View Poll Results: Vote ONLY if you are an i20 owner. How do you find the air-conditioner effectiveness?
Excellent (Chilly) 21 26.25%
Average (Just about manages) 36 45.00%
Poor (Inadequate) 23 28.75%
Voters: 80. You may not vote on this poll

Old 21st April 2010, 20:44   #76

^ heck of way of doing things. Whatever happened to scientific results? Thing is, people will believe it too, because they will find steering too hot to touch
Old 21st April 2010, 21:57   #77

Originally Posted by darksoul View Post
Ok, had the same problem (ineffective A/C - Black Hyundai i20, 1.2 Asta ) and now have the solution.
Is this is the same filter which is below the passenger seat? There are 2 filters which slide out and can be cleaned...

The cleaning can be done by the user. Instructions are in the User Manual.

And I have tried cleaning my filter my self, It did not make much of a difference in my case. I even tried the blower for 5 mins in a stationary car with NO filter installed. Not much help.

Hyundai, I cannot believe you guys could be so dumb!! ... After over 10 years presence in the Indian market, you made such a rookie mistake!! Fix the i20 A/C !!
Old 21st April 2010, 23:24   #78

Hyundai has always offered very good AC systems before. Accent, Verna, Elantra and Sonata Embera all have very effective AC. I don't understand Why they messed up the AC this time. Maybe Hyundai did not upgrade the Euro spec AC for India.
Old 21st April 2010, 23:44   #79

Originally Posted by .anshuman View Post
Hyundai has always offered very good AC systems before. Accent, Verna, Elantra and Sonata Embera all have very effective AC. I don't understand Why they messed up the AC this time. Maybe Hyundai did not upgrade the Euro spec AC for India.
True, 5 years i owned my Accent CRDi, A/c was always perfect.

How can they make such an obvious mistake. It is simply unacceptable.
Old 22nd April 2010, 00:04   #80

^^ The AC in my Elantra is an absolute freezer, I keep it on 23.5 auto mode 12 months a year. The one in my previous Accent was very good too.
Old 22nd April 2010, 00:26   #81

Done a Trip to Ramanagaram Today, While returning back i opted the rear bench for the first time since i owned the car.

We were 4 in total, and the i20 A/C performance was pathetic. Tried all combinations and still my back was sweating like anything. I asked the opinion of the friends at front and they were saying " we are comfortable".

During the lunch break we have parked the car in shade and kept the a/c on Lo level ,in-circulation mode. When we entered the car after the lunch it was a pleasant feeling but that short lived when we continued our journey.

I also switched off the A/C for 1-2 min, and felt that i was sitting inside a Tandoori Pot.
Old 22nd April 2010, 00:29   #82

Darn.... this looks really bad. Poor circulation coupled with small compressor and this would obviously be the result. Can anything be done? Has any of you written to Hyundai regarding this?
Old 22nd April 2010, 00:51   #83

4) Asked about a permanent solution: Unfortunately I park on a very dusty road, with mud flying all over the place and small leaves as well. I always used the A/C in "outside" mode and apparently that's the cause.

Was told by the service manager to ALWAYS leave the A/C in "re-circulate" mode to prevent the filter from getting choked. Apparently even on re-circulate mode, the climate control mechanism will occasionally bring in a bit of air from outside as well, so no fears of CO2 buildup.
Being in India, this outside mode will always create problems. Moreover, people who use Automatic Climate Control usually don't notice that it activates external air mode and this dirties the Air-filter leading to ineffective cooling.

Till date, we never had a CO2 issue even though AC's are generally used at Inner Circulation mode. The logic may be fine but there has been no untowards incident because of this and moreover this will surely dirty the air-filter soon.

Originally Posted by agg.arpit View Post
Guys, i am also having problem with my i20 A/c that is because of the fan speed, which is very low and i20 has double filter fitted inside the air ventilator.
In six months of my I20, i have already cleaned that filter 3 times and after clearing it my A/c works great.

Guide me if i am wrong

this can also be because of the double filter which is fitted in the A/c
I have cleaned that A/c filter 3 times in the six months of my i20.
I believe you either use Automatic Climate Control or use the Outer Air Circulation Mode which dirties the air filter and blocks the air supply. If you use the blower at maximum level, you'll notice that blow is less and hear the sound of fast blowing air, this is because of a dirty Air-filter. Dual or Single no issue, but the problem is with Outer Circulation mode which by default gets activated when the AC in on Automatic mode.
Old 22nd April 2010, 01:20   #84

^^^ Thanks for your inputs.

