Team-BHP > Technical Stuff
Register New Topics New Posts Top Thanked Team-BHP FAQ

Search this Thread
Old 8th September 2008, 18:16   #1
BHPian

Problem with spark plug and fuel filter

Dear Gurus

After 3 months of browsing this site i have finally joined t-bhp and am glad to be in the company of some truly amazing people who share the passion for driving and cars that i do too.

I have a '92 maruti 800 std which is in excellent condition, partly cause dad drove it for 13 out of the 16 years that we have owned it. Well, i've been driving it for the last 8 years now and had an experience that has really surprised me. after getting it from dad, i decided to modify it a little bit and got the second muffler removed from a local mechanic. result: a lot more noise but not too much increase in power as promised by him .Now, after almost a year after getting this done, the car has suddenly started acting up and decides to turn off without any clue. one minute its driving smoothly like the baby that she is and the next she stops and refuses to start. Both the times that this has happened, i took it to an authorised service centre and all the guy did was clean the spark plug and the fuel filter and then its back to normal. However, the diagnosis at the end of the service what he told me shocked me. he said that since the vehicle had crossed 100,000 kms it was time for an engine overhaul that would cost me 15k after which my problem would be solved.

now,for my queries...

1. Is the company mechanic fooling me with his technical jargon
2. could the lack of a second muffler be somehow causing the spark plugs to be getting too dirty too soon and what can i do in order to stop this
3. the authorised centre i am talking about is 'sagar automobiles' and generally i have found him to be too expensive as well.. could you please suggest me some good authorised service centres in Bangalore where i could get a second opinion.
Old 10th September 2008, 18:57   #2
Senior - BHPian

Hi,