Old 22nd March 2012, 16:06   #1

The diesel Caaaaar - My Nissan Sunny XL

It all started 6 months back when I had no option but buy a more comfortable 4 wheels.
Actually I was researching to buy a bigger car for years now, but nothing was to my liking.
Did a lot of test drives, spent days on Tbhp, spoke to a lot of people, kept waiting for one launch after the other, but it seemed like it was a task which will never be complete.

I had a lot of expectations and no car in the market could fulfill my needs.
I always came disappointed after the test drive.

Cars I considered for the buy -

VW Vento diesel
Hyndai Verna Fluidic diesel
Chev Optra diesel
Skoda Rapid diesel
Toyota Etios diesel
Maruti SX4 diesel
Honda city

Every car had most of the things to my liking but all of it fell flat on 1 or 2 of my basic needs

Vento diesel
Liked - Looks elegant and professional
Brand VW
Good engine

Disliked
- From the front there was no way to differentiate from a polo
Poor service network
No space inside the car
Not a comfortable ride
Expensive
No idea of the maintenance cost
Long waiting period

Hynudai Verna fluidic
Liked - Amazing looks ( i don't think anyone will disagree)
Fully loaded with features
Hyundai (own a 11yr old Santro with no problems)
Comfortable ride
Easy drive inside city

Disliked
- Long waiting period
Poor back seat comfort
Claustrophobic feeling at the back
Poor handling on highways
Expensive for what it offers

Chevy Optra Diesel
Liked - Simple big car look
The space inside
Ddriving comfort

Disliked - Dated model (makes you look older too)
Poor mileage
Possibility of been faced out very soon
Expensive maintenance

Skoda rapid (Did not TD)
Liked - The look (signature skoda front profile)

Disliked - Nothing new to offer than the Vento
Guessed the space will be equally bad

Toyota Etios
Liked - All the hype
All the news on the perfect car for average Indian
Toyota brand (Durability of the car)

Disliked
- Average to bad looking
Unbelievable waiting period

Maruti SX4
Liked - The definitely male look
Massive size and good space
Upright seating and drive

Disliked
- Dated model

Honda city
Liked - The looks
The comfort and designing
Honda brand

Disliked
- No diesel option

Underlined the main reason.
There are many more likes and dislikes in each car I TD, but these were the deciding factors. Even tried Mahindra scorpio, disappointing.

So I was convinced that there is no perfect car in the market for the money I was ready to spend and I will never get to the point of buying any car.
It frustrated me that no car in India was value for money compared to most of the places I know.
I started getting realistic and was ready to compromise on certain things which I could live with.

Basic needs ( realistic)
Cost less than 10 lakhs
Spacious
Comfortable back seat
Brand new looks

Nissan SUNNY was launched. It looked a little bulky. The ads on TV didn't ring any bell. Did not see many on the road.
On fine day, heard that the diesel sunny is launched.
Suddenly my curiosity over this car increased.
Started looking up the internet, but not much information.
As I was busy asked my parents to do a TD (just take a back seat ride)
They called me to inform that it is the car. Even my dad who always said there is no car as comfortable as an Amby was sold for it.
I had all the information on its looks, interiors, quality (petrol version TD) thanks to Tbhp
All I wanted to do was to drive the diesel engine to see how it performed.

First time I saw it up close and it immediately put a big smile on my face. Got into the car and wow what a space and comfort. Without wasting any time I held the steering and started driving. The car moved effortlessly and I drove effortlessly, It was unbelievable how the car handled in medium traffic. The engine, clutch and transmission was butter smooth. And as I floored the accelerator I could feel the engine zoom the car forward.

NISSAN SUNNY
Liked - Massive size
Brand new model on the road
Subtle yet desirable look
Amazing space - front and back
Engine power and tuning
Easy drive inside city traffic
Cost around 9 Lakhs
Least waiting period

Disliked- The oddly designed dashboard
The audio system remote on the steering is a protruding
disturbance
Little skeptical about service network , but I was not
that worried

It was just a 10 minute test drive and I saw myself writing a cheque for INR 100000/-
I was guaranteed 3 weeks delivery.

Mean while I started processing the loan for the car. It was hardly an half a days job to get my loan sanctioned from SBI (Free of cost).

Thanks to the holiday season - Christmas and New years I had no clue how time flew and suddenly one fine day on the second week of January I get a call from the sales guy saying my car has arrived.

I was totally not prepared for it. I really thought that the guy was pulling a fast one to take the cheque out of me that day.

