Team-BHP > Team-BHP Reviews > Test-Drives & Initial Ownership Reports
Register New Topics New Posts Top Thanked Team-BHP FAQ

Search this Thread
Old 30th May 2011, 15:11   #1
BHPian

Volkswagen Vento Automatic - Terra Beige**EDIT: CNG kit installed**

So begins the dilemma!!!
Current ride: Honda Civic
Usages: 90% city usages have a daily run from the suburbs to Town of about 40 K.M. (One side)

Dilemma: I have been driving a geared vehicle for over 10 years, my daily commute is about 40 K.M. onside all the way from the suburbs to the main part of town (Read lots of traffic). Over time have been feeling tired of the ever increasing traffic and the strain it was causing, so wanted to change to an automatic transmission for convenience.

Started looking out at the options available, the main criteria for my decision was AT, Fuel efficiency and wanted a smaller car than the current civic I drove (Budget was not a constrain as you can see from the various options under consideration). The limited choices I had was i10, i20 & Scorpio (Yes odd man out). Looked at the specs of both these cars / SUV and also read the loads of information including the long term review and the fuel efficiency reviews. Was not very convinced about the performance and the fuel efficiency of i10 & i20 as they sported a four speed AT gear box. The various test reports also left me thinking. Scorpio was another ballgame altogether did not consider it as thought would be cumbersome for the daily drive.

In came the other 2 options Vento AT and NHV Fluidic AT.
Called up the VW dealership for a test drive one lazy Sunday afternoon and was having the test drive in the evening.

Initial observation: quite a few other threads have mentioned the same so will try to keep it short

Likes: Very neat and well laid out interior, very good finish quality, good AT gear box liked the Tiptronic, Wifey also liked it.

Dislikes: ICE too basic, high center hump on the rear floor.