Old 24th March 2010, 22:50   #16

A very reasonable bill. How is the car feeling after the service?
Old 25th March 2010, 11:32   #17

Originally Posted by nisam76 View Post
Oil Filter : Rs. 72
Engine Oil : Rs. 760(4 ltr)
One 100/90 bulb : Rs 156.
Engine Flush : rs 350
gear Oil : Rs 462
Throttle body cleaning : Rs 800
4 Wheel break cleaning : Rs 380

Total the bill came out at Rs 3800/-
Checked the AC and alt belt, told that no need to replace.

They told me that clutch got weak and may need to replace soon, looks like it comes around Rs 8000/- I am not feeling any clutch problem/pickup issue as such, may be i am driving daily and got used to it. What all need to be done for a weaker clutch(sounds like real newbie :( )?
Some more though optional:
Suspension torquing and greasing - infact expensive on labour front.
Radiator flush
OWS treatment.
wheel alignment and balancing..
AC complete checkup which includes complete cleaning of the system and AC filling.
Old 25th March 2010, 11:35   #18
nisam76

The car feels better, except the fact that after being told about the clutch problem, i am feeling some problem with the clutch any idea about MGP clutch replacement?

Old 25th March 2010, 11:54   #19

The charges quoted are ok, you need to ensure they buy the whole MGP clutch, release bearing, pressure plate and replace it all together. Do not compromise with this.

As long as the car is behaving well, giving good power and fe and clutch is not slipping, just carry on.
Old 25th March 2010, 15:37   #20

Originally Posted by Jaggu View Post
The charges quoted are ok, you need to ensure they buy the whole MGP clutch, release bearing, pressure plate and replace it all together. Do not compromise with this.
You have mentioned that clutch, releasing bearing & pressure plate to be replaced as a set rather than the plate replacement alone...why do u say that & what would be additional cost (approximately) between the entire replacement & plate alone?
Old 25th March 2010, 15:48   #21
gpa

Today i gave my baleno for 40K service to Bosch service Bangalore.
Nissam,

Can you let me know which BOSCH outlet this is? Any contact number?

gpa
Old 25th March 2010, 18:24   #22
nisam76

Bosch Service, Jaya Nagar 9th Block(behind Central mall).
9243166603/9243166604

Old 25th March 2010, 19:06   #23
nisam76

I heard from the various threads that the Baleno engine is pretty sturdy and reliable. What about the life of the engine? i couldn't find any reviews around 1 lakh or more. My car enthusiastic friend claims Japanese engines got lesser life !...

Old 25th March 2010, 20:13   #24

I heard from the various threads that the Baleno engine is pretty sturdy and reliable. What about the life of the engine? i couldn't find any reviews around 1 lakh or more. My car enthusiastic friend claims Japanese engines got lesser life !...
Thats so untrue.

In US most of Indians purchase Japanese car beacuse reliability of engine.
I've saw a friends toyota at 170K Miles and My honda was around 95K mile and engine was pretty nice.
Old 25th March 2010, 20:24   #25

Its pretty much what i paid for my 40k service
Old 28th March 2010, 12:01   #26
nisam76

Not happy with the bosch service. Took the car for wheel alignment yesterday, noticed that the wheel rims are not cleaned. Looks like they haven't even removed the wheels !! called up Bosch service and went there. Looks like there is an issue with supervisor i worked with, they suspended him yesterday. I just want to verify whether the throttle body cleaning done or not, looks like that also not done. Break cleaning means just take out the pads and rub on the ground ???? that is what the mechanic told me, i could find lot dust on the other parts of the pad, charged 380 for the break cleaning. The workshop manager asked me to bring the car sometime and he will do the throttle body cleaning, now i don't have the confidence to take the car there. How to verify whether the gear oil changed or not? bit suspicious about the wrk work done there ...

Old 28th March 2010, 12:20   #27
nisam76

My baleno done 41000 km's now and running on the stock tyres(165,80 R13 bridgestone). It's almost four years and the tyre looks like may run another 20K. I feel the ride quality reduced with harder tyres. I am planning to change to Alloy Wheels, probably 14" Aura with 185/65 Michelin tyres. Shall i use Swift 14" rims instead of Alloys? other than look any other advantage with Alloy wheels?

Old 28th March 2010, 20:54   #28

My baleno done 41000 km's now and running on the stock tyres(165,80 R13 bridgestone). It's almost four years and the tyre looks like may run another 20K. I feel the ride quality reduced with harder tyres. I am planning to change to Alloy Wheels, probably 14" Aura with 185/65 Michelin tyres. Shall i use Swift 14" rims instead of Alloys? other than look any other advantage with Alloy wheels?
Swift rims would do for 185/65-14, I have these on my car..

If you go wider like 195/205, then u need to go for alloy.

Alloys obviously improves the looks of the car, lighter when compared to steel rims, not prone to rust..

They cannot be repaired if they break or crack. Expensive!!
Old 28th March 2010, 22:28   #29

perfect upsize for baleno is
185/70R13
195/60R14
195/55R15
Old 28th March 2010, 22:32   #30

I've 3 friends who have clocked over 1 lac km in their Balenos. 1.3 lacs on the Altura 2000 model, 1.4lacs in the 2003 model and 1lac in the LXi 2005 model. No problems so far, and the two of the three cars are still running good. the LXi was replaced by SX4 at 85k km.

Switching over to 185 tyres alone would feel the car is planted/glued to the ground. the 165 stock tyres after 40k, don't have confidence inspiring grip at 90-100kmph plus speeds (atleast that was the case with me). Switching over to even Apollo Acelere 185 tyres was a HUGE improvement and the car feels much more stable now.