Old 13th February 2009, 21:35   #1

Octy vRS Achilles Heels

Achilles was a warrior whose mama dipped him in some magic potion, while holding his heel. The heel was the only vulnerable spot,

The vRS goes like a bullet once the turbo kicks n but there are many things that can make you bite the bullet or merely irritate you so here goes:

Last edited by ajmat : 13th February 2009 at 22:29.
ajmat is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 13th February 2009, 21:45   #2

Water Pump failure

A known fault, it will happen unless you change the pump early

Why ? - silly design, plastic impeller fails - initially, it will turn slower than required. Worst case it will break and pieces will go into the water jacket

How do I know ? If you merely rev your engine or gun it, the needles go sky high. If you drive at around less than 2000 rpm and switch off at the lights, you could manage 10 km assuming ambient temp of around 30 deg C on a sat morning. You could push it by stopping every 10 km and letting it cool.

What is the damage : Ranges from coolant loss to blown gasket to cracked head depending on your car sympathy quotient

What is THE damage?
- minimum Rs 10000 pump + fitting. Take the opportunity to change timing belt if car has done 40000 km +

When can this happen? - any time from 25000 km onwards

What else can it be ?
Thermostat valve could fail, check this first

Last edited by ajmat : 13th February 2009 at 22:19.
ajmat is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 13th February 2009, 21:54   #3

Engine Fan Failure

Why? - silly design of fuses located above battery creates a water trap or fan control unit failed

How do I know?
- AC stops working when fan fails, temp increases in slow traffic. If AC fails while cruising- you bet. Likelihood - during monsoon. If you can maintain speeds of 40km/h + , airflow can do the cooling till you reach help. Otherwise, get an electrician to bypass the fuse and continue

What is the damage?
Chances are it overheats at low speed so gasket at the most! Chances are fuse block on battery is burnt

What is THE damage? Rs 4000 for the fuse box, Rs 20000+ for fan control unit

When can this happen? During rainy weather, driving through floods

What else can it be? Loose wiring

How do I prevent it ? Spray the battery area and radiator connections with wd40 every three months

Last edited by ajmat : 19th June 2013 at 10:04.
Old 13th February 2009, 22:07   #4

Lumpy idling esp low speeds

Why? - Throttle body dirty or not aligned electronically

How do I know?
- Feel it, hear it. EPC light will come on, then the "check engine" light and car will not go more than 1500

What is the damage?
Dirty throttle body, needs to be removed and cleaned. not a difficult job. If done, but persists, the TB may not be aligned properly and needs to be reset electronically

What is THE damage? dealer charge s Rs 200, He may suggest a new TB which is only warranted if you have been using spurious arrack - Rs 26000. However, I have found a source who can supply me a bosch unit for Rs 12000 ex UK. Landed might be Rs 18000

When can this happen? Around 30000 if TB never touched

What else can it be? Coil packs weakening - if engine misfires slightly at higher speeds

How do I prevent it ? Insist on throttle body being cleaned every service. Easy on the system G. Use half the recommended dose

Last edited by ajmat : 19th June 2013 at 10:05.
Old 13th February 2009, 22:13   #5

Slight Misfire on hard acceleration,

Why? - Coil packs getting weak

How do I know? - It misses especially after warming up

What is the damage? Eventual damage to head and bearng but you need to be totally unmerciful

What is THE damage? dealer charges Rs 3100 per coil pack. My source can get me Bosch ones for Rs 2000 approx ex UK. Best to change all in one go. If there is a servicable one replaced, retain and keep as an emergency spare.

When can this happen? Around 30000km onwards depending on usage conditons, less if you touch them and use them as hockey sticks or toy guns - very sensitive

What else can it be? Throttle body, fuel pump

How do I prevent it ? Pray

Last edited by ajmat : 13th February 2009 at 22:18.
ajmat is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 13th February 2009, 22:17   #6

Graunching Noises over speed bumps or when getting in and out of car

Why? - Anti roll bar bushes splitting

How do I know?
- The noise and car laterally pitches when going over bumps or braking hard. Pitching happens before the noise

What is the damage? Usually the bushes, anti roll bar will need changing if you are too late, approx Rs 10000

What is THE damage? Rs 1000

When can this happen?
Around 30000km

What else can it be?
Cracked springs, othe bushes

How do I prevent it ? Drive like a priest

Last edited by ajmat : 13th February 2009 at 22:26.
Old 13th February 2009, 22:25   #7

Engine went boom with an expensive noise

Why? - Timing belt snapped

How do I know? - Engine may not turn or makes expensive noises when turned

What is the damage? Pistons hammered the valves, if they are waving at you when you lift the engine, ouch

What is THE damage? Officially Rs 150000 for a head rebuild, a lot less if done by a good independent

When can this happen? Around 40000km onwards depending on use, age of belt

What else can it be? bottom ends or something expensive

How do I prevent it ? Ensure belt is inspected during service. Change belt at 45000km (change water pump if not ever done while you are down there in the engine bay)
ajmat is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 13th February 2009, 22:27   #8

You must give it to the Skoda engineers. They designed all these parts so that it will fail just after the warranty period.
Mpower is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 13th February 2009, 22:28   #9

good report ajmat ji, that seems like much more than an Achilles heel, it's quite a few problems. This is a car i'd love to procure but it's the maintenance
that seems way too expensive.
Btw it wasn't magic potion, it was the river Styx, the heel and ankle remained unaffected not because they were not dipped but because his mothers hands had them covered, while she dipped him headfirst.
sukrit7 is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 13th February 2009, 22:37   #10

Thanks a tonne for the posts.
Really of great help.
Old 13th February 2009, 23:35   #11

Ajit Matthew Does know his vRS !!

Ajmat, very nicely written & structured.
condor is online now   (1) Thanks
Old 13th February 2009, 23:37   #12

You have now officially become the Skoda VRs expert, hate to see you go through all this.

Get a better car.
Simple.

M M
Old 14th February 2009, 00:01   #13

This thread just put me off Skodas for ever! Surprising to read about failure rates of various parts this early - 30 - 40k km. And the replacement prices... Is this stream (river?) of problems only for the RS or even for the 1.9 TDIs?
Old 14th February 2009, 00:08   #14

same here just bought an vrs spended like 1 lac on it but still gives me some or the other problem...changed the suspension overall but stilll come ratteling problem from left even changed all 4 coils.....now goes next
anku is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 14th February 2009, 00:55   #15

OT:
But, Why is this "failure" engine worshipped by so many and used by VW/Audi/Seat/Skoda in umpteen models?
Or did we get the older version and it has been updated everywhere else?