(
https://www.team-bhp.com/forum/)
Originally Posted by adi_petrolhead
(Post 4607594)
Since its the base model Ambition, a price in the range of 8-9 Lakh sound reasonable for the mileage. If its really well kept and has no history of major repairs, even 10 Lakh could be worth it. Best to check the orange book value. For maintenance estimates, again the best source is to check the car's service history at the dealership by providing the car number with the owner's permission. Sometimes dealers just give the info without seeking consent from the owner too, which I am against.
For regular maintenance estimates, check the Skoda Service Calculator on the website. |
@adi_petrolhead Thank you for the inputs. The prices of used cars are high in Bangalore. Asking price is to the tune of 12+ !
Originally Posted by nma83
(Post 4605239)
A few shots of the virtual cockpit in my L&K.
The standard view of speedo and tacho with other information between them. |
Congrats! :)
BTW, what about map? Are you able to see map and navigation info between Speedo and tacho?
Originally Posted by simplysaj
(Post 4607627)
@adi_petrolhead Thank you for the inputs. The prices of used cars are high in Bangalore. Asking price is to the tune of 12+ ! |
To think of it I did my calculation based off of ex-showroom price. But I'm aware KA taxes are pretty ridiculous. But still, should be well under 12 lakh. Is there a transfer tax that you need to pay to the RTO? In any case the best way forward is to first check the car out thoroughly and then take things forward with negotiations. An outright cash buy also gives the seller an instant incentive in the end!
Originally Posted by anandpadhye
(Post 4607636)
Congrats! :)
BTW, what about map? Are you able to see map and navigation info between Speedo and tacho? |
Thanks! Navigation appears there only if using the built-in navigation. Maps on phone (android auto/apple car play) will only show up in the main infotainment display.
(Post 4607724)
To think of it I did my calculation based off of ex-showroom price. But I'm aware KA taxes are pretty ridiculous. But still, should be well under 12 lakh. Is there a transfer tax that you need to pay to the RTO? In any case the best way forward is to first check the car out thoroughly and then take things forward with negotiations. An outright cash buy also gives the seller an instant incentive in the end! |
@adi_petrolhead - There's no transfer tax I think. History looks clean except for an ac compressor replacement under warranty. Asking final price is 13!
Is there mild vibrations felt in steering wheel at idle for 2.0 TDIs?
Also there's a 1.8 tsi 29K run but replaced mechatronics, timing kit, bonnet, bumper - due a hit. It runs fine now. Price quoted is tempting.
Originally Posted by FlyinDoc
(Post 4608301)
It's a rare and beautiful thing when something truly matches your expectations; that wonderful sense of satisfaction and deep joy that comes from owning and driving a well engineered car.
Picked up a very low mileage 2015 1.8 Elegance recently, and after a few minor mods, it's turned out to be exactly the car I always wanted and dreamed of. |
Congrats on the car! What mods exactly? I see the painted wheels, lower mirror cover and may I say, QUAD-EXHAUST?:Shockked: On an Octy? All four pipes work or just two on each side? Sound clips are mandatory with such posts lol:
Originally Posted by simplysaj
(Post 4608243)
@adi_petrolhead - There's no transfer tax I think. History looks clean except for an ac compressor replacement under warranty. Asking final price is 13! |
13 Lakh is steep! Try to negotiate, or look for other options and I'm sure there are plenty. TDI vibrations, hmm. There are many types of vibrations that could be felt in the car on the steering. But once the engine is warmed up, there are barely any vibrations felt. It should disappear or at least stay the same if not increase during driving. Only AC compressor change seems to be a minor issue but do check the cooling in peak noon time. If the car is out of warranty, its an expensive job to repeat.
Lastly, step away from that TSI right away! Its a trap.
(Post 4608301)
Picked up a very low mileage 2015 1.8 Elegance recently, and after a few minor mods, it's turned out to be exactly the car I always wanted and dreamed of. A big thanks to all Team BHPians for all the ownership threads, experiences, tips and tricks. |
Congrats on the purchase buddy, Awesome car indeed. I had a look at the this car in March 2019 and due to some bitter experience with the seller, eventually ended up buying my 2016 Style Plus 1.8 TSi.
Just a question, where did you source those exhausts from ?
Ok quick question -
Is there any specific procedure to pulling out the yellow-handled oil-check dipstick in the Octavia 1.8? Like, twist and pull or a latch, or something like that?
