Old 27th November 2008, 16:47   #1

Questions regarding Bolero 2004

Hi Guys..
I drive a 2004 Bolero GLX 4X4..
Couple of quick Questions.
1. Is it normal that brakes(linings+drums) give up
every 35-40K KM ? I got them at 39K KM's and
its again looks like ready for it @ 68K KM's.
2. My clutch gaveup @ 67K KM's - Is that normal too ?
3. What is the supposed life of a XD3P Engine ?.
Thanks and regards..
..jp_in_hyd..
Old 27th November 2008, 16:57   #2

Originally Posted by jp_in_hyd View Post
Hi Guys..
Thanks and regards..
..jp_in_hyd..
I never looked into maintainence of my bolero GLX
however i can answer this query
ours has 157K kms on ODO as of now and though its showin age since quite sometime now,but is still going good
Old 27th November 2008, 17:14   #3

Hi Guys..
Thanks and regards..
..jp_in_hyd..
Your brake and clutch figures are not radically unusual for an Indian vehicle.

If your change oil interval is good and you use quality oil and filter, change your air filter when needed, prevent the motor from ever over heating e.g. due to coolant leak.... I would bet you could get 1.5 to 2.0 lakh Ks out of it before you need to open it up for an overhaul. There are things specific to 4x4 vehicles and Boleros in particular that other members can tell you about.
Old 27th November 2008, 17:24   #4

Own a 04 GLX 2WD. 1.18 lakh kms.

1. Is it normal that brakes(linings+drums) give up every 35-40K KM ? I got them at 39K KM's and its again looks like ready for it @ 68K KM's.
Well no the drums are still going good. No wear. I do change the liners and pads every 10k kms.

The clutch is quite strong. Mine is still the one that came from the factory. When you say gave up what all did you change?

3. What is the supposed life of a XD3P Engine ?
Not really sure. Some say its 1 lakh then i meet smeone who has 2.5 lakhs and still going good. Lets wait and see if Behram Sir has a peek in here.
Old 27th November 2008, 17:53   #5

i also had a 2006 bolero sold it at 85k in one years time

nothing was changed till we sold and was still going strong and gave a fe of 17 km/l in city and that to with a/c on all the time
Old 27th November 2008, 18:13   #6

Originally Posted by manikjeet View Post
fe of 17 km/l in city and that to with a/c on all the time
Wow, you probably own the most fuel efficient Bolero. Thats some good fuel efficiency. I had seen those figures only when i drive on highways. Kudos for maintining it so well.
Old 27th November 2008, 18:20   #7

Originally Posted by Spitfire View Post
Wow, you probably own the most fuel efficient Bolero. Thats some good fuel efficiency. I had seen those figures only when i drive on highways. Kudos for maintining it so well.

thanks bro

all the work was always done at A>S>S

i live in Chandigarh so amazing this fe figure
Old 27th November 2008, 20:19   #8

nothing was changed till we sold and was still going strong and gave a fe of 17 km/l in city and that to with a/c on all the time
Which engine did it have XD3P or DI turbo?
DI turbo's can return that kind of mileage easily however for XD3P this kind of mileage is next to impossible.
Old 28th November 2008, 08:38   #9

Hi Guys..

..jp_in_hyd..

[COLOR=#777]
MANIK NANDA
[/COLOR]

JP,
An XD3P can go on for 2.5 lacs, if properly taken care of like oil changes and timely mantainance.

Manikjeet/ Manik Nanda,
You have not been specific if the engine in your Bolero is XD3P. If it is, there is no way this engine can give you 17kmpl in city or highway even with AC off.
Under the hood, could be a sly DI pretending to be an XD.

Last edited by fazalaliadil : 28th November 2008 at 08:50. Reason: wrong quote added
Old 28th November 2008, 11:05   #10

don't know which engine did it have correctly mybe the di turbo but the pics are in my gallery

it was a sportz model with all the stickers
Old 29th November 2008, 10:43   #11

That's too early and clutch-riding is the only culprit that comes to mind. Mahindra clutch systems are extremely robust. My Classics original clutch lasted well over a lakh kms (1.4 to be precise).

Thanks and regards..
Considering that my XDP 2.1 lasted 1.4 lakh before requiring a rebuild, and that the XD3P has major improvements, I'd say atleast 1.5 - 1.7 lakh before a rebuild is required. Frequent oil changes are your best friends.

Originally Posted by akshay4587 View Post
DI turbo's can return that kind of mileage easily however for XD3P this kind of mileage is next to impossible.
Agreed with Akshay. It is impossible for the XD3P to give that kinda mileage in a Bolero. The same engine in my lighter / smaller Classic never gives more than 10.5 in the city (with 100% use of the air-con) and 12.5 - 14 kpl on the highway. On the highway, the Bolero would probably have an advantage due to the 5th gear + taller overall gearing, but in the city, it is the smaller Classic that's at an advantage.
Old 30th November 2008, 01:24   #12

don't know which engine did it have correctly mybe the di turbo but the pics are in my gallery

it was a sportz model with all the stickers
You had it for 85K kms
and you dont remember which engine it had
kinda funny

Even on highways for a XD3P with 5th gear 17kmpl is not possible even if you drive at 60 with out AC
Old 30th November 2008, 09:23   #13

Originally Posted by akshay4587 View Post
You had it for 85K kms
and you dont remember which engine it had
kinda funny
hi

i just went and confirm with the driver he says it was the turbo one. I never drove it and about the fe part i live in chandigarh and we have straight roads,even my zen returns around 15 + with a/c on