![]() |
Originally Posted by Jakku
(Post 2405671)
@ Poitive:- I had read in some threads here about someone changing the music system head unit of their Cruze with some "CASA" unit (sorry if I have mistaken the name) which is a Chineese make and completely integrated with the steering mounted controls and all MID settings. This even had a GPS receiver and a DVD player (compared with CD player of OE). I remember reading that these guys have a head unit compatible with most of the car models. I think this model have even bluetooth connectivity in it (not sure though). Do we have a similar option here in Optra as well? This having no such integration requirement, should be a straight forward job. |
Originally Posted by ghodlur
(Post 2405794)
Does Chevy still have the 3 year zero maintenance scheme? Did you opt for it if it did had? |
Originally Posted by ByDesign
(Post 2397093)
What are these paint-like strokes around the sides? |
Originally Posted by bluevolt
(Post 2397099)
Congratulations on your new Chevy Optra. Please do add some interior and engine bay pictures. Happy Driving. |
Originally Posted by abhibh
(Post 2397103)
Congrats man on owning the best cars under 10 Lac. Only if their A.S.S was good this car would be selling like hot cakes. Wait till you complete 5-7K km on this car. This thing has literally no turbo lag. My friends are always shocked to see reviews that there is a TURBO lag till 2k RPM. The car picks very well starting from 1200 RPM and becomes a beat right after 1800 RPM. |
Originally Posted by Dry Ice
(Post 2397108)
Congratulations ByDesign, nice color! What did the on-price come to finally? Did you push the SA to get the discounts or was it already on offer? |
Originally Posted by MAS
(Post 2397121)
Congrats on your new drive. Excellent write-up and a frank comparison against the Fluidic Verna. The more I read about the Magnum, the more I'm liking the car. Upgrade the headlights as IMHO, the Magnum's Headlights are absolutely inadequate, especially for highway driving at night. Wish you many many miles of happy driving. |
Originally Posted by Poitive
(Post 2405599)
Congrats mate! Good choice, I'd say. Nice writeup, especially the "The Drive" part :) If you have driven the Old Magnum (read pre BS IV), would be good if you wrote a brief writeup comparing that to the new (post BS IV) one - Here or at the Choosing a Diesel Sedan thread where you discussed the selection before ( http://www.team-bhp.com/forum/sedans...-upto-12l.html ) Thanks mate. And ahh, I nearly forgot - Did you check on the power and torque stats? There was talk about them changing from 120bph to 125 bhp (albeit at a higher 3800 RPM) and from 314NM to 305 (now at a lower 2000 RMP) after the BS IV changes. I think the manual still shows the 120/314 figures. You may want to check with the company with your VIN/Chassis no. on this (doubt the dealer would really know). |
(Post 2405671)
Congratulations for your new buy. Did you find the leather quality of the new Optras lagging behind the previous versions (pre-BS IV versions)? This was one of the other point (apart from power/ torque) which was changed as mentioned by some of our fellow T-BHPians. |
Originally Posted by thenomad
(Post 2405711)
Congratulations on your new car and wishing you a lot of miles. It's indeed a car that checks all the boxes on this side of 10 lakhs. The engine is indeed a 2.0L engine but they are different. The Captiva and Cruze come with the VCDI engine from VM Motori and the Optra comes with a TCDI engine. |
Originally Posted by C300
(Post 2405740)
Congratulations on your new car. Optra looks great in that colour. IMO Optra is a true VFM and offers best bang for your buck. I agree that the dash and stereo look a bit cheap but the overall package is great. What was your final OTR price? Awaiting more snaps from your pro DSLR. |
Originally Posted by ghodlur
(Post 2405794)
@Bydesign, Congratulations on the buy:thumbs up. You do have a scorcher on hand. Chevy never loked so delicious, thanks for the pics. Great writeup, you have detailed in almost everything, nothing I say is left. What was the OTR cost and what discounts did you get. The alloy too looks yummy. Nuclear reactor under the hood, I liked itclap:. How's the seat quality. Man I am getiing envious. Wish you happy mile cruching and drive safely. Does Chevy still have the 3 year zero maintenance scheme? Did you opt for it if it did had? |
Originally Posted by CRtorquefan
(Post 2405930)
Congratulations alot bydesign for buying a New Speed-Torque monster.It looks pretty good in grey too. How much Fuel efficiency she's delivering now ? This is just an Anti-rust compound coating done at its metal joint surfaces which are held together by welding. These are very much effective in preventing rust at that surfaces. |
(Post 2406595)
|
(Post 2397077)
Getting back to the story, the only other diesel sedan they had was the long elegant optra magnum. They didn't have a car in the showroom, but the showroom owner had one, and that was parked outside. The car looks splendid from the outside, like a torpedo. Very elegant body line, and the rear lights are really chiseled and sporty looking. For some reason the word Pininfarina popped up in my head. Maybe somewhere I'd heard that the Optra was his design? Someone enlighten me on this please. |
(Post 2405599)
