Team-BHP > Technical Stuff
Register New Topics New Posts Top Thanked Team-BHP FAQ

Search this Thread
Old 5th September 2008, 09:12   #1
BHPian

Shuddering on Civic

Hi,

would like your opinion on what could be wrong. I am not a car expert, so this seemed the best place to ask. My civic is an automatic, about 2 yrs old, 20K on the clock. been serviced regularly.
The symptoms are:
1. When I dont use the car for about a week and then start and move off, there is a relatively loud noise as if something had got stuck/locked and was releasing because of the movement. thereafter there is a rythmic clacking noise, but at low volume for about 3-4 kms. neither of this happens if I use it regularly.
2. If i slow down from high speed (120+), the car shudders when the brakes are being applied. I havent noticed this when slowing down from a slower speed, say 70-80kmph.

Am I right in thinking that something's wrong with the brake pads? or could the discs have warped? the car has never been in an accident.

TIA
PM
Old 5th September 2008, 11:44   #2
BHPian

Check the brake pads ,i think they might have to be replaced also the disc need to be checked ,thoug there could be other issue also but most likely the culprits are the worn out brake pads
Old 5th September 2008, 12:21   #3
Senior - BHPian

While braking at high speed, does the entire car shudder or just the brake pedal? If latter, its just ABS kicking in. Discs usually don't need replacement at 20k. As suggested, check the pads and discs ASAP. Please don't delay.
Old 5th September 2008, 12:29   #4
Senior - BHPian

Check if the problems are there in another Civic auto. I dont expect the first problem to go away. I have read about similar complaint in other automatics too (non civic).
Old 5th September 2008, 13:00   #5
BHPian

thanks for your replies. The entire car shudders, not just the brake pedal. and it's happened on smooth highways (blr-mysore) braking in a straight line, so little need for ABS to kick in.