I tried just pulling it out (like it is for other cars I've owned), but it refuses to move. Even with more than moderate force, it just won't be pulled out, I'm not sure what am I doing wrong. But I stopped pulling for fear of breaking something.
There are no specific instructions for this in the owner's manual. Also, I tried doing this when the engine was cold.
Could one of the Octavians guide me please? Never had to ask such a noob question on TBHP stupid:
Thanks a ton!
R_S
(Post 4608471)
Congrats on the car! What mods exactly? I see the painted wheels, lower mirror cover and may I say, QUAD-EXHAUST?:Shockked: On an Octy? All four pipes work or just two on each side? Sound clips are mandatory with such posts lol: |
The exhaust pipes are purely cosmetic, I assure you. I want to install a Milltek exhaust system someday, but not right now.
Originally Posted by jjared
(Post 4608487)
Congrats on the purchase buddy, Awesome car indeed. I had a look at the this car in March 2019 and due to some bitter experience with the seller, eventually ended up buying my 2016 Style Plus 1.8 TSi.
Just a question, where did you source those exhausts from ? |
Are you sure it was the same car? The seller was a gentleman; a top executive of a bank and the car was bank owned and maintained. Just not willing to move on price.
Sourced the rear diffuser piece from superskoda.com. Here's the link:
http://www.superskoda.com/Skoda/OCTA...er-diffusor-RX
(Post 4608634)
Are you sure it was the same car? The seller was a gentleman; a top executive of a bank and the car was bank owned and maintained. Just not willing to move on price. |
Yeah.. same MH01CDXXXX car. Infact I told him my price and he never gave his reply for a week. Again I called him to know what was his reply and then he said he had got another higher offer. I asked him if he has confirmed the deal but he said he has got an advance ( I think it's from you) and ready to cancel the deal if I'm offering even 10k higher.
I felt it totally unprofessional and rejected it outright. It's not ethical to take an advance from a person and then cancel the deal for just 10k more.
@adi_petrolhead,
I have been going through your Octavia ownership thread. Really appreciate your efforts to keep it up to date and log the whole experience all these years clap:
I have been considering a used Octavia for quite some time as an upgrade. While I appreciate the car for it's capabilities, performance, looks etc. and I just love the car - what keeps me bit skeptical is the maintenance aspects of a used car. I can see a lot of water pump, thermostat, coolant leakage, A, rattling issues with cars which are still in warranty and not so old. Many are costly to rectify out of warranty.
I checked out a couple of Altis, they are good for what they offer and reliability but not a match for Octy in many terms. I would like to keep the car for at least 4 to 5 years.
What are your thoughts as someone who owned an octy for 1L + Kms.
Appreciate your inputs. Thanks
Thanks for the kind words about the thread. I try to update it regularly. Yes, all the issues I have listed are the most common ones and can appear on any TSI. How's the reliability on the facelift and "just" pre facelift 2015-16 models, I have to find out. If it's anything after 2016, they've probably managed to iron out most issues by then. Still a few like the LED DRL (xenon model) becoming yellow over time, ineffective cooling by the AC, suspension and sunroof/door seal rattles, these are still there on many new cars as well. As far as regular maintenance goes, this car will not cost you more than ₹0.70-0.80 per km to regularly service. Standard alloy size means Tyres are also inexpensive by today's standards unless you decide to go for upsize. Need to tick a lot of boxes before you zero down on a model of your choice and it's fitness.
Hello guys,
Just wanted to get your opinion on this - Is it worth buying the Octavia 1.8TSI spending 30 lakhs now or wait for the 2020 Octavia which will be launched in Q1 or Q2 2020. With the rest of the Skoda cars getting refreshing updates, it's possible that Skoda is looking replace the current Octavia in India which was launched in 2013.
Autocar India confirms the news
Originally Posted by akshay_b
(Post 4610592)
Hello guys,
Just wanted to get your opinion on this - Is it worth buying the Octavia 1.8TSI spending 30 lakhs now or wait for the 2020 Octavia which will be launched in Q1 or Q2 2020. With the rest of the Skoda cars getting refreshing updates, it's possible that Skoda is looking replace the current Octavia in India which was launched in 2013. Autocar India confirms the news |
It's at the end of its life cycle and its a CKD, buying it without a discount is not a good idea. That said, the move towards SUVs is near universal and if I were you, I'd consider only SUVs, Bangalore roads being what they are. Skoda India production is closely linked to new products, they can't manufacture the old model because the kits will run out.