Old 25th May 2009, 10:11   #16

Originally Posted by kiranpashtakar View Post
Guys
I am sure MASS will suggest a replacement of the fuel tank.
or better still replace the car
I guess MASS would be happy with replacing fuel tank, Skoda would be happy replacing the car

BTW, Will this cause any serious issues anywhere? I am also curious to know.
Old 25th May 2009, 10:35   #17

Is it just the needle or with the syringe? You could have injected using only the syringe, why the needle? ?

If the syringe went in, my guesses are it should float.
Old 25th May 2009, 10:37   #18

Just the needle with the holder went in, The syringe was in my Hands. (so much for safe hands)
Old 25th May 2009, 10:54   #19

Try this, seriously!
Ask your mechanic to do a jugaad of fitting a magnetic strip externally on the bottom of fuel tank Or else buy few small magnets & stick them on the bottom of fuel tank with ELFY/ Araldite. Needle with get struck on the bottom of Tank due to magnetic effect.

Cons: Ferrous metals from the road surface will stick to the tank.
Old 25th May 2009, 10:54   #20

Get fuel tank removed.
Remove petrol
Hold upside down, and shake hard till needle comes out.
Old 25th May 2009, 11:06   #21

Originally Posted by breezydrive View Post
Try this, seriously!
Ask your mechanic to do a jugaad of fitting a magnetic strip externally on the bottom of fuel tank Or else buy few small magnets & stick them on the bottom of fuel tank with ELFY/ Araldite. Needle with get struck on the bottom of Tank due to magnetic effect.

Cons: Ferrous metals from the road surface will stick to the tank.
The needles are usually of stainless steel. So I dont think magnets would help, because, mostly stainless steel are non-magnetic.
Old 25th May 2009, 11:09   #22

Get oe of those round magnets with a hole in them, tie a piece of string to it and fish the needle out of the tank.
Old 25th May 2009, 11:33   #23

I think every modern car has a fuel filter on the fuel line so just forget it.
Old 25th May 2009, 13:47   #24

Originally Posted by kiranpashtakar View Post
...I was hoping the experts on the forum will guide me on if there is a fuel filter in a baleno...
Originally Posted by sgiitk View Post
I think every modern car has a fuel filter on the fuel line so just forget it.
Why do you think the experts are poking fun at you? Nothing will ever happen to your Baleno if you let the needle take up permanent residence inside your petrol tank. The fuel pump has a filter at the tank end, there's a fine fabric filter at the engine end of the fuel line, then there is a filter where the fuel line feeds the injection pump. Not even a grain of sand gets through. Your needle will need to fragment itself into molecular bits to go into your engine and cause any damage.

So forget the needle and enjoy the drive (unless you are very emotionally attached to that needle and hate to see it die of drowning in petrol ).

Last edited by SS-Traveller : 25th May 2009 at 13:49.
Old 25th May 2009, 13:58   #25

Hey thanks SS, that's exactly what I wanted to hear.
Baleno has some self protective shield after all.