Team-BHP > Team-BHP Reviews > Test-Drives & Initial Ownership Reports
Register New Topics New Posts Top Thanked Team-BHP FAQ

Search this Thread
Old 3rd June 2011, 23:33   #1
BHPian

How to bring home a dream: Tata Safari LX BS4

It was a dark and stormy night.......

Actually it was dark but not quite stormy. I always wanted to write a short story with the above opening words, but never got around to doing it. This is my story, a short one, but the story of living my dream.

Introduction

I am a doctor, currently pursuing another dream, to become a surgeon. I live in a humble town called Vellore.
To cut a long story short, I love cars. I like zipping around, trying to see what each car can do. But I never owned one. My means of transport is a Bajaj Pulsar 180cc classic bought in the year 2003, run about 45000 kms till today without a major problem. But then, the bike itself is a different story left for later.

So what changed?

There comes a moment in a man's life when one is at a crossroad, and must choose the right path. Ok, that line was copied from the Scent of a woman speech by Al Pacino. The above mentioned crossroads was about 4 months back. The moment when every man has to make life threatening, soul searching changes. In short I got married.

Now what?

I felt the need for a car, simply put. And there was only one dream. Everything else, didnt matter. The TATA Safari. But then, how does one convince the wife to splurge, that too when one half of the couple(me) is bringing home a pittance?

The plot thickens

During the course of my short stay on this planet and in this life, I got two pieces of advice which has proved to be invaluable.
The first was given to me but my head of the department, one sunday morning when we were having a department breakfast. He said, if you have any bad habits before marriage, and wish to continue with it, introduce your wife to it.
I introduced my wife to my tata safari fascination.