Team-BHP > Team-BHP Reviews > Test-Drives & Initial Ownership Reports

Search this Thread
Old 27th February 2014, 16:53   #1
BHPian

My Renault Duster 85PS - 3 month / 4500 km Report

Please see below my initial ownership review of my Renault Duster 85PS Diesel RxL, after 3 months and 4500 kms.

Purchase Background :

I became a Duster owner by happenstance. You see, my wife and I had been wishing for an SUV for a few months now. We have a 2000 Santro LS and a 2006 Honda City VX. Both are great workhorses and are well maintained and behaving wonderfully, yet we were impressed with the SUV class and had wanted our next to be one. (We both have been avid drivers for 14 years now and enjoy our wheels). To add to the melee, my 9-year old son is a very very passionate motor enthusiast - he can reel out statistics and information about almost all models in the marketplace(cars and bikes) and can instantly recognize all Indian car brands and models on the road in the darkness AT NIGHT from a fair distance just by momentary sighting of the contours and headlamp shapes. So you can imagine his enthusiasm and animation upon hearing that we were looking out for a SUV. So now there were three of us pulling in three directions.

His favourite for months has been the Honda CRV, for the looks and the brand(we own the City and love it), followed by the Audi. However, for my wife and me, budget was important and we had been toying with the idea of a Scorpio for the mHawk engine. So we used to have these animated discussions about what car to buy and why, day in and day out.