door is this one?
Old 3rd June 2008, 17:09   #8

Originally Posted by Technocrat View Post
Which Door is this one?
Rear Left One. My only concern is if I go to MASS, they might hype the issue and ask for replacing the whole mechanism, which I dont want to as of now.
Old 3rd June 2008, 17:21   #9

Hi tech cars & their problems. I always used to dread leaving the keys inside as i left the car.With my premier padmini there is no issue as the DS door does not lock unless its locked externally with the key.Lesson to learn for the Hi tech auto manufacturers.
Old 3rd June 2008, 17:44   #10

Have you checked the Child lock? In My alto sometimes it gets automatically activated if the car has run over bad roads.
Old 4th June 2008, 14:54   #11

In all probability the child lock on the rear door. It was quite embarrassing for me when it happened the first time (still dont know how the lock got activated). Used the car without opening the door from inside for a few days till I found time to take it to the M.A.S.S. Was stumped when the guys just flicked the child lock and everything was back to normal.
Old 4th June 2008, 15:00   #12

It can also get activated while cleaning the vehicle. Please check.
Old 4th June 2008, 15:08   #13

The child lock is engaged via a small switch in the side of the door such that the switch is hidden when the door is closed.
When its locked the passenger door can only be opened from the outside.

attached a picture found on the net.
Door Lock Malfunction in Swift VXI-door.jpg  

Old 4th June 2008, 15:12   #14

Happens to me often with my Maruthi installed Central Locking.
I tell the person to wait, then lock and unlock all doors using the driver side control. Works everytime.
Old 6th June 2008, 17:33   #15

Sorry Guys. Was loaded with work, could reply to you. Thanks for all the help.

I know its NOT child lock, because I never used it. It appears that the lever got jammed, because after it got stuck, we tried forcing it manually to open the lock mechanism, the threaded red one. That jammed. I need to go to MASS this weekend. Will let you know the outcome.

Thanks for your suport