Team-BHP > Technical Stuff
Register New Topics New Posts Top Thanked Team-BHP FAQ

Search this Thread
Old 7th October 2008, 12:23   #1

Greasing points for a Car

Hello everyone,
I am a newbie to Team Bhp, though I was a passive visitor for a year, this is my first post .

my query being, where are the usual greasing points in a car located? especially for the wheel bearings, the steering joints, suspension and other parts. I tried getting down under the car and finding them myself but couldnt find any grease nipples.My car is Indica Xeta 2008 model.

i tried searching on the forum but couldnt get much related to this exact topic.
Regards to all and thanks in advance

Mithun
Old 8th October 2008, 00:12   #2
Senior - BHPian

Most of the new cars have very few greasing points as in some of the old cars. Wheel bearing are sealed unit in Indica and do not need greasing, as for others mentioned by you are also sealed units and there is no greasing point as such, during servicing if there's a need the mechanic will open these parts and service them.
Those nipples you are talking about are no more found on new cars.
Old 8th October 2008, 03:46   #3
SLK
Senior - BHPian

All I grease in my car are door locks and hinges! As they are the one that are noisy if not greased regularly.
Old 9th October 2008, 23:08   #4
gpa
Senior - BHPian

Hi Mithun,

Most modern cars don't require greasing like the cars of old. The maximum that you could do is apply some white grease (water resistant) to the gear shift linkages that are underneath the car.

You could grease the clutch spring (found inside nead the cluth pedal) that will remove any squeaks when using the clutch and also the door hinges and bonnet release lock.

These small bits will go a long way in ensuring your beloved car is free from squeaks.

Cheers,

gpa
Old 1st April 2009, 10:38   #5
BHPian

Bumping up an old thread.