Team-BHP > Technical Stuff
Register New Topics New Posts Top Thanked Team-BHP FAQ

Search this Thread
Old 19th December 2008, 19:34   #1
BHPian

peculiar issue with Santro A/C

I have been using my Santro Xing XL for almost 2 years now.

Off late i've been experiencing a peculiar issue with the A/C in my car.

The compressor comes on intermittently, whenever it is ON, the A/C cools well and everything works normally. I can feel that the compressor is ON as the difference is felt in the PULL of the car.

At times, the compressor just doesn't come ON at all. The LED comes on when the A/C switch is depressed, however there is NO sound coming from the compressor and no difference felt whatsoever in the PULL of the car. I don't feel the cooling effect as well.

I first experienced this on a long drive to MYSORE, I turned on the A/C and thought that it was ON all the while however didn't feel any cooling effect. This was in the month of MAY so I thought that due to the HEAT the A/C might not have been very effective as I didn't have even TINT on my windows.

Later in November, I took my car on a long trip to TIRUPATHI. This time around my car did have 3M Medium TINT. Again the A/C behaved in exactly the same way, the LED came ON however no cooling effect. This is when I did some investigations like paying close attention to SOUND and stuff like that.

Presently if I keep fiddling with the A/C Button the compressor does start sometimes and I get the chill effect however it isn't consistent.

I got the A/C neutralization service done from AHSS (Advaith Mission Road) however the issue still remains. I did mention this issue to the service center and was told that the A/C button had some loose contact which has been rectified.

But the issue still persists.

I read through several articles in the forum and thought that this might be due to the a/c gas shortage or forming of ice or something similar.