Team-BHP > Team-BHP Reviews > Test-Drives & Initial Ownership Reports
Register New Topics New Posts Top Thanked Team-BHP FAQ

Search this Thread
Old 26th February 2013, 15:15   #1
BHPian

The long Journey to Storme (Safari Storme)

Hi All,

This is my first long posting in T-BHP. I am not a good writer. Still I thought I should write because the way the knowledge shared by all Team-BHP members helped me in my long journey to My Storme and I would like to share my bit of experience with the members.

I am not an automotive expert and have little knowledge in technical area. Still I am trying my best to explain things as a layman.

My background and my likings.

Why I am telling this? There is a reason. I like to travel a lot especially in rural part of India and explore the hidden and natural beauty and real feelings about India. Now you might be got the point why I was looking for a SUV. The reality is that most of the villages in India doesn't have a proper road or no road at all. In my school day, I used to walk 5 + 5 = 10KM to reach my college and my mother's time it is 15+15=30 KM to reach her school in Kerala.

So the requirements were
  • A vehicle which can reach all sort of terrain with comfort.
  • Minimum electronics so that chances of failures are less. I always look for things that work well and reliable. I don’t like visiting service stations frequently.
  • Spacious and comfortable
  • Commanding View from the vehicle
  • A functional vehicle in all manner
Shortlisted following Vehicles while searching for a good SUV

Grand Vitara
Fortuner (4X4)
XUV 500 (AWD)
Safari Storme (4X4)

Grand Vitara: It is a reliable vehicle and our own Samurai and Sudev had good experiences with Vitara.

The negative points are fuel type, part availability and strictly a 5 seated.