Old 21st August 2015, 22:02   #916

Re: Mercedes W124 E Class Support Group

So I just went through the whole thread and some very interesting points shared by all.

One thing I noticed is that 300D is quite rare but cheaper to procure than 250D. Plus the 300D has better equipment and better engine and auto box and cheaper price to own. Though I do not have the funds right now, I did find a nice looking 300D for roughly 3 lacs in Jalandhar.

What are potential hazards if any of the 300D?
Old 22nd August 2015, 13:10   #917

Originally Posted by kisharchit View Post
So I just went through the whole thread and some very interesting points shared by all.

One thing I noticed is that 300D is quite rare but cheaper to procure than 250D. Plus the 300D has better equipment and better engine and auto box and cheaper price to own. Though I do not have the funds right now, I did find a nice looking 300D for roughly 3 lacs in Jalandhar.

What are potential hazards if any of the 300D?
None specific to the 300D. Usual 124 stuff which can all be fixed with TLC and $.
Viraat13 is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 9th September 2015, 13:27   #918

Hi guys! Been following this thread for over a year now and finally bit the bullet and got myself a 96, single owner, E220 last year (done approx. 145k). According to the previous owner, this is one of the first E220's in India and was delivered to him at a 5 star hotel as Merc were in the process of setting up their showroom. Have got some work done like changed fuel pump, front tie rods and bush and she is handling pretty well now.

There is some body work to be done mainly on the bumper - the front bumper rail needs to be changed and painted and the rear bumper needs some repair. Also, want to change the ORVM brackets (black plastic attachments). There is a dent on the rear left door - but I am going to give it a miss as of now as there is no paint scratch. Would appreciate your lead to some good hands in palika bhawan. Mercedes W124 E Class Support Group-img2014101500336.jpg

Mercedes W124 E Class Support Group-img2014101500334.jpg

Mercedes W124 E Class Support Group-img2014101500339.jpg
Some pics attached - BB to blame for the quality.
Siddash is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 10th September 2015, 11:06   #919

Originally Posted by Siddash View Post
Hi guys! Been following this thread for over a year now and finally bit the bullet and got myself a 96, single owner, E220 last year (done approx. 145k). According to the previous owner, this is one of the first E220's in India and was delivered to him at a 5 star hotel as Merc were in the process of setting up their showroom. Have got some work done like changed fuel pump, front tie rods and bush and she is handling pretty well now.

There is some body work to be done mainly on the bumper - the front bumper rail needs to be changed and painted and the rear bumper needs some repair. Also, want to change the ORVM brackets (black plastic attachments). There is a dent on the rear left door - but I am going to give it a miss as of now as there is no paint scratch. Would appreciate your lead to some good hands in palika bhawan. Attachment 1412325

Attachment 1412326

Attachment 1412327
There is a guy on the right of Gate 1, next to the taxi stand. His work seems good.

Otherwise there is Haneef at Anant Ram Dairy, which is a 60 second drive away.

The side view mirror boot is available (try Rahul Motors), but do see if the original can be repaired, cause the new stuff is all Taiwanese and basically rubbish.
Viraat13 is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 10th September 2015, 11:22   #920

Originally Posted by Viraat13 View Post
There is a guy on the right of Gate 1, next to the taxi stand. His work seems good.

Otherwise there is Haneef at Anant Ram Dairy, which is a 60 second drive away.

The side view mirror boot is available (try Rahul Motors), but do see if the original can be repaired, cause the new stuff is all Taiwanese and basically rubbish.

Thanks Viraat ! Following the thread, its clear that you are the "go to" guy in Delhi for W 124's! Look forward to catching up some time to exchange notes.
Old 10th September 2015, 11:42   #921

Thanks Viraat ! Following the thread, its clear that you are the "go to" guy in Delhi for W 124's! Look forward to catching up some time to exchange notes.
Hahaha. I think you might have upset some W124 gurus here.

Sure thing, I'm always up for a 124 meet. Which area of Delhi do you put up in?

The dent in the door you spoke of in your first post might be fixed with dry denting, Haneef is the guy to go to for that.
Old 10th September 2015, 22:23   #922

There is some body work to be done mainly on the bumper - the front bumper rail needs to be changed and painted and the rear bumper needs some repair. Also, want to change the ORVM brackets (black plastic attachments). There is a dent on the rear left door - but I am going to give it a miss as of now as there is no paint scratch. Would appreciate your lead to some good hands in palika bhawan.

Congrats Welcome to the club.
Post interior pictures of your car.
I also have A.Blue DL regd E220 which i picked last year,
and was one of the first cars delivered in NCR.
Old 14th September 2015, 11:11   #923

Thanks ! And absolutely NO offence to any "gurus" around !! Guess it might be a good idea to have a meet, one of the weekends over a drive and lunch. @ Viraat - I stay in Vasant Kunj...where are you putting up ?
Old 15th September 2015, 10:44   #924

Thanks ! And absolutely NO offence to any "gurus" around !! Guess it might be a good idea to have a meet, one of the weekends over a drive and lunch. @ Viraat - I stay in Vasant Kunj...where are you putting up ?
Don't forget to use the quote feature!

Akshay4587 is our W124 meet specialist. As soon as you get the PM facility, exchange numbers with me or Akshay. We have a large WhatsApp group with 124 owners where the meets are usually planned.