For me A/C was never an issue before this summer as i used to increase the temperature for keeping a balance. I do have the FATC in my car but most of the time i uses in-circular air to avoid the foul smells from outside.

The issue for me / or i noticed when Bangalore summer started. First i thought may be there is no cool film, after installing the film burning effect on my arm due to the direct sunlight vanished, but things were not the same. (I have installed 3M film on sides and Back)

The chillness is not remains inside the cabin. The rear passengers having a horrible time while travelling when outside temperature is high. (Bangalore Max temp is 34-36 C)
Surely i ll do a check on the Climate Control Air Filter which is mentioned in the Owners Manual.
Old 22nd April 2010, 02:14   #85

Originally Posted by wildon View Post
^^^ Thanks for your inputs.

For me A/C was never an issue before this summer as i used to increase the temperature for keeping a balance. I do have the FATC in my car but most of the time i uses in-circular air to avoid the foul smells from outside.

The issue for me / or i noticed when Bangalore summer started. First i thought may be there is no cool film, after installing the film burning effect on my arm due to the direct sunlight vanished, but things were not the same. (I have installed 3M film on sides and Back)

The chillness is not remains inside the cabin. The rear passengers having a horrible time while travelling when outside temperature is high. (Bangalore Max temp is 34-36 C)
Surely i ll do a check on the Climate Control Air Filter which is mentioned in the Owners Manual.
You're most welcome Sir.

Delhi has touched 44 C and my brother has the sole complaint of the air not coming straight towards him unlike other cars wherein the design of the vent enables easy change to the flow direction.

The film only delays the heating process, does not eliminate it. eg. Like in a Non-Tinted car, it takes 5 minutes to increase the temperature by 'x' C; then in a car with tints having 50% Heat Rejection the time taken to increase the temperature by 'x' C should be doubled i.e. 10 minutes. This is what I think based on pure mathematics and has no technical backing to it.

I believe most of the issues of i20 crops up solely because of people not realising that when they use Automatic Climate Control, the Outer Air mode gets activated and the air-filters get jammed soon compared to other cars. In general cars, the air circulation mode is a switch to be moved manually and people don't interefere with it, I believe some won't even know what purpose it serves. This manual switch is most of the time on Inner Air mode hence, such cars don't face problems due to air filter jamming. On the other hand, when people with such cars move to i20's with Auto Climate Control, they utilise this feature without interfering with other controls which includes the Air-Circulation mode.

My friend recently got a pre-owned i20 and came to my brother with the AC Problem. On using the blower at the highest speed we noticed the weird sound and lack of blow. A call to my uncle, who was into the field of Air-conditioning formally for more than 2 decades (He did a course from ITI) revealed that the problem lies with the Air Filter of the AC and ditto, the problem was soon resolved. I met my friend's father 2 days back and he complained of the AC (he was comparing it to his Civic and the recently sold Swift 1.3). It was late evening when I met him and he told me to check the AC, it was working fine then. It's just that i20's vent design has issues because of which the Air-flow fails to reach the driver and desired passengers properly, this being a design issue can only be rectified at Hyundai's end.

By the way the reason I was able to get a 2 months old 700kms driven i20 was the AC issue with the previous owner. I got the car in August and was satisfied with the cooling that point of time and it's just that a certain minor issue has cropped up now. I'm thinking of installing Sunfilm in the front and comparing various brands, shall update soon.
Old 22nd April 2010, 03:05   #86

Originally Posted by tsk13 View Post
I believe most of the issues of i20 crops up solely because of people not realising that when they use Automatic Climate Control, the Outer Air mode gets activated and the air-filters get jammed soon compared to other cars.
1.Automatic climate control does not always use fresh air. It automatically switches to recirculation mode when quick cooling is required.

2. When the Pollen filter is choked the AC continues to cool, just the volume of air coming reduces. I Just got my Punto pollen filter cleaned this month and Elantra's last month. I have ACC in both my cars and i have experienced how it feels with a choked filter.

3.AbhiJ has already tried without a filter so choked filter is not the culprit here.

Last edited by .anshuman : 22nd April 2010 at 03:06.
Old 22nd April 2010, 09:47   #87

For the people with A/C issues even after the filters are cleaned: What have your dealers said about the problem you're facing? It would be great if you could get Hyundai to see what the problem is with your particular car.