Then began all the problems from the dealer.

After all the negotiations the caaaar finally arrived home.

The diesel Caaaaar - My Nissan Sunny XL-picture2.jpg

The diesel Caaaaar - My Nissan Sunny XL-picture10.jpg

The diesel Caaaaar - My Nissan Sunny XL-picture8.jpg

Its been a busy couple of months at work and could not give enough attention to the caaar.

After finishing 1500 Km on the odo, my review of the car.

The diesel Caaaaar - My Nissan Sunny XL-dsc00092.jpg

The diesel Caaaaar - My Nissan Sunny XL-dsc00093.jpg

Its one of the most spacious car I have ever driven. In bronze grey it looks the best and adding a hot wheels will definitely make it a head turner (I will, may be sometime after 10000km).
I am 6 feet and with the driver seat in completely pushed back I have to extend my knee to reach the pedals.

The diesel Caaaaar - My Nissan Sunny XL-dsc00107.jpg

There is so much space inside there I just can't stop bragging about it.
The seating position is fairly between the santro/indica and the verna/city, so its basically comfortable.
Adjusting the height of the seat helps to set it to your comfort.

The diesel Caaaaar - My Nissan Sunny XL-dsc00117.jpg

The steering is the sore spot on the car.
The remote is designed to be round and its bulged out, so it keeps disturbing you while you drive.
The horn pad is only in the center and not like in the Micra where it extends to the sides also. Using it in Indian driving culture is difficult. After a 500km drive my palm and thumb are sore when every other parts of the body are pampered inside the sunny
The steering remote is indeed handy (my first car with a steering remote)

The diesel Caaaaar - My Nissan Sunny XL-dsc00111.jpg

The diesel Caaaaar - My Nissan Sunny XL-dsc00113.jpg

The A/C ranks very high.
Don't like the round control panel of the A/C on the dashboard.
It cools the car swiftly and never have I heard any complaints from the back seat passengers thanks to the
blower at the back
The automatic climate control is really nice to have (my first)

The diesel Caaaaar - My Nissan Sunny XL-dsc00121.jpg

The audio system
Inbuilt Cd player with speakers is good, clear, crisp and loud enough for basic music. The fit and finish gels
with the dashboard and I did not have to fiddle or waste time on ICE.
It badly lacked USB input, but I solved it by buying a USB to FM converter which plugs into the car charger,
works like a charm.
May be sometime down I might get a couple of screens for the back seat and a DVD player.

Accessories - 3m sun-films adds to the cooling effect of the A/C, carpet mats, IND number plates.
To buy - Reverse beeper, Art leather seat covers.

The diesel Caaaaar - My Nissan Sunny XL-dsc00108.jpg

The diesel Caaaaar - My Nissan Sunny XL-dsc00115.jpg

The door pockets are big enough to hold a water bottle on both the front door.

The diesel Caaaaar - My Nissan Sunny XL-dsc00119.jpg

Near the hand brake there is a convenient place to keep you mobile phone.

Lighting inside the car at night is bright enough.

The diesel Caaaaar - My Nissan Sunny XL-dsc00114.jpg

Rear view mirror provides good view through the rear window but reversing is only based on judgement.
The side mirrors gives you a wide angle of the rear sides and the motorized adjusting makes things so easy.

The diesel Caaaaar - My Nissan Sunny XL-dsc00116.jpg

The diesel Caaaaar - My Nissan Sunny XL-dsc00123.jpg

Hand rest in the middle makes it a comfortable seating for 2 at the back. Have not had the option to take more than 2 at the back to get inputs on the mid seat comfort.
You have to be really cautious of getting into the back seat, had an experience of hitting my head on the c pillar which abruptly slopes down at the back.
But once inside the slope did not really bother me nor did my head touch the roof.

The rack behind the seat is of limited use and better avoided as it blocks the limited rear view

The diesel Caaaaar - My Nissan Sunny XL-dsc00124.jpg

The boot is spacious enough to hold approximately 7 cabin bags

The diesel Caaaaar - My Nissan Sunny XL-dsc00126.jpg

The diesel Caaaaar - My Nissan Sunny XL-dsc00127.jpg

The diesel Caaaaar - My Nissan Sunny XL-dsc00128.jpg

The diesel Caaaaar - My Nissan Sunny XL-dsc00129.jpg

The drive and the engine

The diesel Caaaaar - My Nissan Sunny XL-dsc00135.jpg

Driving inside the city is so easy and strain free. The car moves through traffic as comfortable as a roller bladder. The pick up is sweet and you don't feel like you are in a big diesel car.
The engine noise has the characteristic diesel tone in it and increases on the highway.

