Old 16th February 2011, 15:39   #1

Skoda Octavia RS 1.8 TPi Gearbox gone kaput @ 60,000 Kms!!

I am going crazy here! Now they tell me my gearbox is gone and I need a new one! at 60,000KMS !! What the H***!!!

I was on my way back from mumbai when I started to hear some whinning noise in second and third while accelerating. NOt loud but it wasn't the normal whine at all. After which I was travelling (without the car) for a week so the car was not used at all after that. A week later I drive it to the store and while parking it in front of the store, I hear a clang kinda noise as though I hit somehting, so I try to back out, but the car dont move. I can shift gears, no problems, but I cant move it in any direction. Neither in reverse nor in 1st. Nothing. Engine reves everything seems fine but I leave the clutch and it just stands there and the engine dies as though there is somehting restricting the gears from moving or something!!

I called skoda they came and looked at it and ask me to get it towed to thier work shop, its both front wheels were jammed from within the gear box or something, so it had to lifted from the front and taken, now it is at the work shop, and they ahve opened out the Gearbox, and have called me and said "Saab aap ka GearBox Gaya hai!!" as though it is such a minor thing!!!

Its not even been 10K since I got a new clutch and Flywheel and now this!!

IS there any way or anyone who can help me out. I dont even know what to look for? I can unbderstand if one or 2 gears are done but my entire gear box is done?? HOw is that possible? The car did not go thru no ditch or anything??? Nothing has hit its underbody.
15.2.2011-THIS
04.1.2011- EGR Issue / fluttering sound
22.6.2011-Clutch / Flywheel

I really dont know what to do. I rather buy a different car at this rate. I am just getting fed up of dealing with Skoda.

Last edited by .anshuman : 16th February 2011 at 16:20. Reason: Extra smiley removed.
Old 16th February 2011, 15:49   #2

re: Skoda Octavia RS 1.8 TPi Gearbox gone kaput @ 60,000 KMS!!!????

Originally Posted by nanu28 View Post
I was on my way back from mumbai when I started to hear some whinning noise in second and third while accelerating. NOt loud but it wasn't the normal whine at all. I called skoda they came and looked at it and ask me to get it towed to thier work shop, its both front wheels were jammed so it had to lifted from the front and taken, now it is at the work shop, and they ahve opened out the Gearbox, and have called me and said "Saab aap ka GearBox Gaya hai!!" as though it is such a minor thing!!!
Well, I feel that you should have got it checked when noticed that it was not a normal whine from the car. Secondly, GBs are repairable. So all you need is a good Skoda ASC which can be recommended by TBHPians for example or a good garage outside if your car is out of warranty.
Old 16th February 2011, 16:37   #3

Re: Skoda Octavia RS 1.8 TPi Gearbox gone kaput @ 60,000 KMS!!!????

Well, I feel that you should have got it checked when noticed that it was not a normal whine from the car. Secondly, GBs are repairable. So all you need is a good Skoda ASC which can be recommended by TBHPians for example or a good garage outside if your car is out of warranty.
Well, Yes I agree, but the whine started when I was on the express way after that trip the car as been driven for a max of 5 kms. I hope my GB is repairable, I had a look at it and con't tell much. A new one is supposedly 3.5lacs!! I rather buy another car for that!!! He said he will open up the gear box and see what all is ok and what is not and will call me tomorrow. I hope I don't have to replace the car itself and it is manageable.
Old 16th February 2011, 17:22   #4

It might be the dual mass flywheel is shot. Have you replaced the clucth. If not, it is a Rs 45k job . The gearbox is quite tough so I am betting it is this
Old 16th February 2011, 17:40   #5

Knowing TATA and Skoda ethics there are three possibilities.

1)Clutch assembly and shafts from the gearbox were not centered properly.
2)They did not use recommended gear oil the last time you changed it.
3)They exchanged your normal gearbox box with partially shot gearbox for a friend of the mechanics.

The last one is far fetched but not an impossibility with either of their A.S.S.

Last edited by drpullockaran : 16th February 2011 at 18:25.
Old 16th February 2011, 18:14   #6

^^ I don't think the last one is far fetched - in fact it is pretty likely.

But My O My 3.5L for a gearbox change! Add a couple more and you are ready to buy another RS (used of course). I seriously hope that your GB is fine (or repairable). Ping your Kashmiri Gate guy for any needed parts - at least they will work out 50% cheaper.
Old 16th February 2011, 18:29   #7

Originally Posted by Cesc View Post
^^ I don't think the last one is far fetched - in fact it is pretty likely.
But My O My 3.5L for a gearbox change!
I never thought there would be any takers for the last possibilty but that unfortunately is how it is with Skoda and TATA.

If you ask the mechanic for a second hand gearbox he will probably give you back your original gearbox for 1/4 of the original price. Have a try. This was the modus operandi of a few unscrupulous service centers in Maharashtra. Seems far fetched if you are not familiar with Skoda and Tata ethics.

Last edited by drpullockaran : 16th February 2011 at 18:33.
Old 17th February 2011, 13:23   #8

@nanu28
Is your car still at the dealer? It is better to get it checked outside for a second opinion. I assume since it was 2005 when you got the car that it is not under warranty. I know of a reliable place, who also solved the various issues i had with my matiz. Its on east street.

Important ~ i dont own the repair shop, nor do i work there or anything. Its just reliable place i have come across and if it can help another bhpian i would definately share the contact.
Old 17th February 2011, 16:28   #9

Yes that car is still at the dealers. I am hating that fact.
He is to open out the gear box today and check of the internal damage, the casing does have a big hole in it though, that needs to be changed for sure, dont know how that did happen.