I put up in Alaknanda. Maybe we can meet at Palika Bhawan sometime.
Old 15th November 2015, 22:43   #925

Viraat I am a real old BHPian but not very active.
I have been lately updating on W124 and I came across a lot of info from you guys here. I also read you have a whatsapp group for W124, kindly could you add me on to it. I own a W123 200 petrol/W124 E220-2nos/ W124 E250.
We have a club called MB Club Kerala and am the secretary of it. I would really like to be a part of your community too. So we could buy sell get parts share informations all about W124.
My number is: 09447169777
Name: Kurian Kurian
Hoping you add me to your whatsapp community soon.
Old 26th November 2015, 19:38   #926

I am a new member, this is my first post. I have been following the W124 threads and have got invaluable tips from the varied posts from this experienced group. I am finalizing my first buy a 1994 E300D. Hope to have many happy motoring times in the years to come.
Old 29th November 2015, 14:33   #927

Originally Posted by roadntrack View Post
Viraat I am a real old BHPian but not very active.
I have been lately updating on W124 and I came across a lot of info from you guys here. I also read you have a whatsapp group for W124, kindly could you add me on to it. I own a W123 200 petrol/W124 E220-2nos/ W124 E250.
We have a club called MB Club Kerala and am the secretary of it. I would really like to be a part of your community too. So we could buy sell get parts share informations all about W124.
My number is: 09447169777
Name: Kurian Kurian
Hoping you add me to your whatsapp community soon.
Kurian! Totally missed this. I would have seen had you quoted me. Hope you're enjoying the group now.

Originally Posted by Sandyjo View Post
I am a new member, this is my first post. I have been following the W124 threads and have got invaluable tips from the varied posts from this experienced group. I am finalizing my first buy a 1994 E300D. Hope to have many happy motoring times in the years to come.
Please post some pictures! Would love to see.
Old 30th November 2015, 18:44   #928

Need some advice.

I have been offered a 1996 E220 petrol. First owner. Done 160K Kms. 1.5L.
Checked out the car a couple of days ago. Bodywork seems OK but can't say for sure as it was parked in a basement with poor lighting. The car started first time but I was unable to put the car into any gear. The clutch pedal was moving just about an inch. Engine sounded a bit rough for a petrol but that maybe the exhaust effect in the basement.
Interior rear light would not go off even when car was switched off.
All other lights and indicator/warning lights etc were working OK. Wipers working OK. Headlight lenses were dull. A/C was working OK. Handbrake was working OK.

The guy who it is with now came down and using brute force managed to literally grind the car into gear but then it stopped again when he tried to change gear. Today he tells me it's fixed as there was some air in the oil or something like that. I am therefore presuming it's a hydraulic clutch.
Having gone through several pages of this thread I am quite shocked at the amount of "TLC" these cars require. I thought they were built tough and with minimum electronics which could go wrong.

My question is : Is it even worth considering this car? I don't mind spending a bit to do it up but am not keen on spending hours sourcing parts from Opera House, local garages or the Internet and then spending hours standing in above mentioned garages getting the job done.
I am also not aware of any reputed mechanic in the Andheri (West) area who could fix any problems I may have on this car.
Please advise.

SS
Old 30th November 2015, 18:59   #929

Originally Posted by suzuki san View Post

Need some advice.

I have been offered a 1996 E220 petrol. First owner. Done 160K Kms. 1.5L.
Checked out the car a couple of days ago. Bodywork seems OK but can't say for sure as it was parked in a basement with poor lighting. The car started first time but I was unable to put the car into any gear. The clutch pedal was moving just about an inch. Engine sounded a bit rough for a petrol but that maybe the exhaust effect in the basement.
Interior rear light would not go off even when car was switched off.
All other lights and indicator/warning lights etc were working OK. Wipers working OK. Headlight lenses were dull. A/C was working OK. Handbrake was working OK.

The guy who it is with now came down and using brute force managed to literally grind the car into gear but then it stopped again when he tried to change gear. Today he tells me it's fixed as there was some air in the oil or something like that. I am therefore presuming it's a hydraulic clutch.
Having gone through several pages of this thread I am quite shocked at the amount of "TLC" these cars require. I thought they were built tough and with minimum electronics which could go wrong.

My question is : Is it even worth considering this car? I don't mind spending a bit to do it up but am not keen on spending hours sourcing parts from Opera House, local garages or the Internet and then spending hours standing in above mentioned garages getting the job done.
I am also not aware of any reputed mechanic in the Andheri (West) area who could fix any problems I may have on this car.
Please advise.

SS
Sounds like a fried clutch and a rusted exhaust. The E220 is pretty refined for the time it was sold,
though not as refined as a Modern Honda, but still pretty silent.

Also, remember the car is a 1996, and being a 20 year old car, it will ask for some TLC, so will any other car.
The issues i have faced in 18 month ownership are more of niggles than reliability issues.
Now coming to this car, looks like it was not well looked after. There are better cars out there in Mumbai,
there was this E220 with Auto tranny as well for sale.
You can give this one a pass for sure.
Old 30th November 2015, 21:42   #930

Thanks Akshay.

Niggles I don't mind but not issues that take me to a garage everyday!

Would appreciate it if you could point me in the right direction if you know anyone selling a E220 car in decent / good condition in Bombay.
The E220 auto you mentioned - was it on Team BHP classifieds??

SS