The diesel Caaaaar - My Nissan Sunny XL-dsc00136.jpg

Findings on the drive to the hills with 4 in the car:

The road noise inside the cabin is higher.
Its slows down at steep curves and slowly picks up. Down shifting and keeping it in the power band was the way to go but then if I was already in 2 gear I was not comfortable downshifting to 1st gear so had to live with sudden drop in power even on acceleration at steep turns on the hills.
Brakes are manageable, not the best in its class.
Mostly it climbed the ghats effortlessly and after a 180km up hill drive to Kodaikanal I was as relaxed as sitting at home doing almost nothing.
Tires made a lot of noise and bad roads added to the problem.

I haven crossed the 1500 RPM mark till 1000km
and now hovering below 2500RPM after 1500km.
Yet to do high speed on highway to see how it handles and reliability on brakes

It sure touches 100+ Km/hr effortlessly but controlling with a quick response steering needs some learning with the car.

The car I should say is a dust magnet, you just can't dust it off, you need a wet cloth to wipe it off

Last week it was due for its top-up service which is the only free service offered by the company, but when I called my dealer he said you don't need to get it done.
My dealer is the worst of Nissan dealers I would need a whole thread to bash the dealership.

Anyways over all HAPPY that we got this car.
Signing off with the Nissan smile

The diesel Caaaaar - My Nissan Sunny XL-dsc00099.jpg

Last edited by Visaster : 27th March 2012 at 16:58. Reason: Complete selection process, buying, initial ownership review
Visaster is offline   (11) Thanks
Old 29th March 2012, 11:54   #2

re: The diesel Caaaaar - My Nissan Sunny XL

Thread moved from the Assembly Line to the Initial Ownership Section. Thanks for sharing!
Old 29th March 2012, 12:16   #3

Congratulations on the new car, but would advise you to edit the title :

your car is a XL not XV.

Btw, I have the same exact car as yours in the same colour. I swapped my tires to Michelin XM1+ and ride has become quieter and more comfortable

Last edited by AbhiJ : 29th March 2012 at 12:19.
AbhiJ is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 29th March 2012, 12:31   #4

Congrats on the Caaar (diesel one). Spotting the sunny more often on the roads.

Nice color by the way. Enjoy many more happy miles on the caaar.
nkrishnap is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 29th March 2012, 12:58   #5

Originally Posted by AbhiJ View Post
Congratulations on the new car, but would advise you to edit the title :

your car is a XL not XV.

Btw, I have the same exact car as yours in the same colour. I swapped my tires to Michelin XM1+ and ride has become quieter and more comfortable
Yeah you are right it is a XL model.
I had changed the title but I don't know how it did not come to effect.

I kindly request the Mods to do the needful and change it into XL.

Change of tires and alloy wheels is on the cards but may be after a 10000km.
The road noise is not that bad. I know the culprit is the hard tyre.
Old 29th March 2012, 12:58   #6

I was waiting when will Sunny ownership threads start pouring in. This is an excellent family sedan, something that is most needed in our Indian households.

Can you please post some pics of the interiors in the night? I wanted to see the backlights.

Are you planning to change your tires too? The tire noise is a lot and I felt the same during the TD.

What is the servicing intervals for the Sunny? Any idea about the approximate cost? I am surprised to read that they don't offer any free services unlike most other Japs.

The car looks best in this colour. I am a little confused between this and black. Have booked bronze grey only but still have the option to change the colour. I saw a black Sunny and it looked really gorgeous although maintaining a black colour car would prove difficult.
Old 29th March 2012, 13:32   #7

Congrats for your new car. Its indeed a good choice you have made. What is the FE you are getting as Nissan claims over 20 kmpl?
Old 29th March 2012, 16:48   #8

Can you please post some pics of the interiors in the night? I wanted to see the backlights.

What is the servicing intervals for the Sunny? Any idea about the approximate cost? I am surprised to read that they don't offer any free services unlike most other Japs.

The car looks best in this colour. I am a little confused between this and black. Have booked bronze grey only but still have the option to change the colour. I saw a black Sunny and it looked really gorgeous although maintaining a black colour car would prove difficult.
It looks good at night. Even the bad looking round A/C control starts looking better. The temperature indicator is completely lit up. The whole backlight is awesome in orange to red color. Will post the photo soon.