Congrats mate! Good choice, I'd say. Nice writeup, especially the "The Drive" part :) If you have driven the Old Magnum (read pre BS IV), would be good if you wrote a brief writeup comparing that to the new (post BS IV) one - Here or at the Choosing a Diesel Sedan thread where you discussed the selection before ( http://www.team-bhp.com/forum/sedans...-upto-12l.html ) Thanks mate. And ahh, I nearly forgot - Did you check on the power and torque stats? There was talk about them changing from 120bph to 125 bhp (albeit at a higher 3800 RPM) and from 314NM to 305 (now at a lower 2000 RMP) after the BS IV changes. I think the manual still shows the 120/314 figures. You may want to check with the company with your VIN/Chassis no. on this (doubt the dealer would really know). |
(Post 2406595)
Thank you! And no, I haven't driven the older version of the Optra I'm afraid. Sorry about that. I don't know about the power and torque stats. I'll have to take some time out to follow up on that query of yours. Will keep the thread updated. |
(Post 2406810)
Wikipedia page on Daewoo Lancetti, which really what the Optra Magnum was derived from. - Daewoo Lacetti - Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia You also see it the following link under 2002- Pininfarina - Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia |
(Post 2406595)
|
(Post 2405919)
Would be surprised if the MID worked for the Optra, as I don't think it has one ;) All this may be a lot simpler in the Optra, as it seems to have a normal Double-DIN slot and should be able to take any standard Double-DIN unit (experts, please comment). And mate, I would not suggest you put in some vague Chinese 'brand' ICE. It is unlikely that any such unit will give you good balanced sound. Clarion (which the Optra comes with) is meant to be a descent company to start with, though it's 'features' are limited to the Aux-in (besides the 6CD player in the LT). |
Originally Posted by bansal98
(Post 2407152)
As per this Wikipedia article, Optra Magnum diesel was launched in 2007 in India. That doesn't make the car old enough to talk about its replacement, at least not the way these rumors have been going around since 2009 itself. |
(Post 2407351)
Hey Poitive. I looked into that unit on web, it is known as CASKA - here is the link for the their website. One of our fellow T-BHPian have mentioned this integrates very well into the existing system of Cruze and he have installed it in his car. I browsed through the site, but they do not have a product that gets "integrated" with Optra (probably there is nothing to integrate other than CD Changer !!!). From the site, it does'nt seem to be a Chineese product, but has real quality. |
(Post 2406699)
Thanks for this post, this is really inspiring for the prospective buyers like me. I think Team-BHPians are doing more advt. for this beast more than GM does !!!. On the fogging front. Don't you have a selector switch to direct the airflow to the windshield or were you relying on the ACC to do the work? |
(Post 2406810)
(assumption: all TD Optras in Delhi are pre-BS4) So you DID buy it without a TD! It takes most people a TD to even consider this beast seriously enough. :uncontrol Would look forward to your the power and torque figures. Guess you'd need to write to GM ( gmi.cac@gm.com ) |
Originally Posted by Torquedo
(Post 2406893)
Many a Congratulations ByDesign on a fantastic buy and at mouth watering Price !!. Wishing you many a happy miles with her. A couple of questions though - 1) How long do you intend to keep her in the running in period? 2) Did you confirm on the month of manufacture from the VIN? Enjoy the Beast Mate !! |
Originally Posted by NoRules
(Post 2407231)
Many congrats, By Design. You have a beast on your hands. Handle her safely. I agree with you that the HU is hideous looking. If and when I buy this car I will most certainly replace the ICE immediately. Can you please give a break up of the prices? |
Originally Posted by WhiteKnight
(Post 2407329)
Congrats on the purchase. That is one car I almost bought, but didn't have the guts to put so much money. One quick question. How do you find the rear seat height. I find then a shade too low for comfort. Then it is a wrong question to ask a Accent owner:) If the fog is outside, it means the interior is cooler. No point in directing the airflow then. Just use the wiper instead |
Originally Posted by charthom
(Post 2407461)
ByDesign, Excellent review of a fantastic car. I had a tinge of regret for not having test driven the Cruze,during my recent car hunt- my reason was dark interiors.Now I am feeling relieved.The rear seat comfort was my no.1 priority. I had considered Optra magnum-but had the impression that the engine is a bit outdated.Also I had read that the gears are a bit vague.But from your post it appears that the engine is very good and the gear shift is a joy!! Your experiences at Hyundai and Toyota made very amused reading.During the pursuit of my ideal car,my experience was ditto.Even I had almost wed the ANHV as my next.The rear seat really needs re-designing. Waiting for your promised treat of HD photos. Cheers,charthom. |
Originally Posted by ashish22
(Post 2407545)
Congrats ByDesign, hope the beast serves you well! As far as the horrendous looking OEM music system is concerned you can always replace it with a 2-DIN music player or a touchscreen player. Somehow the leather in your pics seems to be of a better quality then what i have in my cruze. Always have liked the plush feel of the optra! |
Originally Posted by ByDesign Thanks Torq! What's running in period? You mean below 60? If yes, then probably till the first service. Let's say approximately a thousand kilos. I didn't confirm the month of manufacture either. And here I was thinking I did a thorough PDI. |