Team-BHP > Team-BHP Reviews > Test-Drives & Initial Ownership Reports

Search this Thread
Old 9th March 2014, 16:10   #1
BHPian

My Blue Beauty – Honda Amaze SMT i-DTEC @ 7000 kms

My Blue Beauty – Honda Amaze SMT i-DTEC @ 7000 kms-0amaze.jpg

Background:
I have been driving cars for last 18 years – started with Maruti 800 in 1996 and as I have grown up, the driver inside me has only got more matured (than me ) During last 10 years, I have owned two cars – first being 2004 Santro Xing. Drove this cutie for 70,000 kms over 5.5 years and sold in 2009. Bought Indica Vista Aura QJD in 2009. Vista has been a real workhorse and I’ve taken it on tons of highway drives and abused it (and also pampered it) to the limits. For over 74,500 kms, I had absolutely no major problems with this guy.

The last pic of my faithful steed, before he was handed over to the new owner (I still keep tab on his health BTW).
My Blue Beauty – Honda Amaze SMT i-DTEC @ 7000 kms-20131005_111511.jpg

Just when I thought this will go on for 25,000 more and I would complete 1 lakh, all hell broke loose! Within a span of couple of days, clutch assembly along with the cylinder went dead, brake pad wend bad and had to be replaced and to add salt on the wound, I met with an accident on the busy HAL Road. Coincidentally, the ‘clutch going dead’ problem happened right in front of Whitefield Honda showroom (maybe it was an indication for a change). Pressure from family and also these incidents forced me into car-buying spree that saw me looking for a new ride. This was somewhere around Sep-2013.

My Requirements:
1. It should be a Diesel – I do about 1200-1500 a month and it doesn’t make any sense for me to go for Petrol.
2. It should not be a Maruti/Hyundai/Tata – simply because I have already owned these cars before
3. It should be ‘fun’ to drive – both in City (Bangalore that is) and on Highway