Old 19th February 2008, 18:23   #16

Originally Posted by gemithomas View Post
How can you reduce the oil level if it is above the max mark. I mean is there any way to drain out a little of the oil??
how did you drain the oil in first place, if it was the mechanic then go to him.
man just go under the sump and open the outlet drain bolt, remove how much u want and bolt on again.
Old 19th February 2008, 20:44   #17

Just loosen the Drain Nut on the Lower end of sump, Remove around 100-200 ml, by approximation-That should do !

Be sure to first Run the Engine-Check the Oil level on the dipstick after shutting it down.

Then let the engine cool down before draining the Oil.

After you finish, Restart the engine,warm it up- shut down and recheck level on dipstick.
Old 19th February 2008, 22:42   #18

Very simple. Just loosen the drain nut on the engine sump to drain the oil and refit it.

Originally Posted by gemithomas View Post
How can you reduce the oil level if it is above the max mark. I mean is there any way to drain out a little of the oil??
Old 23rd February 2008, 16:19   #19

hey,

just the right place to place the question - reading some of the earlier posts, i think i might now have a gusher for a car. i have been thinking of selling off my 2002 oct palio sport for a while, (it has over 1,06,000 kms on the meter) but dismal resale values means that i might just keep the little beauty!

anyways, to cut a long story short, i have @£*tloads of oil all over the ruddy engine bay and the car has now been consistently missing and hiccupping for the past 15 days...(on an average i'm putting in 1 litre of oil every 7 odd days). if i am to keep her, i think i need to relent and send the car for an engine overhaul - how much should it cost and what do i need to keep a lookout for?

much appreciate a quick answer, so that i can stick her in and ressurect her before she dies!
Old 25th February 2008, 00:26   #20

how much should it cost and what do i need to keep a lookout for?
I believe the engine parts come from Argentina.
Translation: SELL THE CAR!
Old 25th February 2008, 01:08   #21

Originally Posted by nitrous View Post
I believe the engine parts come from Argentina.
Translation: SELL THE CAR!

sell my 1st love.?? for a LAKH?? (if i'm lucky!!)

anyways, in the state she's in at the moment - i'd get majorly screwed on price. any other suggestions???

Moderator's Note: Please type in full and complete sentences with attention to proper punctuation.

Last edited by theMAG : 25th February 2008 at 23:52.
Old 11th March 2009, 11:23   #22

Oil level on dipstick

Not sure whether such a thread exists
if it does,mods please do the needful

Guys,what should be the correct oil level on the dipstick at cold start.
Should it be on the upper mark? or is anything between upper and lower mark is fine?
I recently checked oil level at cold start on my cousins 6K kms old Swift VXI(just before going for 2nd service),and oil level was between upper and lower mark.is this fine,or the car is consuming oil?.
As according to him when he got oil changed at first service it was near the upper mark and now the oil level is 2-3 mm lower than upper level on dipstick after 5K kms.
Is there anything to be worried about?

Note from Team-BHP Support : Thread MERGED. Please use the search feature before creating a new thread on a topic that might already exist. Please continue your discussion in an existing thread. This will keep all the relevant information in one place and make it easier for readers in the future.

Last edited by Jaggu : 11th March 2009 at 11:39. Reason: Use search!! Thanks
Old 11th March 2009, 11:27   #23

Ideally it should be at the upper mark. It can be a little below the upper mark but I would not recommend it being too much towards the lower mark.
Old 11th March 2009, 11:30   #24

Originally Posted by vikram_d View Post
Ideally it should be at the upper mark. It can be a little below the upper mark but I would not recommend it being too much towards the lower mark.
This is what got me thinking
but it was not towards the lower mark,just 2mm off the upper mark
but this is after 5K kms,and there are no signs of smoke,or any sorts of carbon deposits due to oil burning
Old 11th March 2009, 11:34   #25

If it is only 2mm below the upper mark then there is nothing to worry about. It might have been a filling error. You can continue to monitor it every morning for the next week just to be sure.
Old 15th March 2009, 13:19   #26

What should be the oil level on the dipstick of a vehicle at cold start?
various sources on internet and user manual say it should be halfway between upper and lower level?
so i think the swift is showing the correct level,isnt it?
Old 15th March 2009, 20:27   #27

Originally Posted by akshay4587 View Post
What should be the oil level on the dipstick of a vehicle at cold start?
various sources on internet and user manual say it should be halfway between upper and lower level?
so i think the swift is showing the correct level,isnt it?
The oil level is fine between the high and low level markings.

It should not be allowed to go below the low level and when topped up should not go beyond the upper mark.

This is the same for all cars.
Old 15th March 2009, 21:11   #28

Originally Posted by akshay4587 View Post
This is what got me thinking
but it was not towards the lower mark,just 2mm off the upper mark
but this is after 5K kms,and there are no signs of smoke,or any sorts of carbon deposits due to oil burning
Did u make sure u were on total level ground before checking ? Check it again in the morning at a different location parked before jumping to any conclusions about refilling oil or suspecting anything.
Old 15th March 2009, 21:14   #29

Originally Posted by humyum View Post
Did u make sure u were on total level ground before checking ? Check it again in the morning at a different location parked before jumping to any conclusions about refilling oil or suspecting anything.
have checked this twice and both times on level ground
Old 2nd August 2009, 09:50   #30

My oil level is about 7 mm above the upper mark. Car is a new Alto. First service was completed last week and vehicle driven for about 30 KM since then. Checked level only today. Can I leave it like that or is it better to take it to MASS to drain some oil? Gurus please clarify. If I have to take it for draining, any precautions to follow such as low revs, no A/C etc? Thanks in advance!