Old 27th April 2010, 23:15   #1

City GXi - AC Compressor clutch coil

Today, while driving my car (Honda City Gxi) on the expressway, suddenly the AC started blowing out hot air. I had been driving it for half an hour with AC on, and just when I pulled on the expressway and accelerated to a speed of 100-120 Kph, the AC started blowing out hot air. I stopped the Aircon, restarted it - still no change, pulled over at a petrol pump, got the coolant and water checked. Everything was fine, however the AC still did not cool. Drove rest of the afternoon with open windows.

In the evening, I took my car to a local mechanic and left it there. After, 3 hours, he came to drop my car and said that the AC compressor clutch coil had blown up and it would take Rs 5000 to replace it.

What causes the AC compressor clutch coil to blow up ? Also, have I been over-quoted ? Its a Honda City Gxi 2004 model - 45000 Kms.
dark_horizon is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 27th April 2010, 23:26   #2

If you live in or near bandra, there is a Air/Con mechanic Issrar on waterfield road opp the ICICI bank and a bit towards the linking road side. You coudl take a second opinion anyplace.
deutscheafrikar is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 28th April 2010, 00:20   #3

5k for the Compressor Coil? I got the coil for my Xing's compressor for 800 bucks last year.

The part which me and you are talking of may be different if the mechanic isn't fleecing you but do check with another mechanic. The problem you've mentioned is exactly what I had and to add to the problem, I couldn't roll down the windows due to newly installed window films. I had to resort to the hot air of the blower, no fresh air for me.

Last edited by tsk13 : 28th April 2010 at 00:21.
Old 28th April 2010, 14:35   #4

Originally Posted by deutscheafrikar View Post
If you live in or near bandra, there is a Air/Con mechanic Issrar on waterfield road opp the ICICI bank and a bit towards the linking road side. You coudl take a second opinion anyplace.
I live in Ghatkopar....will take another opinion over here, and also inquire in H.A.S.S. Thanx for the ref anyways.

Originally Posted by tsk13 View Post
5k for the Compressor Coil? I got the coil for my Xing's compressor for 800 bucks last year.

The part which me and you are talking of may be different if the mechanic isn't fleecing you but do check with another mechanic. The problem you've mentioned is exactly what I had and to add to the problem, I couldn't roll down the windows due to newly installed window films. I had to resort to the hot air of the blower, no fresh air for me.
The mechanic specifically said - AC compressor ka clutch coil jal gaya hai.

Cant imagine being in situation with AC blowing hot air, and windows not rolling down, during summers in Mumbai.
Old 10th May 2010, 11:23   #5

Got it repaired day before yesterday.

Replaced the clutch coil, checked leaks with nitrogen, filled up R134a gas and topped up the compressor oil. All for 3000 bucks from the same mechanic.
Old 10th May 2010, 16:21   #6

I faced the same problem with my 05 City (67K running). See the thread here - http://www.team-bhp.com/forum/techni...ng-hot-ac.html

H.A.S.S. quoted me 11K (I guess to change the entire unit). Btw, does anyone know what is the cause of AC compressor clutch problems?
2parag is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 10th May 2010, 21:17   #7

In my case, even during evenings/night, the AC would blow out hot air. You seem to be experiencing it only during afternoon's. However, since H.A.S.S. has already judged your problem to be "AC compressor clutch coil", I suggest you to repair the car at some Car AC expert. The part costs 1000-1200.
Old 5th August 2016, 10:17   #8

Re: City GXi - AC Compressor clutch coil

This is on a '10 City SMT.

A few weeks back, the a/c suddenly lost its cooling; the throw was much less, the air wasn't as cold and there was a hissing sound coming from the vents. And this didn't happen immediately after the a/c was turned on but after 15-20min.

The SA says some end bearing (from the engine belt to the a/c compressor) worth Rs. 1900 and the compressor clutch coil worth Rs. 15000 needs to be changed.

Suspiciously, he says there's some Honda Shield that can be availed for Rs. 12000 that is valid until 7years/1 lakh kms, which will cover both these. The caveat is, take the policy now, come after a month or so, there will be "formality-sake survey" and the work will be done FoC.

I don't want to trust him but knowing there is definitely something off with the a/c, I also feel some parts might need to be changed.

Any advice?

Also, does this have anything to do with the clutch assembly?

The car is six years old and has run 46k kms.

Last edited by libranof1987 : 5th August 2016 at 10:24.
Old 5th August 2016, 10:42   #9

Originally Posted by libranof1987 View Post

Any advice?

Also, does this have anything to do with the clutch assembly?

The car is six years old and has run 46k kms.
The whole thing sounds fishy, the SA seems to be trying to sell the plan or whatever for his commission. Because let's be honest, why would he try to fool the company to get your work done unless you know him personally or something.

Take your car to a reputed AC specialist in your city and let them have a look at it for you, for all you know, it might be something really small.
Old 5th August 2016, 10:48   #10

Originally Posted by noelnelly View Post
The whole thing sounds fishy, the SA seems to be trying to sell the plan or whatever for his commission. Because let's be honest, why would he try to fool the company to get your work done unless you know him personally or something.
Absolutely. Turns out, he changed the end bearing part despite our specific instruction not to. It costs 1900 and despite strong refusal to not pay for it, the SA doesn't budge.

Although it is clear the 15k for clutch compressor coil is a clear rip-off, we took up the Honda Shield anyway. Here's why: the car had water in the cabin during the recent Gurgaon floods and since then, the airbag alert is flashing in the dashboard. That costs ~25k and the SA said, Honda Shield will cover it. Unofficially. So, all things considered, it made sense.
Old 5th August 2016, 10:54   #11

Originally Posted by libranof1987 View Post
Absolutely. Turns out, he changed the end bearing part despite our specific instruction not to. It costs 1900 and despite strong refusal to not pay for it, the SA doesn't budge.

Although it is clear the 15k for clutch compressor coil is a clear rip-off, we took up the Honda Shield anyway. Here's why: the car had water in the cabin during the recent Gurgaon floods and since then, the airbag alert is flashing in the dashboard. That costs ~25k and the SA said, Honda Shield will cover it. Unofficially. So, all things considered, it made sense.
As long as you get your money's worth at the ASS, it's all good.

And since water entered the cabin, probably remove the carpet and get the whole car cleaned and dried to avoid any electrical problems.
noelnelly is offline   (1) Thanks