Old 15th October 2009, 18:58   #91

Ravveendrra, you are right!

Yelanki: Allen Key

and

Qutub Minar: Gear Cluster in a scooter gearbox (because it looks like a conical tower with the 3 or 4 gears!)
Old 17th October 2009, 13:23   #92

Originally Posted by DRC View Post
... Cut out is a term for electrical relay (not voltage regulator). But not sure how this term evolved. ...
Comes from "Over-current cut-out" - old term for a relay with built-in overcurrent protection, where one had to manually reset in case it trips. They came to represent any device that 'cuts-out' power to an equipment.

Very few relays are actually 'cut-outs'. In industrial usage, 'relays' are low-voltage/current devices used for control inter-connection, and 'contactors' are used to make/break connection to high-current equipment such as electrical motors. The low-power relays control the coil of the high-power contactors. In automotive usage, technically 'cut-outs' should have been called 'contactors' - but hey, the language / jargon is defined by the technicians (mechanics, electricians, etc.), so whatever they say colloquially is what the rest of the world uses!
Old 4th December 2009, 12:21   #93

This car comes with Endorsement!!!

Rep : This car comes with Endorsement!!!

Me : Ok, what the hell does it mean!!

Rep : Saar, in olden days people used to buy AFM LPG kits and drive it without endorsing in RTO/RC, now Hyundai sells Accent with Endorsement.

Me :

(While TD'ng a Accent LPG)
Old 4th December 2009, 18:07   #94

Heard years ago, while dealing with mechanics. Bombay/Pune & Rajasthan.

Popat pana - adjustable offset pliers. pics posted in earlier posts.
Tocha paana - i think this is to make holes into metal.
Towchun - towing chain or the activity of towing.
Kenching/( pyaas bujhana) ??- annealing metal with oil after gas welding. This is after the mechanic had welded the upper arm to its swivel joint on a sumo which had it knocked off after a hard run in Rajasthan - pre- Gram Sadak yojna days.

Funniest I've heard is "Tooop" when an observing mechanic pointed to my tyres (dunlop 13") and asked me "iss mein tooop nahi hai na " now in marathi tooop also means ghee or clarified butter and that took me really off track, he meant Tube and could not pronounce it correctly.

"Kainchee" - swing arm ( cars only)
Box pana - god knows what this means.
Chakli/chidiya pench - i think this is the winged nut or something like that, might be wrong here.

Most famous = " Aayl" or oil in english.

Old 15th December 2009, 23:26   #95

Bhopalis again

I remember once my friend's driver asked him to get 500 ml of GALAF gear oil - My friend asked him what special oil is that - he told him you'll get it anywhere - just ask for GALAF gear oil - still confused as to what is this GALAF my friend asked him to get it himself and gave him the money - half an hour after that, this gentleman was there with 500 ml "GULF" gear oil.
Old 16th December 2009, 03:45   #96

makhee: the thingy at the end of a push-pull cable. i dont know what its called in english, please help me here.

boot (used as: axle boot): the rubber bellows attached to half-shafts to avoid oil spillage from CVs.
(This one troubled me for quite some time, finally i had to show it on a nearby rickshaw the spare part guy, and finally he was like, "acha, apko boot chahiye"
Old 28th March 2010, 23:13   #97

Originally Posted by SS-Traveller View Post
Surprised no one answered that yet. It's the sliding adjustable pliers.
It is called as MONKEY PAKKAD.
Old 29th March 2010, 07:00   #98

Let Me guess

Originally Posted by SAHIR.KITTUR View Post
I started it for terms, Common tell me what is LANGOT / CHILLIIM / JHULLA,

Use your werid imagination.
JHULLA = Spring Pata..especially found in HCVs and used to have in Premier Padmini & Ambassadors still have them at rear instead of shock ups

CHILLIM - Silencer Pipe

LANGOT= ???
Old 30th March 2010, 12:37   #99

Man...this is one hilarious thread

I remember a couple of incidents.

My friend's motorcycle mechanic was once telling him "Sar, nim gaadi chaini socket hogide, bega change maadsi" (Sir, your bike's 'chaini socket' is gone, get it changed asap). We were like and asked him what the 'chaini socket' was. He coolly showed us the Chain Sprocket of the bike.

