Originally Posted by ManuRowaine vamsi.. This thing has happened to me thrice and I have put in an enquiry with maruti directly. They have in turn directed the manager of the MASS in Trichy to look into it. Once I get my vehicle checked, I shall update details here. Hope something can be found and fixed. |
Originally Posted by reddy6980 Hi,
I have a Ertiga 2012 Nov, even i faced the same issue around 1 month back,
exactly the way you have put it.
It came back to normal once the engine was switched off, and as usual the MASS was clueless.
Vamsi |
Originally Posted by ManuRowaine I am a proud Ertiga Owner - Vehicle taken delivery on March'2013, in exchange for my Maruti Omni.
It has satisfied our family in everyway and has served well in all the trips we have made.
Our ertiga has clocked - 28500 kms on the odo, with some decent mileage figures. The Avg on the MID is always around 15.5 to 17 (even if driven the best way - trying to be economic).
Recently my dad faced an issue with the vehicle, like when moving on a highway sudenly the vehicle starts slowing down (one can see some deceleration too), and the vehicle comes to a speed of 20km/h from almost a 100km/h. during which one has to downshift and ensure the engine does not stall.
When tried accelerating again, the engine revs in the usual way to some 4000 rpm in the tacho (u can also hear the engine revving), but then the vehicle never goes past 20km/h.
Even after all gear changes and switching off the accessories and AC, it keeps doing the same. This is kind of dangerous when moving among fast traffic. The only way this thing will stop is, one has to stop the vehicle, switch off the engine pull the key out and then start again. This time it is normal.
This is the second time we are facing the same problem with the ertiga. It really is concerning and the MASS does not know why this happens. Both the times we have tried using the OBD to check any faulty sensors or any basic issue exists, but the OBD fails to pull up anything.
Some analysis - The engine revs, which means no problem in fuel delivery and combustion. If it is a clutch issue, the vehicle has to behave the same way always. but nothing like that happens. The console does not have any warning lights coming up either.
The vehicle has not been modified. one add on is the K&N stock replacement airfilter - maintained properly.
Tyres are at 32 and 33 psi on Nitrogen on the front and back respectively.
Tyres are stock MRF 185/65 R15.
I tried searching for the same issue reported by someone, but did not find any post. Is there any prior experience for anyone in this regard.
The same issue happened in my friend's manza recently. it has clocked 40300 kms in 2 years' time. |
Hi everybody,its although disconcerting to hear all those Diesel Ertiga woes,if you guys have had searched on this very thread itself,you would have seen my posts 1 year back having the same problem.
My luck was low,as my Ertiga ZDi was the 1st in Eastern India to face the problem and I suffered for more than two months
Ultimately, letters to the MSIL Chairman and Managing Director resulted in MSIL sending qualified Service Engineers from Gurgaon to Kolkata and even they took a week to identify and rectify it. Touch-wood,since then I have no issues whatsoever,apart from a fixed mileage of 15.7-15.8 on the MID. Previously it was showing upto 19.8-20.4 at times,but after the incident,the mileage kind of got stuck at those figures.
The problem I faced was at 2895 kms of the car's life. It is due to a faulty wastegate solenoid in the Turbocharger assembly.
It is as if you are cruising normally or driving at moderately high speed,when there is a sudden palpable loss of power and the car feels heavy and ponderous.You switch off and then switch on, sometimes it does rectify on its own ( as it happened on my colleagues Ertiga VDi recently ). But thanks to MASS,they could not identify the problem and rectify it in the 1st shot as they were unaware of a peculiar thing. When I had my problem,they ( i e MASS) promptly changed my Turbocharger assembly, as it was under warranty. But, now things took the turn for the worse, the problem started recurring every time I took the car out of MASS for a test drive after the turbo replacement.
Do kindly see the code that you are getting on the Engine diagnostics. It must be
P0243. If it is,then you know whats the problem and you can get it sorted in a jiffy as I had the same problem.
But these days,MASS knows this problem is occurring in so many Ertigas and they fully know the problem and gets it sorted quickly and giving a vague response to customer queries, all the time.
If there was kerosene mixed,there should have been problem right from day 1. Then there would have been white smoke emanating from your exhaust all the time with kerosene and the car would have stalled more frequently. Just to avoid bad publicity,MSIL is NOT recalling any Ertigas. They are promptly changing the turbochargers/solenoid on Ertigas which are coming back to the MASS, and does not clarify on the job done or the problem of car suddenly lacking power.
If the code is something else,then kindly check the huge Ertiga service manual books available at MASS.
As Manza drives on the same MJD Engine with the same VGT Turbo,no wonder it had the same problem of lacking power (lacking boost).
Did you guys see my posts on this problem here in this thread ?
Originally Posted by ultimatechamp The issue is with the car itself,as I said that it is at the MASS, after having the same problem again and again for more than a month .
To be exact, it is the famed Variable Geometry Turbo, which is the root cause of my woes. Will surely fill-in the details over the coming weekend. |
Originally Posted by ultimatechamp ....
Unfortunately, I am having serious trouble with my Ertiga ZDi and it has spent more time at the MASS workshop than with me.
My Ertiga has clocked only 3055 Kms since January 2013, and I have written countless emails to MSIL and two identical letters, one each to Chairman,Maruti Suzuki India Limited and Managing Director,MSIL regarding the recurrent problem my Ertiga is having. Till date I have NOT GOT ANY OFFICIAL RESPONSE/LETTER from MSIL. My car is with the workshop for last one month,and I am plain disgusted with Maruti and its pitiful After Sales Service, the very reason I bought my 3rd Maruti.
I don't know whether I will write here, in this thread , about my problematic Ertiga or start a new thread in the "Initial Ownership Reports " . Mods please guide me. Thanks |
Originally Posted by ultimatechamp Thanks for the response guys. I still love my Ertiga and miss it dearly.
The very reason why I bought it, was NOT served on two occasions that I went out of town on long journeys,and on both these occasions, I had to turn to my trusted Zen Estilo ( which incidentally is another car from MSIL stable ).
Please bear with me to prepare a detailed incident report and make a thread,and then put a link here. |
Thats the beauty of any forum and especially one of the world's best that is Team-BHP, so that we can learn through sharing .
Check out the pictures below. They are some not so sweet memories documenting my plight with a new car.
1) Engine Fault Codes on DTC
2) Replaced Turbocharger assembly 1st time
3) The turbo assembly sent under warranty
4) Engine malfunction light ' on '
PS - If you carefully note,every time the car lacks boost/feels heavy with lack of power,the MID shows a huge drop in Mileage figure !!!