Look, I understand it's frustrating when your AC is not performing well, but complaining about it here is not going to solve anything. I was in the same situation, and since nobody knew exactly what the solution was, went to the dealer to get my car checked. Worse, damning the entire line of thousands of i20 cars just based on your experience with your car is also not going to help. ( It's like saying all americans are stupid just because you met 1 american who's not very bright)

I know a couple more i20 owners in Bangalore, and everyone seems to be very happy with the A/C performance even in summer. (especially after being told about the filters and re-circulate mode)

All I'm saying is that a new trend has started here on Team-BHP where all i20 discussions are being peppered with "Oh the AC on the i20 sucks, don't buy it" based on a few examples here. IMO that's unfair not only to the brand, but also to Hyundai, who are extra careful to ensure their customers and cars are taken care of.

Lets try to be a little more rational - get the car checked, post the solution/resolution/experience here so others can benefit, and refrain from sweeping statements based only on a minuscule sample.
Old 22nd April 2010, 11:25   #88

All I'm saying is that a new trend has started here on Team-BHP where all i20 discussions are being peppered with "Oh the AC on the i20 sucks, don't buy it" based on a few examples here. IMO that's unfair not only to the brand, but also to Hyundai, who are extra careful to ensure their customers and cars are taken care of.
I observed this too in some threads. I don't know why these guys are acting like this. We are here in a forum to discuss pros and cons of the product which we owns and not to become a marketing persons of a particular brand.

Coming back to the topic, I have informed Hyundai about this first and they directed the dealer to look into this. I'm visiting the A.S.S on this weekend and will post the results of the same.
Old 22nd April 2010, 13:40   #89

It would be great if you could get Hyundai to see what the problem is with your particular car.
Thats the first thing I did. I had sent the car to the Service Station only to hear that the A/c is fine and the A/C on the i20 is like this only.

Also took it to a A/c specialist personally, (Daga Automobiles) The owner of the place very kindly personally checked the A/c and told me the A/c is working fine. All i20's have this sort of cooling.

I have written to Hyundai, and still await a reply.

I am trying new settings, in Auto mode and in Manual Mode, to try and figure out this problem.

And I have said time and again that the front seats in my car get totally chilled, only the rear passengers complain.

I have already proven that Grille Temperature on my i20 is ok at 3.8 Degree C, only the cabin temperature needs to drop faster...

But there is some flaw in the air conditioning design of this car, I am not technical enough to know whether it is :
1) Compressor Size
2) Blower Placement / Efficiency
3) Cabin Size
4) Glass Area

All I know is after paying 7 lakhs for a premium hatch, I deserve a better A/c.

Last edited by AbhiJ : 22nd April 2010 at 13:41.
Old 22nd April 2010, 14:33   #90

For the people with A/C issues even after the filters are cleaned: What have your dealers said about the problem you're facing? It would be great if you could get Hyundai to see what the problem is with your particular car.
Lets try to be a little more rational - get the car checked, post the solution/resolution/experience here so others can benefit, and refrain from sweeping statements based only on a minuscule sample.
The i20 owners in the thread who have reported their car AC to be weak here have already got it checked at Hyundai ASC. Its not that their AC is malfunctioning, the AC is not strong enough.

Look, I understand it's frustrating when your AC is not performing well, but complaining about it here is not going to solve anything. I was in the same situation, and since nobody knew exactly what the solution was, went to the dealer to get my car checked. Worse, damning the entire line of thousands of i20 cars just based on your experience with your car is also not going to help. ( It's like saying all americans are stupid just because you met 1 american who's not very bright)
We are discussing the issue here, i know posting here wont make the AC any strong but Should we stop discussing niggling issues about our cars on Team-Bhp?

I know a couple more i20 owners in Bangalore, and everyone seems to be very happy with the A/C performance even in summer. (especially after being told about the filters and re-circulate mode)

And a we have a lot of frustrated i20 owners who have posted their feedback here in this thread, they are not happy.

On whosoever recommends against i20 for AC issues is his personal opinion, we cannot stop discussing any issues in a particular car because its giving bad publicity. For Example: Punto was bashed and advised against for Poor plastics and mediocre performance. Fortuner was criticised for spongy weak brakes. Look both these Manufacturers have already started addressing issues.

Last edited by .anshuman : 22nd April 2010 at 14:35.