One more guy at an electrical shop. 'Saab, isko ek cutouter daalna padega'
Old 30th March 2010, 12:51   #100

Originally Posted by hjpfusion View Post
JHULLA = Spring Pata..especially found in HCVs and used to have in Premier Padmini & Ambassadors still have them at rear instead of shock ups

CHILLIM - Silencer Pipe

LANGOT= ???

Chillim is a Yoke

Langot is a Flap used in heavy tyres ( Tyre / tube / flap )
Old 26th April 2010, 20:48   #101

Originally Posted by CliffHanger View Post
"Show me the 'wall tube'",first I used to wonder what is that,only later I realized that he meant the 'Valve Tube'..
So, wall tube = valve tube..
Hasn't anybody heard "sockab"? It means the damper / shock absorber
I have often heard this.

Originally Posted by amitoj View Post
I was once baffled when a mechanic asked for "Mublail"
Originally Posted by Rodie09 View Post
I think the best I have heard is when a mech told me " Sir, bubbling ho raha hai". He actually meant "Wobbling".
Originally Posted by Spitfire View Post
The one i remember. My dad's motorcycle mechanic. He couldn't for the life of him pronounce carburetor even after my dad tried to help him but in vain.
He used to call it kabottar.
LOL!

Originally Posted by mustangboss302 View Post
Miyan aapka Pishtand (Piston) bool riya hega - means your piston is saying something
Miyan aapkee sileepen kat gayi hengi - means your sleaves have warn out.
Miyan aapkee gaari chilla chilla ke kaam mang rahi hegi - means that your vehicle is shouting out loud ans asking for some repairs.
yeh balaf to miyan shart ho giya hega - means the bulb has fused
Miyan aapke handel main charrey katori dalagee - means your handel needs to be fitted with new set of ball-bearings and pawns
Salim - jara saab kee gaadi ka baanit (Bonnet) kholna
Miyan aapki Ishteem to bari acchi hegi - your esteem is very good
arrey - chotu - jara iss gaadi kee Kilich (Clutch) kee Makkhi (Check-Nut) to Tight karna.
Saab aapkee gaadi lapak lapak ke chal rahi hegi - sir your car is runnign perfectly fine.
Typical Bhopali slang i am ROTFL. I just love this slang, you have to hear it to believe.

Originally Posted by DRC View Post
Later the mech clarified that he really thought they were called "ball dogs" because they were round and well almost of the same size as ....grhhm... dog balls.
Spike
Old 26th April 2010, 22:14   #102

Was driving around Delhi using my uncle's driver.
He told me 'thel dalna hai'. Took me a while to figure out it was petrol.

Engine coolant is called 'coolant oil'

Originally Posted by mmmjgm View Post
Box pana - god knows what this means.
probably 'box spanner'

Last edited by Mpower : 27th April 2010 at 21:54.
Old 11th May 2010, 02:51   #103

Never realised that this could be so hilarious!

Long back, when I was looking for 50cc bike, I got offers for:

1. Ex-puller
2. Supitfyr
3. Muskaat

As a kid, my cycle was taken for "oar-oiling".

I still hear bus conductors go (especially karnataka):
"Holdeeen"
"Rayyaa"

Always hear even from vehicle owners:
"Toppit ajjustment"
"need Puncture for the tyre"
"Castor oil"
"wall tube"
"brake oil (Never fluid)"
"Newtal or Newtle" (90% use this)
"Carbutar"
"engine seasoning"
"Yelhanki bolt/nut"
"gum tape"
"radium sticker"
"Danger light"
"Turpentaail"
"Axle blade"
"Rubber Solution"
"chain socket"
"engine cover'
"Signal light"

The list is endless.

Some of them have been mentioned here before.
The terms are used regularly in the automobile filed. Try guessing what they are.
Old 20th July 2010, 15:27   #104

My fathers driver for his Jeep referred to the Shock Absorbers as Shokerjob (took years to understand the real meaning) and the 4X4 selectors as Hanuman gear, and going by the graphic verbal example of their use, all through the childhood I thought, using those the jeep could actually climb vertical walls .
Old 21st July 2010, 10:49   #105

I just saw a bike mechanic's bill. The items in it reads as below

1. Foot rest 2 ruppers
2. Gear liver & picker
3. Back medcode
4. Break light switch
5. Medcode plof
6. Medcode lift roter
8. Battry felt
9. Linning welding
10. Shakupshar alteraiton