The first service is at 5000km. No service is free. The manual advises only a check up and top up at 1000km which is not a service, and some dealers like mine try to shoo you off by saying it is not required as its extra effort for them for nothing.

I was also in two minds about the color, but I ended up realizing bronze grey is better than black. As I told you its a dust magnet, lucky I did not go for a black.

Originally Posted by ManavJain View Post
Congrats for your new car. Its indeed a good choice you have made. What is the FE you are getting as Nissan claims over 20 kmpl?
Thanks. It does give me around 18 kmpl avg. Yet to do an actual FE test, I always thought I will do it after the first service, but to my disappointment the actual first service is long way from now.
For the space inside the car and living with all petrol cars in the past, I don't care now.
Old 29th March 2012, 17:15   #9

Congrats dude...
With all these features , the no USB or any kind of card reader sucks ....
Old 29th March 2012, 17:20   #10

What are the service intervals of the sunny D? Any idea about the servicing costs and spare parts costs?
Old 30th March 2012, 09:41   #11

@Visaster, congratulations on your car!

You'd mentioned something about having problems with your dealer? Could you elaborate more on that? Was it during the purchase, or later?
Old 30th March 2012, 10:59   #12

Congratulations!!!

The Sunny and the Altis are such common and easy and to maintain cars in markets like the UAE.

Hope Nissan and Toyota do a Maruti by making genuine spares available in the open market so that one is not wedded to Authorised Sevice Centers
Old 30th March 2012, 11:15   #13

First congrats on the car, have a sun filled sunny driving in the future

now couple of questions:

1. Did you not consider the Manza, it would have been cheaper with comparable space inside
2. What was the OTR
Old 30th March 2012, 18:04   #14

Re: The diesel Caaaaar - My Nissan Sunny XL

Congrats for your new Caaaaaar!!!

It looks fantastic in the colour.

Sunny is all about space and looks better in person than in pics.

Enjoy the long drives.

BTW, what was the OTR price?
Old 2nd April 2012, 12:22   #15

Re: The diesel Caaaaar - My Nissan Sunny XL

Originally Posted by Fillmore View Post
Congrats dude...
With all these features , the no USB or any kind of card reader sucks ....
When deciding on the car I was also disappointed, but I knew I could live with it and so many cheap options to work around it. It was not like it was missing airbags or something which can not be fitted later.
I bought a device called iplay, which plugs into the charger and USB/MMC input is converted into FM.

Originally Posted by ManavJain View Post
What are the service intervals of the sunny D? Any idea about the servicing costs and spare parts costs?
The first at 1000km/1 month - only top up (free)
Actual first service at 5000km (paid)

I was told it will cost around 2000-3000 INR and parts will be around any other sedan car spares range.

Originally Posted by MalluDude View Post
@Visaster, congratulations on your car!

You'd mentioned something about having problems with your dealer? Could you elaborate more on that? Was it during the purchase, or later?
That is a big story. Will pen it soon
The dealer gave me 7 different quotes before I got the car finally delivered .
He was a cheat and he is still trying to cheat me.
When I called in to get the check up top up done after 1000km he said it is not required.
I am yet to receive my extended warranty document, its been 2 months now.

Originally Posted by vigsom View Post
Congratulations!!!

The Sunny and the Altis are such common and easy and to maintain cars in markets like the UAE.

Hope Nissan and Toyota do a Maruti by making genuine spares available in the open market so that one is not wedded to Authorised Sevice Centers
Yeah I have traveled in Nissan cars/vans everywhere outside India and it was always a refined and comfortable ride so it did not bother me to think it is a new company in business rolling out yet to be tested cars in the market.

I would not want the spares in the open market. I always want a trained personnel handling my ride. My 10yr Santro still gets its treatment at the authorized service center

Originally Posted by motomaverick View Post
First congrats on the car, have a sun filled sunny driving in the future

now couple of questions:

1. Did you not consider the Manza, it would have been cheaper with comparable space inside
2. What was the OTR
No way I am going to ever buy a TATA / Mahindra. My parents Indica has given so much of problems in the past 6 yrs and been to the service center like thousands of times with no problem resolved permanently. So much for a pathetic ride and quality.

It was 9.26 Lakhs appx

Originally Posted by arnabchak View Post
Congrats for your new Caaaaaar!!!

It looks fantastic in the colour.

Sunny is all about space and looks better in person than in pics.

Enjoy the long drives.

BTW, what was the OTR price?
Thanks It sure does look good in Bronze gray and in flesh.
You bet I am enjoying all the drives with a grin