Team-BHP > Team-BHP Reviews > Test-Drives & Initial Ownership Reports
Register New Topics New Posts Top Thanked Team-BHP FAQ

Search this Thread
Old 26th January 2014, 21:02   #1

My SilverDUST Experience: Renault Duster 85HP RXL Option pack with Navigation

Dear BHPians, this is my first time here on TEAM-BHP although I have been visiting this site prior to owning a car so I do apologize in advance for any errors in my report.
I would start of the ownership report with a small incident which prompted my dad to make the very important decision of purchasing a vehicle in India.

We are NRI’s and have been living in Riyadh, Saudi Arabia for the past 18 years (still maintaining that status with regular visits). And for all these years we have been visiting India annually in every summer vacation. Come 2010 and I finished my high school over there and following suit like most expatriates who live in the gulf was returning to India for my undergraduate studies. My college gift was a TVS wego for regular commute and occasional use for my dad who visits us 4 times a year. 3 years pass and one fine day we were planning on a family dinner like we always did. So its me and my younger brother on the bike and dad, mom and sis in an auto. We always used to commute like this since we got here and were always happy although I used to pester dad to buy a car so that we could travel in comfort.

So this one evening my dad was waiting for an auto to come buy and suddenly our neighbor who owns an XUV steps right in front and offers us a ride with their driver, my dad refused and we went along the usual way in the auto. At the dinner table in the restaurant my dad whispers to me “Beta ab shayad gadi khareed lena hi accha hai” (Son I think its high time we buy a car). Here starts the story of exploring vehicles for the first time in India.

Requirements: Hyderabad is a crowded city with narrow roads. I’ve always admired small hatchbacks and so did we want one.