Old 13th December 2008, 08:37   #31
SYJ

Originally Posted by iraghava View Post
That would be the 1.3 LXi model which came only with A/C & Power Steering and didn't even have the plastic wheel caps.

never seen a 1.3 lxi on roads!!!

Last edited by Rehaan : 13th December 2008 at 12:31. Reason: Quote fixed
Old 13th December 2008, 11:46   #32

[quote=SYJ;1091602]
That would be the 1.3 LXi model which came only with A/C & Power Steering and didn't even have the plastic wheel caps.

I've seen quite a few of those in bombay. Looked really out of place...
Old 13th December 2008, 13:13   #33

Great description JayD!

Nahin bhai, a friend's '98 1.3 EXi didn't have the tacho, I drove around in it for about 3 weeks.
Achcha hua our 1.3Exi is a 1999 model. lol. Variances in the same model Type 1 also! Damn

Originally Posted by abhik View Post
Bro the extra 6BHP in the "VTEC" form is what separated the men from the boys.
Abhik tu zinda hai??
Old 13th December 2008, 14:15   #34

Originally Posted by mukeshgoel View Post

Here is the price list of May'03 in Delhi.
They charge Rs. 450 for a number plate?! That's ridiculous! Suppose you don't want to opt for that option? Will they let you drive the car off without one? This is so stupid!
Old 13th December 2008, 14:30   #35

At that time, they gave me discount of 10k.+ free mats + mud flaps + free body colour paining of OVRMs and side mouldings.
Old 13th December 2008, 17:10   #36

Originally Posted by abhik View Post
Bro the extra 6BHP in the "VTEC" form is what separated the men from the boys.
now now -lets not get into the men vs boys game ...
Old 13th December 2008, 17:36   #37

Originally Posted by paras211 View Post
almost 1 lac extra. that is robbery.And its just 6hp more.
Notwithstanding the fact that the Vtec engine was the major differentiator (and quiet rightfully so), there were other items that added value.

1. Alloys (IIRC, the alloys used to cost close to 4.5K each, so that would be a heafty Rs.22K). Absolute value, these are virtually indestructible.

2. Spoiler (this was around 15K approx when I checked)

3. Miscellaneous stuff that does not normally get noticed, like the number plate garnish - (7K - really, I should know because I got one for my OHC 1.5 EXi, crazy I was back then)

4. Twin barrell chrome exhaust tip (1.5 EXi came with no exhaust tip, an option @ Rs.900 or so was available as accessory)

5. Alpine HU with CD(?) add another 10K (Honda prices).

Now you see why many did not worry about paying 1 Lac extra even if they did not understand the Vtec terminology.
Old 13th December 2008, 17:42   #38

what's the point in arguing so much over two cars that are not in production. If you have an option to buy the OHC just go ahead, they are pretty good. Ofcourse choose the vtec over 1.5, but mind you 1.5 won't let you down an iota either. IMO both are way better than the NHC.

I still don't know why this thread was started? Does someone have an offer to buy the 1.3 or 1.5 and is confused?
Old 13th December 2008, 20:34   #39

Originally Posted by SYJ View Post
For sure there was 1.3Lxi and 1.3Exi for OHC. When I bought my car in April 2003, i initially wanted to buy the OHC. I remember one of the issues for OHC, was too many choices - 1.3Lxi, 1.3Exi, 1.5Exi, 1.5VTEC, made life really difficult.

A lot of OHC in Delhi (which had more than 60-70% of all OHCs in India) were 1.3 models, and many of them 1.3Lxi

Last edited by lancer_rit : 13th December 2008 at 20:35.
Old 13th December 2008, 23:08   #40
SYJ

whats the difference between a 1.3lxi or exi and a 1.3 dx version???
Old 15th December 2008, 00:47   #41

Nothing major, just beige interiors, some new shades of paint and small bits. This is over the EXi mind you.
Old 15th December 2008, 09:03   #42

No, friend. 1.3DX did not have Beige Interiors. It was all grey. :(
Old 15th December 2008, 15:32   #43

the vtec model did not have a HU with a CD. It was a simple Alpine HU with a remote.

Also want to add, that those extra 6bhp made that car the fastest car in its class ever to hit the Indian Roads. Till date there is no car in the 1.5L class to challange the OHC Vtec in terms of power and performance.

Even the NHC and the ANHC can't match the OHC Vtec's performance.

Shrey

Originally Posted by quicksilver View Post
Notwithstanding the fact that the Vtec engine was the major differentiator (and quiet rightfully so), there were other items that added value.

1. Alloys (IIRC, the alloys used to cost close to 4.5K each, so that would be a heafty Rs.22K). Absolute value, these are virtually indestructible.

2. Spoiler (this was around 15K approx when I checked)

3. Miscellaneous stuff that does not normally get noticed, like the number plate garnish - (7K - really, I should know because I got one for my OHC 1.5 EXi, crazy I was back then)

4. Twin barrell chrome exhaust tip (1.5 EXi came with no exhaust tip, an option @ Rs.900 or so was available as accessory)

5. Alpine HU with CD(?) add another 10K (Honda prices).

Now you see why many did not worry about paying 1 Lac extra even if they did not understand the Vtec terminology.
Old 15th December 2008, 15:40   #44

Originally Posted by ssjr0498 View Post
Absolutely correct. I prefer my 1.5Exi OHC to the NHC in terms of driving pleasure and handling.
Old 15th December 2008, 16:00   #45

the vtec model did not have a HU with a CD. It was a simple Alpine HU with a remote.
Thanks for that clarification, I stand corrected. That's the reason why I had added that (?) to my post, because I was not sure about the CD player part.

Originally Posted by Tejas@perioimpl View Post
Absolutely correct. I prefer my 1.5Exi OHC to the NHC in terms of driving pleasure and handling.
I am not too sure about the ANHC but the difference between the OHC and the NHC is like night and day.

I would go a step further and say that the OHC was the best ever Indian car I have driven in terms of driving dynamics/driver involvement.