PLease PM your contact details so I can take it there for a second opinion or take him along to skoda as the car is there all opened out right now.
In the mean time I am looking out for a second hand Gearbox from some salvage vehicle if possible if I do source one I will still need it installed anywhere BUT skoda. So I will need him for sure.

This link tells more about it, my Gearbox looks like the one in the last pic damaged.
VW GEARBOX VOLKSWAGEN GEARBOXES VW GEARBOX PARTS AUDI SEAT SKODA GEARBOXES 02K DUU DUS DLP ERT

Cheers Skoda
Old 18th February 2011, 18:03   #10

Re: Skoda Octavia RS 1.8 TPi Gearbox gone kaput @ 60,000 Kms!!

Nanu, you need a good independent garage. Plain & simple. Check where Amey got his engine swapped (Link). I heard great things about this place and his car has truly the cleanest looking swap job I've seen.
Old 21st February 2011, 10:58   #11

HI GTO,
Ya I will get in touch with him too. Amey ie. I have his number.

So far Skoda has agreed to replace my gearbox with whatever gearbox I get them. I spent my time in Kurla on Saturday, and get me an VW Gearbox for this, yes a used one. I costed me nothing compared to what Skoda quoted me.

They let me take my old gearbox out on saturday and I took it with me to kurla to match it with the new box everything went smooth so far.
Skoda has also agreed to replace the gearbox with this one and only charge me for labour etc. Now I am not sure if I should get it done there itself or at a different place.

I got a slightly different Gearbox, it has slightly shorter gear ratios. LINK
The original one was EGY and the new one now is EGT.
From the document on the link I gather the ratios as follows:

Code Engine Code No. of Gears Model Application | Final Drive Ratio | Ratio 1st Ratio 2nd Ratio 3rd Ratio 4th Ratio 5th Ratio 6th Ratio

EGT 5 Beetle,Golf/Jetta IV, Bora '01 | 4.235 | 3.778 | 2.118 | 1.360 | 1.029 | 0.837
Gear and RoadSpeed MPH @6500RPM (for 195/50 R15)
1st=27.4
2nd=48.9
3rd=76.1
4th=100.6
5th=123.7

EGY 5 Bora | 3.684 | 3.300 | 1.944 | 1.308 | 1.029 | 0.837
Gear and RoadSpeed MPH @6500RPM (for 195/50 R15)
1st=36.1
2nd=61.2
3rd=91.0
4th=115.6
5th=142.2

I believe compared to the Original GB the new one EGT has shorter Gear rations, and as per the table I will be sacrificing my top end for better acceleration. Which I am ok with. IS there anything else I should be taking care about? Or anything that I am forgetting. If needed I can source an EGY as well, but i believe this should be ok. Experts please suggest or comment. Thanks a lot.

Last edited by nanu28 : 21st February 2011 at 11:04.
Old 21st February 2011, 12:37   #12

Has Skoda been unable to diagnose what exactly is wrong with the your original GB unit? I've seen some very rare automatic units being repaired wonderfully up here in Delhi. So fixing an MT would definitely have been possible. If its not too late then find a specialist to fix the existing unit. You can pay skoda for uninstalling and installing it in the car.

From the stats that Nanu has posted of the two GBs, how is it that 4th and 5th gear have different top speeds despite having identical ratios?

Last edited by Deeps : 21st February 2011 at 12:39.
Old 21st February 2011, 12:45   #13

Originally Posted by Deeps View Post
Has Skoda been unable to diagnose what exactly is wrong with the your original GB unit? I've seen some very rare automatic units being repaired wonderfully up here in Delhi. So fixing an MT would definitely have been possible. If its not too late then find a specialist to fix the existing unit. You can pay skoda for uninstalling and installing it in the car.
The original Gearbox has a similar issue as I have posted in one of my earlier threads. POsted the picture ie. The original has a 2inch wide hole in the casing and internally I dont know how many gears are damaged. The casing alone is more expensive from Skoda than this whole unopened gearbox.

This link tells more about it, my Gearbox looks like the one in the last pic damaged.
VW GEARBOX VOLKSWAGEN GEARBOXES VW GEARBOX PARTS AUDI SEAT SKODA GEARBOXES 02K DUU DUS DLP ERT

Next to impossible to repair that.

Originally Posted by Deeps View Post
From the stats that Nanu has posted of the two GBs, how is it that 4th and 5th gear have different top speeds despite having identical ratios?
I think it has to do with the Final Drive Ratio of :
EGT 4.235 vs EGY 3.684.

I am not an expert though so I would wait for them to comment.
Old 21st February 2011, 14:00   #14

Nanu - I don't have much knowledge on this, but I think it will be better if you source the original GB (EGY) and not use the EGT one. The reason I say this is because ECU mapping and power/ torque charts must be calculated on the stock gear and FD ratios of the original GB. Changing the ratios w/o any other changes will make car drivable but may not be as agile as earlier. And if you are maintaining an RS, I guess it's for performance. Just my 2 cents, as I said, I can be wrong.

It's a different scenario if you want the car to be in drivable situation and sell to a buyer with intimation of GB change.
Old 21st February 2011, 14:58   #15

Suggest you check with the technical manual--if you dont have one, ask the service centre to let you have a quick look in theirs. You need to check what the last ECU sensor is. I suspect that it will only be a Crank Speed Sensor-- unless your car has Traction control etc. If its only the Crank Sensor, then its perfectly alright to fit the new gearbox-- wont effect the ECU mapping.

Also seems like a common problem on these gearboxes-- so you could take the opportunity to do what the guys in UK are doing , which is strenthening the Differential attachment. I.e, put Stainless steel bolts and a SS locking plate; It's quite easy to do-- but if you can't get someone to make the plates and bolts-- ask the UK guys if they would supply these to you.